Official Pana UB9000 Owner's thread (No Price Talk) - Page 41 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 448Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1201 of 1265 Old 03-12-2020, 06:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
T-smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Official Pana UB9000 Owner's thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by a2k2000 View Post
Can you kindly help me with a question since you own both the players. When playing mkv files of 4K movies from a hard drive, does the Pioneer LX500 player output the Dolby Atmos/DTS X/ DTS HD Master Audio to the connected receiver/processor? The Panasonic UB9000 will not output uncompressed audio like DTD HD Master Audio or Dolby HD when playing a mkv file from a Hard Drive.


I don’t play movies from a hard drive on either player so I can’t answer your question but you might want want to try searching both threads as I believe it has been answered previously in both.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

-
Upgraditus is a real disease
T-smith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1202 of 1265 Old 03-13-2020, 11:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Question for you pioneer lx500 owners. How does this compare to the ub 9000 in terms of video and audio quality? I know the 500 is a universal player and solid physically like a tank but other than that what is its appeal? It doesn’t have the hdr optimizer. Does it play back discs any better than say a Sony x800m2? If you have $1K and could buy just one player which ones would you get for movie play back?
Avman66 is offline  
post #1203 of 1265 Old 03-14-2020, 07:50 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
tigerhonaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: TN. USA
Posts: 2,221
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 922 Post(s)
Liked: 1015
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Avman66 View Post
If you have $1K and could buy just one player which ones would you get for movie play back?
Avman66,










Terry
Spizz and pbz06 like this.
tigerhonaker is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1204 of 1265 Old 03-14-2020, 11:24 AM
Member
 
CalJake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avman66 View Post
Question for you pioneer lx500 owners. How does this compare to the ub 9000 in terms of video and audio quality? I know the 500 is a universal player and solid physically like a tank but other than that what is its appeal? It doesn’t have the hdr optimizer. Does it play back discs any better than say a Sony x800m2? If you have $1K and could buy just one player which ones would you get for movie play back?
I wanted to be able to play my sizable library of SACD media. If that wasn't the case, I probably would have purchased the UB9000. It was on my short list.
CalJake is online now  
post #1205 of 1265 Old 03-15-2020, 10:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerhonaker View Post
Avman66,










Terry
You look so happy and proud! Thats the feeling I love having too especially when buying something expensive.
tigerhonaker likes this.
Avman66 is offline  
post #1206 of 1265 Old 03-15-2020, 10:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 1
A couple of questions for you 9000 owners:

- can the 9000 allow the video signal to pass through it, without upscaling it, to the tv for upscaling?

- I have a sony x950g 65” tv. I am hooking up this player to this tv. I read that sony has a strange implementation of dolby vision and that not all dolby vision players work with this tv? I don't know the details. Will the 9000 work properly with this tv including dolby vision?

Thanks.
Avman66 is offline  
post #1207 of 1265 Old 03-16-2020, 01:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbz06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,087
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1424 Post(s)
Liked: 1190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avman66 View Post
A couple of questions for you 9000 owners:

- can the 9000 allow the video signal to pass through it, without upscaling it, to the tv for upscaling?

- I have a sony x950g 65” tv. I am hooking up this player to this tv. I read that sony has a strange implementation of dolby vision and that not all dolby vision players work with this tv? I don't know the details. Will the 9000 work properly with this tv including dolby vision?

Thanks.
The 9000 will work perfectly with Dolby Vision and Sony 950G. There's no strange implementation, just that Sony uses a profile that requires the player to process it. The 9000 does it perfectly, but Dolby Vision is Dolby Vision.
pbz06 is online now  
post #1208 of 1265 Old 03-16-2020, 09:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbz06 View Post
The 9000 will work perfectly with Dolby Vision and Sony 950G. There's no strange implementation, just that Sony uses a profile that requires the player to process it. The 9000 does it perfectly, but Dolby Vision is Dolby Vision.
Ok, thats good to know. How about my first question. Does the 9000 provide the flexibility to upscale the content or pass it on untouched with the tv doing the upscaling?
Avman66 is offline  
post #1209 of 1265 Old 03-17-2020, 07:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Clark Burk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Baltimore,MD.USA
Posts: 2,042
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 753 Post(s)
Liked: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avman66 View Post
Ok, thats good to know. How about my first question. Does the 9000 provide the flexibility to upscale the content or pass it on untouched with the tv doing the upscaling?
If you're asking if the 9000 has a source direct mode that answer would be no. If playing a blu-ray for example and you have a 4K TV with the 9000 set on auto it will upscale to 4K. The only way to enable the TV to do the upscaling is to set the output on the 9000 to 1080P. It will however still be processing the chroma.
If looking for a player with a true source direct the one that comes to mind is Oppo.
pbz06 likes this.

Clark
Clark Burk is offline  
post #1210 of 1265 Old 03-17-2020, 07:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,910
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1794 Post(s)
Liked: 913
Quote:
Originally Posted by a2k2000 View Post
Can you kindly help me with a question since you own both the players. When playing mkv files of 4K movies from a hard drive, does the Pioneer LX500 player output the Dolby Atmos/DTS X/ DTS HD Master Audio to the connected receiver/processor? The Panasonic UB9000 will not output uncompressed audio like DTD HD Master Audio or Dolby HD when playing a mkv file from a Hard Drive.

The UB9000 shares this trait with it's "older brother" UB900 (I have one of the first US models and it's still going strong): Panasonic doesn't seem to want us to play uncompressed audio via the USB port. I keep a USB HDD connected, where I store all types of audio/pictures/DVD files (no BD due to the audio issue).

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.26.05]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #1211 of 1265 Old 03-17-2020, 08:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
T-smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avman66 View Post
Ok, thats good to know. How about my first question. Does the 9000 provide the flexibility to upscale the content or pass it on untouched with the tv doing the upscaling?
Sadly the Panasonic does not have a source direct option

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Burk View Post
If you're asking if the 9000 has a source direct mode that answer would be no. If playing a blu-ray for example and you have a 4K TV with the 9000 set on auto it will upscale to 4K. The only way to enable the TV to do the upscaling is to set the output on the 9000 to 1080P. It will however still be processing the chroma.

If looking for a player with a true source direct the one that comes to mind is Oppo.

The Pioneer LX500 also has a source direct option


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pbz06 likes this.

-
Upgraditus is a real disease
T-smith is offline  
post #1212 of 1265 Old 03-17-2020, 10:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Burk View Post
If you're asking if the 9000 has a source direct mode that answer would be no. If playing a blu-ray for example and you have a 4K TV with the 9000 set on auto it will upscale to 4K. The only way to enable the TV to do the upscaling is to set the output on the 9000 to 1080P. It will however still be processing the chroma.
If looking for a player with a true source direct the one that comes to mind is Oppo.
Yes, that is exactly the feature I was talking about. Forgot the terminology. This is disappointing. My tv has a pretty good processor with the x1 Ultimate and I might want the tv to do the upscaling and processing. In fact I am doing this right now with my old sony blu ray player right now. What do you think about this? Should I be concerned? Isn't this a big negative?
Avman66 is offline  
post #1213 of 1265 Old 03-17-2020, 10:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbz06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,087
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1424 Post(s)
Liked: 1190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avman66 View Post
Yes, that is exactly the feature I was talking about. Forgot the terminology. This is disappointing. My tv has a pretty good processor with the x1 Ultimate and I might want the tv to do the upscaling and processing. In fact I am doing this right now with my old sony blu ray player right now. What do you think about this? Should I be concerned? Isn't this a big negative?
I'm willing to bet the panny's upscaling is just as good, and any difference would be of the pixel peeping variety.

I wouldn't worry about it, and I have a 77 A9G as well.
Stanton likes this.
pbz06 is online now  
post #1214 of 1265 Old 03-18-2020, 05:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Clark Burk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Baltimore,MD.USA
Posts: 2,042
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 753 Post(s)
Liked: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbz06 View Post
I'm willing to bet the panny's upscaling is just as good, and any difference would be of the pixel peeping variety.

I wouldn't worry about it, and I have a 77 A9G as well.
^^^Agreed!
pbz06 likes this.

Clark
Clark Burk is offline  
post #1215 of 1265 Old 03-18-2020, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avman66 View Post
Yes, that is exactly the feature I was talking about. Forgot the terminology. This is disappointing. My tv has a pretty good processor with the x1 Ultimate and I might want the tv to do the upscaling and processing. In fact I am doing this right now with my old sony blu ray player right now. What do you think about this? Should I be concerned? Isn't this a big negative?
Believe it or not, over on the JVC NX7 thread, I was told by multiple people that the 9000's upscaling is noticeably superior to the NX7. I was shocked. I was under the assumption that the more expensive NX7 would be better than the 9000 but apparently I was wrong. One caveat is that they did not mention whether scaling could be defeated in the 9000 or not, however it is a JVC thread. That being said, I was given multiple assurances that the 9000's scaling is world-class.

Last edited by surroundsound99; 03-19-2020 at 04:16 PM.
surroundsound99 is online now  
post #1216 of 1265 Old 03-22-2020, 10:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 3
The two players in contention for top spot are the Panasonic UB9000 and the Pioneer LX-500. I know this is a forum about the Panasonic, anyone has experience with both? I really do not think that one will sound that much better than the other, or the image of one will be that much better than the other. Either one will be a good experience.

However, features, options, support, built quality, connections, etc. are things that can be compared. To me, not having the analog 7.1 output of the Oppos and Panasonic is a negative of the Pioneer because I have quite a few Bluray discs, and I believe that the DACs in these players is better than on most AV Processors.

Any thoughts or suggestions?
rickyhgarcia is offline  
post #1217 of 1265 Old 03-23-2020, 10:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,119
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 594 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickyhgarcia View Post
To me, not having the analog 7.1 output of the Oppos and Panasonic is a negative of the Pioneer because I have quite a few Bluray discs, and I believe that the DACs in these players is better than on most AV Processors.
The differences may or may not show up on a Audio Precision test set. Next problem, how do you get the 7.1 output to your amplifiers? If you send it to most AVRs or AVPs then it will convert it back to digital for processing then back to analog for output. There may be some models that do not do this which means it would need a 7.1 channel analog volume control. Getting a 2 channel analog volume control to track within a dB or so is no easy task and becomes a PITA with 7.1 but doable with a switch type. Expect to pay for it.

Next problem, no full immersive audio (Dolby Atmos/DTS:X) from the 7.1 analog. For that you will need a capable AVR or AVP.
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #1218 of 1265 Old 03-24-2020, 10:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post
The differences may or may not show up on a Audio Precision test set. Next problem, how do you get the 7.1 output to your amplifiers? If you send it to most AVRs or AVPs then it will convert it back to digital for processing then back to analog for output. There may be some models that do not do this which means it would need a 7.1 channel analog volume control. Getting a 2 channel analog volume control to track within a dB or so is no easy task and becomes a PITA with 7.1 but doable with a switch type. Expect to pay for it.

Next problem, no full immersive audio (Dolby Atmos/DTS:X) from the 7.1 analog. For that you will need a capable AVR or AVP.
Thank you Wendell for your reply.

The Marantz AV PRO´s have an analog 7.1 RCA input, and a Pure Direct feature. It was my understanding that when selected, it bypasses all digital processing of the incoming signal.

I understand that for the more than 7.1 audio formats currently available, there is no choice than going digital.

I currently own an Oppo BDP-95, with both connections (HDMI and analog 7.1) to my Marantz AV Pro. Although it is still going strong, it may need replacement soon.
rickyhgarcia is offline  
post #1219 of 1265 Old 03-24-2020, 12:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,119
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 594 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickyhgarcia View Post
The Marantz AV PRO´s have an analog 7.1 RCA input, and a Pure Direct feature. It was my understanding that when selected, it bypasses all digital processing of the incoming signal.

I understand that for the more than 7.1 audio formats currently available, there is no choice than going digital.

I currently own an Oppo BDP-95, with both connections (HDMI and analog 7.1) to my Marantz AV Pro. Although it is still going strong, it may need replacement soon.
Depends on definition of all. Looked for information on the Marantz AV8805 and it appears in Pure Direct it turns off the display, bypasses the DSP (delays, Eq., etc.) I would wager the ADC's and DAC's are still in use. From the picture I do not believe there is an analog volume control in that unit.

My Yamaha CX-A5100 is similar in that it has 7.1 analog In's and a Pure Direct mode. Have a Oppo UDP-203 but only have it connected via HDMI.
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #1220 of 1265 Old 03-25-2020, 06:17 PM
Member
 
umjs78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 23
This bright horizontal area across the screen. I see them from other bright scene through the show.

It's from netflix on UB9000. Display is JV NX7

I'm only seeing this from UB9000, No same issue on appletv 4k and shield netflix app.

HDR optimizer off does not help.

That bright area is there whole time, very hard to see on normal scene but noticeable on bright scene.

Anyone has same issue?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
umjs78 is offline  
post #1221 of 1265 Old 03-26-2020, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
compson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post
Depends on definition of all. Looked for information on the Marantz AV8805 and it appears in Pure Direct it turns off the display, bypasses the DSP (delays, Eq., etc.) I would wager the ADC's and DAC's are still in use. From the picture I do not believe there is an analog volume control in that unit.

My Yamaha CX-A5100 is similar in that it has 7.1 analog In's and a Pure Direct mode. Have a Oppo UDP-203 but only have it connected via HDMI.
If you use the Marantz AV8805’s 7.1 analog inputs, setting the Input Mode to 7.1CH IN, the input is not digitized. This issue is discussed here: https://www.audiosciencereview.com/f...20#post-189207.
compson is offline  
post #1222 of 1265 Old 03-27-2020, 07:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,119
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 594 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by compson View Post
If you use the Marantz AV8805’s 7.1 analog inputs, setting the Input Mode to 7.1CH IN, the input is not digitized.
Did anyone supply a schematic of the unit? Only glanced at the first page and all I saw was speculation.
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #1223 of 1265 Old 03-27-2020, 08:27 AM
Senior Member
 
compson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post
Did anyone supply a schematic of the unit? Only glanced at the first page and all I saw was speculation.
There’s a schematic that was meaningless to me. In any case, Stereophile’s review of the AV8805 states that it has “the ability to feed analog signals from input to output without digitization.” The reviewer compared various DACs to the internal DACs. https://www.stereophile.com/content/...marantz-page-2.
compson is offline  
post #1224 of 1265 Old 03-29-2020, 09:07 AM
Newbie
 
GreggL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Kansas City, MO USA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've had my UB9000 since June 2019 and it's operated perfectly. After turning it on recently, there has been a change in all of the menu labels which I cannot decipher.

I have not been able to perform a factory reset because it appears to be buried in a menu setting. Unfortunately all menus have these alpha-numeric labels instead of English and I have no clue as to their function now. This MIGHT have happened after the grandkids visited <g>.

I have turned it off/on, unplugged and no change. Any suggested remedies?

Thanks...gregg
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4028.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	63.7 KB
ID:	2703096  
GreggL is offline  
post #1225 of 1265 Old 03-29-2020, 10:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Lesmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 795 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreggL View Post
I've had my UB9000 since June 2019 and it's operated perfectly. After turning it on recently, there has been a change in all of the menu labels which I cannot decipher.

I have not been able to perform a factory reset because it appears to be buried in a menu setting. Unfortunately all menus have these alpha-numeric labels instead of English and I have no clue as to their function now. This MIGHT have happened after the grandkids visited <g>.

I have turned it off/on, unplugged and no change. Any suggested remedies?

Thanks...gregg
Oh dear that doesn't look right at all
there hasn't been any new firmware releases so I don't know how you have ended up with that mess
Lesmor is online now  
post #1226 of 1265 Old 03-29-2020, 12:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,119
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 594 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by compson View Post
There’s a schematic that was meaningless to me.
There should not be any advantage to taking the analog audio out of a digital device that is connected to descent AVR or AVP which in turn feeds the connected amps vs. connecting the digital device and using the digital out connection to the AVP or AVR. If one plans to use immersive audio then a digital connection (HDMI) will be the only choice.
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #1227 of 1265 Old 03-29-2020, 12:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
T-smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 1,190
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreggL View Post
I've had my UB9000 since June 2019 and it's operated perfectly. After turning it on recently, there has been a change in all of the menu labels which I cannot decipher.

I have not been able to perform a factory reset because it appears to be buried in a menu setting. Unfortunately all menus have these alpha-numeric labels instead of English and I have no clue as to their function now. This MIGHT have happened after the grandkids visited <g>.

I have turned it off/on, unplugged and no change. Any suggested remedies?

Thanks...gregg

How long did you leave it unplugged? I’d try leaving it unplugged for 5-10 mins if you didn’t try that yet.

If you are brave here are the steps to reset:

The last icon on the right is or should be Setup
The first option on next window is player settings so click ok
On the players settings screen you want the System menu which is or should be the last item on the list
The last item on the system menu is Restore Default Settings
The Restore Default screen has options for Yes No with Yes being first
Selecting Yes should restore factory defaults and hopefully fix the issue

This is all assuming only the label names have changed and not the position of the options


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

-
Upgraditus is a real disease
T-smith is offline  
post #1228 of 1265 Old 03-29-2020, 01:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreggL View Post
I've had my UB9000 since June 2019 and it's operated perfectly. After turning it on recently, there has been a change in all of the menu labels which I cannot decipher.

I have not been able to perform a factory reset because it appears to be buried in a menu setting. Unfortunately all menus have these alpha-numeric labels instead of English and I have no clue as to their function now. This MIGHT have happened after the grandkids visited <g>.

I have turned it off/on, unplugged and no change. Any suggested remedies?

Thanks...gregg
Download the PDF manual for your device.

On page 37 you will find a factory reset procedure.

If that doesn't solve your problem, send me a pm with your email address.
SuckMyNick is offline  
post #1229 of 1265 Old 03-29-2020, 08:38 PM
Newbie
 
GreggL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Kansas City, MO USA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for the quick replies!

--Tried the 10 minute cycle - no resolution
--Not brave enough to try the menus blind until d/l'ing the manual
--p37 reset - worked perfectly

I'm back in business!

...gregg
GreggL is offline  
post #1230 of 1265 Old 03-29-2020, 10:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,800
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1313 Post(s)
Liked: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreggL View Post
Thanks for the quick replies!

--Tried the 10 minute cycle - no resolution
--Not brave enough to try the menus blind until d/l'ing the manual
--p37 reset - worked perfectly

I'm back in business!

...gregg
That's great news!

The only odd issue I was getting was when I had my Harmony activity end the startup sequence by opening the disc drawer. It would result in the user interface not starting and me having to reset the player using the P37! Once I figured it was the activity just doing it too soon, I removed it from the sequence, and no issues since.
MOberhardt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off