Official Pana UB9000 Owner's thread (No Price Talk) - Page 45 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 483Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1321 of 1344 Old 05-13-2020, 03:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,026
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1483 Post(s)
Liked: 1123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cortiz View Post
I bought an opened box from Best Buy. The remote that came with it is looks the same as some of the pictures posted on this thread, however it's missing the manual skip buttons. Did a get a different model remote?
The US and Euro remotes vary slightly I believe.
MOberhardt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1322 of 1344 Old 05-13-2020, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tngiloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 1,492
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cortiz View Post
I bought an opened box from Best Buy. The remote that came with it is looks the same as some of the pictures posted on this thread, however it's missing the manual skip buttons. Did a get a different model remote?
This is the remote shown in the manual. It's model #N2QAYA000175
Not sure what you mean by 'manual skip buttons' but the 'next chapter' 'last chapter' buttons are beside the 'pause' button.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ub9000rem.JPG
Views:	29
Size:	53.9 KB
ID:	2725836  

"When all else fails, read the manual."
tngiloy is offline  
post #1323 of 1344 Old 05-13-2020, 05:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Take a look at the remote picture on the very first page of this thread. It has manual skip and forward buttons. I have also seen pictures on some review sites and they have those buttons as well. On my remote, they are missing and it's also missing on the operating manual picture. That is odd.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cortiz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1324 of 1344 Old 05-13-2020, 05:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tngiloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 1,492
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cortiz View Post
Take a look at the remote picture on the very first page of this thread. It has manual skip and forward buttons. I have also seen pictures on some review sites and they have those buttons as well. On my remote, they are missing and it's also missing on the operating manual picture. That is odd.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The +60 and -10 buttons are only available on the European remote, unfortunately. I'm not sure, but that poster may live in Europe hence the different remote.
If you have a universal remote you may be able to get the codes for those functions. I use a URC MX-900 and was able to find the code for +60 sec, but had to make a macro for the -10 sec.
Or you could check on ebay for the Euro model if it's that important to you.

"When all else fails, read the manual."
tngiloy is offline  
post #1325 of 1344 Old 05-13-2020, 05:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Oh ok. I have a Harmony remote but the codes are not there for any of the Pannys remote.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cortiz is offline  
post #1326 of 1344 Old 05-13-2020, 07:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MOberhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,026
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1483 Post(s)
Liked: 1123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cortiz View Post
Oh ok. I have a Harmony remote but the codes are not there for any of the Pannys remote.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
What harmony? I've the elite and have programmed it for the UB9000. And was the same as the older 900
MOberhardt is online now  
post #1327 of 1344 Old 05-14-2020, 01:10 AM
Senior Member
 
chhanthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOberhardt View Post
What harmony? I've the elite and have programmed it for the UB9000. And was the same as the older 900
No idea why harmony can't order the UB9000 to Close tray, I can use the same button for Open but cannot Close the tray. It sometimes appear Code 1 in the front display.

Anthony Chan
AV Blog: http://www.avnewbie.com
Panasonic DP-UB9000EBK, Shield TV Pro 2019, Zidoo Z9S, Anthem AVM60, Krell KAV2250 X 2, Theater Amplifier Standard, M&K S-150 X 5, SS150 X 4, Martin Logan Descent-i and Thiel SS 2, SS2.2 and SI 1 Integrator, LG HU70LA, JK 126" Fixed Screen N4-FL/W1
chhanthony is offline  
post #1328 of 1344 Old 05-14-2020, 05:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOberhardt View Post
What harmony? I've the elite and have programmed it for the UB9000. And was the same as the older 900
I have the 665 but I was referring to the manual skip buttons that are missing from the US remote version.
Cortiz is offline  
post #1329 of 1344 Old 05-14-2020, 04:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cortiz View Post
Take a look at the remote picture on the very first page of this thread. It has manual skip and forward buttons. I have also seen pictures on some review sites and they have those buttons as well. On my remote, they are missing and it's also missing on the operating manual picture. That is odd.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I am in the US and I do not have the Manual Skip buttons or markings on my remote.
surroundsound99 is offline  
post #1330 of 1344 Old 05-14-2020, 05:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cortiz View Post
I bought an opened box from Best Buy. The remote that came with it is looks the same as some of the pictures posted on this thread, however it's missing the manual skip buttons. Did a get a different model remote?
Per Panasonic's FAQ page, "Remote function[s] vary by country region."

http://eng-ca.faq.panasonic.com/app/...67/p/7/c/68234

Looking closely, the US remote has Closed Captioning and Mirroring buttons, but those two buttons on the Canada (rest of world?) remote are replaced with the -10s and +60s Manual Skip buttons. Those are the only differences I see. Interestingly, they have the same model number, IR6.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	US remote.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	53.5 KB
ID:	2726392   Click image for larger version

Name:	Canada-World remote.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	54.1 KB
ID:	2726394  
surroundsound99 is offline  
post #1331 of 1344 Old 05-14-2020, 05:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Blackdevil77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Bestbuy just refunded me for the UB9000. They said they're unable to get them
Blackdevil77 is offline  
post #1332 of 1344 Old 05-14-2020, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Page 24 says we can use a phone to control the 9000 as a renderer, with compatible DMC software.

Anybody know what app to download?
surroundsound99 is offline  
post #1333 of 1344 Old 05-14-2020, 10:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
blake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1012 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackdevil77 View Post
Bestbuy just refunded me for the UB9000. They said they're unable to get them

Is this model officially discontinued ?
blake is online now  
post #1334 of 1344 Old 05-14-2020, 10:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackdevil77 View Post
Bestbuy just refunded me for the UB9000. They said they're unable to get them

This is most likely due to the current COVID19 pandemic. They will eventually get new stock.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cortiz is offline  
post #1335 of 1344 Old 05-16-2020, 06:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
LCSeminole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackdevil77 View Post
Bestbuy just refunded me for the UB9000. They said they're unable to get them
You should give Robert a call at Value Electronics, he is an authorized dealer and according to his website has them in stock ready to ship.

Emotiva: RMC-1/XPA-7Gen3/PA-1(x4)
Emotiva: ERT-8.3/ERM-6.3/ERM6.2(x4)
SVS: PB12-Plus(x2), Prime Elevation(x4)
LG OLED65C8, Oppo UDP-203, Panasonic DP-UB820, AppleTV4K
Furman PL-PRO DMC 20A, Monster Power HTS-5000
LCSeminole is offline  
post #1336 of 1344 Old 05-17-2020, 05:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Blackdevil77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by LCSeminole View Post
You should give Robert a call at Value Electronics, he is an authorized dealer and according to his website has them in stock ready to ship.
Thanks for the heads up. I ordered from Bestbuy again, right after they canceled my order, apparently they got information that they're getting them by May 28th. My theater is still under construction, so I'm not in a big rush. If they flake again, I'll call Robert.
Blackdevil77 is offline  
post #1337 of 1344 Old 05-17-2020, 12:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 42
@Blackdevil77 , you'll still be missing out on the free Spears & Munsil disc and expert advice on how to configure your UB9000 with your theater. I have JVC's NX7 and got step by step setup instructions for the UB90000 and my NX7.
UltraHD enthusiast is offline  
post #1338 of 1344 Old 05-17-2020, 05:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Blackdevil77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltraHD enthusiast View Post
@Blackdevil77 , you'll still be missing out on the free Spears & Munsil disc and expert advice on how to configure your UB9000 with your theater. I have JVC's NX7 and got step by step setup instructions for the UB90000 and my NX7.
I was gonna get everything calibrated. I have the Bestbuy card so I got 0% financing which was nice. A bit of a break right now certainly comes in handy.
tigerhonaker likes this.
Blackdevil77 is offline  
post #1339 of 1344 Old 05-22-2020, 07:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Unhappy

Hi all, I apologize for that but I've been looking to buy oppo 203 but unfortunately the price too expensive, my concern is I have DVD blu ray movies and some files are ripped to MKV in HDD external. So, my question does this model support media by HDD and support SRT subtitles as well as does oppo 203? if not, would you please recommend me media player as I said my movies contents Dolby vision and hdr10+ so there is not tv box that will support these Dolby vision double layer.

Last edited by icic2018; 05-23-2020 at 03:48 AM.
icic2018 is online now  
post #1340 of 1344 Old 05-23-2020, 07:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,123
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by surroundsound99 View Post
Per Panasonic's FAQ page, "Remote function[s] vary by country region."

http://eng-ca.faq.panasonic.com/app/...67/p/7/c/68234

Looking closely, the US remote has Closed Captioning and Mirroring buttons, but those two buttons on the Canada (rest of world?) remote are replaced with the -10s and +60s Manual Skip buttons. Those are the only differences I see. Interestingly, they have the same model number, IR6.
The part number actually differs. I found a post here which mentions it.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...l#post58031862
Sango is offline  
post #1341 of 1344 Old 05-24-2020, 09:34 AM
Member
 
djpault's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma USA
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I have a 75" Samsung Q90R 2019 model LCD TV and was wondering what the best HDR luminescence setting would be?


TV Specs

SDR Real Scene Peak Brightness 831 cd/m
HDR Real Scene Peak Brightness 1287 cd/m²
djpault is offline  
post #1342 of 1344 Old Yesterday, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sango View Post
The part number actually differs. I found a post here which mentions it.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...l#post58031862
That post isn't quite correct IMHO. That post is lumping the US and Canadian remotes in the same bin but as you can see at this Panasonic website, the US and Canadian remotes are clearly not the same remotes:

http://eng-ca.faq.panasonic.com/app/...67/p/7/c/68234

The Canadian remote does have the skip buttons (+60s and -10s) described on the UK/European remote, plus it says "MANUAL SKIP" in white lettering. Otherwise, the other differences described are correct (mirroring, space button, Video Settings, Picture Settings.)

So maybe this means there are 3 different English-speaking remotes:
US: no skip buttons, mirroring button included
Canadian: skip buttons included, but no mirroring button
UK/European: skip buttons included, Picture Setting button instead of Video Setting button
surroundsound99 is offline  
post #1343 of 1344 Old Yesterday, 10:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2,123
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by surroundsound99 View Post
That post isn't quite correct IMHO. That post is lumping the US and Canadian remotes in the same bin but as you can see at this Panasonic website, the US and Canadian remotes are clearly not the same remotes:

http://eng-ca.faq.panasonic.com/app/...67/p/7/c/68234

The Canadian remote does have the skip buttons (+60s and -10s) described on the UK/European remote, plus it says "MANUAL SKIP" in white lettering. Otherwise, the other differences described are correct (mirroring, space button, Video Settings, Picture Settings.)

So maybe this means there are 3 different English-speaking remotes:
US: no skip buttons, mirroring button included
Canadian: skip buttons included, but no mirroring button
UK/European: skip buttons included, Picture Setting button instead of Video Setting button
I think you are possibly right. If we had the service manual, it would be easier in a way to distinguish.
Sango is offline  
post #1344 of 1344 Old Yesterday, 01:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,819
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5780 Post(s)
Liked: 4136
Quote:
Originally Posted by icic2018 View Post
Hi all, I apologize for that but I've been looking to buy oppo 203 but unfortunately the price too expensive, my concern is I have DVD blu ray movies and some files are ripped to MKV in HDD external. So, my question does this model support media by HDD and support SRT subtitles as well as does oppo 203? if not, would you please recommend me media player as I said my movies contents Dolby vision and hdr10+ so there is not tv box that will support these Dolby vision double layer.
I ordered the 9000 and should be getting it this friday. I am getting it for the tone mapping it does with HDR10, which I really need on my E6 OLED. I have the Oppo 203, which can't do tone mapping for HDR10. FWIW, if I like the 9000, I am going to sell my 203 for the cost I paid for it from OPPO.

Last edited by wxman; Yesterday at 02:36 PM.
wxman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off