OFFICIAL Sony UBP-X800M2 Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 6 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 143Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 578 Old 05-30-2019, 03:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
glangford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,270
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 736 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panson View Post
The X1100ES has an analog section that appeals to some, those especially with large CD collections and the reluctance to keep added components for each task.

Sony has largely ignored analog until this. The analog quality of this unit remains to be heard and reviewed upon., whether it's as good as Panasonic UB900 and UB9000 in that regard.

Needless to say, Sony's continued clumsy player handling of Dolby Vision will negate for some any analog advantage.
I need a universal player with analog out. I run the 2 channel analog to a headphone amp to listen to music, and sometimes an occasional movie. HDMI goes to the Anthem for normal listening. So if I bought a sony, it would be the X1100ES.

Supercharged Song Towers, Oppo BDP-203, Anthem MRX-520, LG B6 OLED
Headphone Rig: Oppo BDP-95, Burson Audio Soloist MKII Headphone amp/ Sennheiser HD800S, Sennheiser HD650
glangford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 578 Old 05-30-2019, 06:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,246
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6062
LOL, OK. Once again, waste your money, it's not mine. There are better options for the cost, Sony is bilking Customers with the 1000 series, there isn't 2 channel analog worth the cost differential in this unit. Buy something else.

You can get UDP 203's on ebay for $1200!
Transistorious likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
ATV4K / Uverse / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #153 of 578 Old 05-30-2019, 12:58 PM
Senior Member
 
TommyDeVito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by dakar80124 View Post
Thats kind of how I feel about it. I personally don't get to watch many movies anyway so I don't think will be a big deal for me. What I can't stand much more is having movies freeze and not play. But I also don't want to spend more than $300 on a player either, I'm already spending bank$ on rest of my HT. And I have a Marantz CD/SACD player I use so I just need something good for movies only.
When you boot up the player it comes to the main screen. You scroll to the right for setup, screen settings, DV on/off. It's fast. Only takes a few seconds. Minimal. Buy it, you'll like it.
Transistorious likes this.
TommyDeVito is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #154 of 578 Old 05-30-2019, 10:58 PM
Member
 
tomhayes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyDeVito View Post
When you boot up the player it comes to the main screen. You scroll to the right for setup, screen settings, DV on/off. It's fast. Only takes a few seconds. Minimal. Buy it, you'll like it.
Yes, it's these easy and fast series of 17 steps.

Turn ON Dolby Vision sequence
1. Right
2. Right
3. Right
4. Enter
5. Down
6. Down
7. Enter
8. Down
9. Down
10. Enter
11. Up (This is the step that selects Dolby Vision On)
12. Enter
13. Enter (This clears the Dolby Vision warning pop-iup)
14. Home
15. Left
16. Left
17. Left

And these 16 to turn it off:

Turn OFF Dolby Vision sequence
1. Right
2. Right
3. Right
4. Enter
5. Down
6. Down
7. Enter
8. Down
9. Down
10. Enter
11. Down (This is the step that selects Dolby Vision Off)
12. Enter
13. Home
14. Left
15. Left
16. Left

It's like the Komani code,, but for your DVD player
tomhayes is offline  
post #155 of 578 Old 05-31-2019, 01:15 AM
Senior Member
 
TommyDeVito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Took me about 5 seconds to enable, and same to turn it back off. Non issue for me, will be a catastrophe for maybe the next human. Setup, screen settings, DV on. Rudimentary.
TommyDeVito is offline  
post #156 of 578 Old 05-31-2019, 04:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
iraweiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyDeVito View Post
Took me about 5 seconds to enable, and same to turn it back off. Non issue for me, will be a catastrophe for maybe the next human. Setup, screen settings, DV on. Rudimentary.
I can see doing the DV switching for myself as can those of us who frequent this forum. Ask our significant others to do this? That's a different story.
iraweiss is offline  
post #157 of 578 Old 05-31-2019, 11:02 AM
Member
 
0hwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I still find non DV Blu-rays look better in DV mode so I don't worry about changing back and forth I just leave it toggled on all the time. I wouldn't want a player that didn't give you the ability to force DV.

Last edited by 0hwell; 05-31-2019 at 11:08 AM.
0hwell is offline  
post #158 of 578 Old 05-31-2019, 11:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madhuski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,728
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1386 Post(s)
Liked: 882
Anyone trying to use the x800m2 with IP control? Can't seem to get it working with control4

Selling in AVS classifieds
FS: Marantz 8805

Last edited by madhuski; 05-31-2019 at 07:20 PM.
madhuski is online now  
post #159 of 578 Old 05-31-2019, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Boxozaxu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,070
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 512 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by iraweiss View Post
I can see doing the DV switching for myself as can those of us who frequent this forum. Ask our significant others to do this? That's a different story.
I suspect most significant others don't even know about SDR vs HDR, so worrying about them missing out regarding HDR10 vs DV is a bit overstating the problem. So just leave DV off and they won't even notice.
Boxozaxu is offline  
post #160 of 578 Old 05-31-2019, 04:10 PM
Member
 
DVnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Question Settings?

Just picked up this player. Just curious, are all settings other than DV [Off/On] exactly the same as the suggested settings posted in the UBP-X800 thread for this player? Since I have a Sony A1E I don't select upscaling on this player as the OLED supposedly does a better job.

Thanks in advance

Sony OLED XBR-65A1E / Sony UHD Player UBP-X800Mark 2, & 1
Sony Playstation 4 Pro / Sony A/V Receiver STR ZA2100ES
Apple 4KTV / DirectTV Genie Gen 2 H44-500
DVnt is offline  
post #161 of 578 Old 05-31-2019, 10:12 PM
Member
 
limitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomhayes View Post
I have the Harmony One, but the 650 can do it do.

Here's a help page from Harmony on it:
https://support.myharmony.com/en-us/...tton-sequences

But for the people saying "it's just a few button presses" it also shows that it take at around 20 button presses to turn it on or off while watching a movie Harmony again proves it worth.
I've created the On and Off sequences but it seems they can only be applied to 'Activites'. I was hoping the sequences could be created and applied under 'Devices' > 'Sony X800M2' screen as 'DV ON' and 'DV OFF' but the Harmony software or my 650 doesn't allow such flexibility.


My main issue with 'Activity' is that no matter what it will force the specified device to completely power On and or Off once pressed before any commands/sequences become available to use. Imagine the annoyance of it when you are trying to watch a movie . Your sequence implementation works well, the Harmony Software not so much. I am surprised of how quickly the sequence gets from point A to point B and back in a matter of a couple of seconds because I thought it would be a clunky transition like my fingers hitting the remote buttons. lol


Maybe you know of a work around... and do you have yours applied under 'Activity' or 'Devices' or somewhere else perhaps?


Thanks for any help.

Last edited by limitz; 05-31-2019 at 10:20 PM.
limitz is offline  
post #162 of 578 Old 06-01-2019, 07:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
iraweiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 66
I'm fascinated by the creative work arounds we are devising to switch DV on and off. It's too bad we have to use our creativity as a replacement for the engineering that should have been done by Sony in the first place.


I just installed the latest upgrade on my Sony 65" 930E and 55" 900E TVs. It fixed several problems.


Sony needs to temporarily reassign a few engineers from their TV to their Blu-Ray departments so they can fix the lack of auto DV switching problem on the 800M2, the 700 and the 1100ES.


To see how this has gotten to me, I was reading the food label on my tortilla chips to see where they come from and came upon: The Daily Value (DV)... Guess what I thought about?
aaronwt and Boxozaxu like this.

Last edited by iraweiss; 06-01-2019 at 01:00 PM. Reason: clarity
iraweiss is offline  
post #163 of 578 Old 06-01-2019, 05:08 PM
Member
 
pavment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomhayes View Post
Yes, it's these easy and fast series of 17 steps.

Turn ON Dolby Vision sequence
1. Right
2. Right
3. Right
4. Enter
5. Down
6. Down
7. Enter
8. Down
9. Down
10. Enter
11. Up (This is the step that selects Dolby Vision On)
12. Enter
13. Enter (This clears the Dolby Vision warning pop-iup)
14. Home
15. Left
16. Left
17. Left

And these 16 to turn it off:

Turn OFF Dolby Vision sequence
1. Right
2. Right
3. Right
4. Enter
5. Down
6. Down
7. Enter
8. Down
9. Down
10. Enter
11. Down (This is the step that selects Dolby Vision Off)
12. Enter
13. Home
14. Left
15. Left
16. Left

It's like the Komani code,, but for your DVD player
@tomhayes
Thanks I really appreciate your help in this.
pavment is offline  
post #164 of 578 Old 06-01-2019, 07:30 PM
Member
 
Transistorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0hwell View Post
I still find non DV Blu-rays look better in DV mode so I don't worry about changing back and forth I just leave it toggled on all the time. I wouldn't want a player that didn't give you the ability to force DV.
Please explain that theory.
Transistorious is offline  
post #165 of 578 Old 06-01-2019, 09:28 PM
Member
 
0hwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transistorious View Post
Please explain that theory.
Its simple I watch all my standard blu-ray's and uhd blu-ray's with DV toggled on I think they look better that way. That's why I like the Sony players. The only other uhd player I had did not have DV, but if I were to get another that automatically switched Dolby on and off I would also want it to have the option to force it on all the time like the Sony.
0hwell is offline  
post #166 of 578 Old 06-02-2019, 06:09 AM
Member
 
Transistorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0hwell View Post
Its simple I watch all my standard blu-ray's and uhd blu-ray's with DV toggled on I think they look better that way. That's why I like the Sony players. The only other uhd player I had did not have DV, but if I were to get another that automatically switched Dolby on and off I would also want it to have the option to force it on all the time like the Sony.
***Duly Noted***
Transistorious is offline  
post #167 of 578 Old 06-02-2019, 09:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
cydeweyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 697
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Besides the build quality is there any advantage to getting this over the X700?
cydeweyz is online now  
post #168 of 578 Old 06-02-2019, 11:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I am using X800M2 with Sony projector VPL-VW675ES and Trinnov Altitude32 processor. Player output HDMI1 is connected to projector input HDMI1 directly while player out HDMI2 is connected to the processor. The video output of the processor is also the projector input HDMI2.
Issue: There is no sound from player unless I disconnect the video output of the processor. Please note that same setup works flawlesly with Oppo 2905 and HTPC. Does any one know what's going on?
The player is bought from Amazon and have a few days before deciding whether I keep it.
Thanks.
relucu is offline  
post #169 of 578 Old 06-02-2019, 11:37 AM
Member
 
DecoLingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by limitz View Post
I've created the On and Off sequences but it seems they can only be applied to 'Activites'. I was hoping the sequences could be created and applied under 'Devices' > 'Sony X800M2' screen as 'DV ON' and 'DV OFF' but the Harmony software or my 650 doesn't allow such flexibility.
You would need to use a macro, or a "Sequence" in Harmony terminology. This allows a bunch of steps to be assigned to a single button.

Not sure if this is available on the 650 (mine's in a box somewhere), but it's definitely possible with units like the Elite. Take a look at the config UI or the online support area for the 650 to see if it supports sequences as well.

---
Sony XBR-65A9G, BDP-S790, STR-DN1080; Nvidia Shield; Logitech Harmony Elite
Old: Sony XBR-HX929, STR-DN1060
DecoLingo is offline  
post #170 of 578 Old 06-02-2019, 04:01 PM
Member
 
Hollypoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Just got one from crutchfield. Watched Cap America and Jumanji in 4K UHD so far. Still playing with TV (Sony 900E) settings, but pretty unimpressed with the whole UHD thing at this point. HD looks great with either the TV or the 800m2, UHD looks about the same using some of the more popular settings from the 900E thread.

Must be a button I haven’t pushed yet.

Sony 900E, Marantz SR5011, Oppo 105 universal, Sony 800m2, Statement Monitors, Zaph ZA5 Center, Comody Speedsters surrounds.
Hollypoint is offline  
post #171 of 578 Old 06-02-2019, 07:03 PM
Member
 
Transistorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by cydeweyz View Post
Besides the build quality is there any advantage to getting this over the X700?
My humble suggestion: check with anyone you know that has both players. Compare and make your decision.
Good luck
Transistorious is offline  
post #172 of 578 Old 06-02-2019, 07:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
cydeweyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 697
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transistorious View Post
My humble suggestion: check with anyone you know that has both players. Compare and make your decision.
Good luck


That’s why am asking. I have the x700
cydeweyz is online now  
post #173 of 578 Old 06-02-2019, 07:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
zeonstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 537 Post(s)
Liked: 130
I'm trying to add the DV off and On sequence that was kindly listed here to work on my Harmomy 950 and it's not quite doing the trick. I think it needs a few delays thrown in but I am still working it out. Have to keep running upstairs to my computer to tweak it. Haha.
zeonstar is online now  
post #174 of 578 Old 06-02-2019, 11:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by cydeweyz View Post
That’s why am asking. I have the x700
You'd get 5GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth support. This player also shows up as a device in the Music Center mobile app. The X700 doesn't. PQ-wise I do not expect them to be much different.
cydeweyz and jkeldo like this.
priitv8 is offline  
post #175 of 578 Old 06-03-2019, 08:30 AM
Member
 
Hollypoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 4
So, I’m still trying to make UHD pop on the 800m2.

I have the HD blueray version of Cap America and the 4k UHD version. The Oppo 105 plays the HD Blueray directly into hdmi4 on the Sony 900e; the 800m2 plays the UHD version directly into hdmi2. Both inputs have the same settings (including enhanced hdmi). Both pictures are just amazing.

Picked the final scene when Cap America wakes up in modern Times Square. Switch between the hdmi inputs. Cannot tell a difference. TV display says both are 4k inputs (Oppo upscales). I had assumed UHD colors would really come alive. Looks the same as HD blueray. Still a great picture, just not noticeably better.

Tried the same test with Jumanji. Great picture, not noticeably better.

Unless I can find the magic setting not sure why I’m keeping the 800m2.

Sony 900E, Marantz SR5011, Oppo 105 universal, Sony 800m2, Statement Monitors, Zaph ZA5 Center, Comody Speedsters surrounds.
Hollypoint is offline  
post #176 of 578 Old 06-03-2019, 09:01 AM
RUR
Innocent Bystander
 
RUR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Beershorn
Posts: 3,104
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 659 Post(s)
Liked: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by relucu View Post
I am using X800M2 with Sony projector VPL-VW675ES and Trinnov Altitude32 processor. Player output HDMI1 is connected to projector input HDMI1 directly while player out HDMI2 is connected to the processor. The video output of the processor is also the projector input HDMI2.
Issue: There is no sound from player unless I disconnect the video output of the processor. Please note that same setup works flawlesly with Oppo 2905 and HTPC. Does any one know what's going on?
The player is bought from Amazon and have a few days before deciding whether I keep it.
Thanks.
You may find some help in the Trinnov owners thread here.
RUR is offline  
post #177 of 578 Old 06-03-2019, 09:12 AM
Member
 
jimhenryatgmail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeonstar View Post
I'm trying to add the DV off and On sequence that was kindly listed here to work on my Harmomy 950 and it's not quite doing the trick. I think it needs a few delays thrown in but I am still working it out. Have to keep running upstairs to my computer to tweak it. Haha.
I have reprogrammed the red and green buttons on the bottom of my Harmony touch to do the Dolby vision on and off sequences. I used 1 second delays every time I used the select command with the exception of the DV on Sequence I had to use one 6 second delay after selecting "On" in the Dolby Vision menu as it pops up the 3D disabled message that stays on the screen for a few seconds, 5 second delay was not enough but 6 seconds did the trick.

Sony XBR-55X900F, Sony UBP-X700, Yamaha YAS-207, PS3
Sharp LC-42D72U (overdue for replacement), Sony BDP-S570, Denon AVR-989, CM-7000PAL, PS4
Samsung UN46C6300 (retired to home office), Samsung BD-D6500, Sony BDP-S5100, PS3, PSTV
jimhenryatgmail is offline  
post #178 of 578 Old 06-03-2019, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
keyoctave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hollypoint View Post
So, I’m still trying to make UHD pop on the 800m2.

I have the HD blueray version of Cap America and the 4k UHD version. The Oppo 105 plays the HD Blueray directly into hdmi4 on the Sony 900e; the 800m2 plays the UHD version directly into hdmi2. Both inputs have the same settings (including enhanced hdmi). Both pictures are just amazing.

Picked the final scene when Cap America wakes up in modern Times Square. Switch between the hdmi inputs. Cannot tell a difference. TV display says both are 4k inputs (Oppo upscales). I had assumed UHD colors would really come alive. Looks the same as HD blueray. Still a great picture, just not noticeably better.

Tried the same test with Jumanji. Great picture, not noticeably better.

Unless I can find the magic setting not sure why I’m keeping the 800m2.
Can’t say about the color enhancement, but I kept mine because my Oppo can’t play 4K UHD or HDR/DV.
Did you have the Sony set to decode HDR or DV as the disc is encoded?

I can see a difference in the UHD versions when it comes to HDR and (less so) in resolution. Not so much in color space.

LG 55”C8 OLED Oppo BDP-103 Sony X800m2
Denon X3300W 5.2.2 PSB/M&K speakers
Samsung 55HU8550/SEK-3500U
Sonos 5.1 Playbase/sub/surrounds
CalMAN Home Enthusiast/i1display pro oem/i1 pro 2/Videoforge HDMI-2 TPG
keyoctave is offline  
post #179 of 578 Old 06-03-2019, 09:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 3,266
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2084 Post(s)
Liked: 1942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hollypoint View Post
So, I’m still trying to make UHD pop on the 800m2.

I have the HD blueray version of Cap America and the 4k UHD version. The Oppo 105 plays the HD Blueray directly into hdmi4 on the Sony 900e; the 800m2 plays the UHD version directly into hdmi2. Both inputs have the same settings (including enhanced hdmi). Both pictures are just amazing.

Picked the final scene when Cap America wakes up in modern Times Square. Switch between the hdmi inputs. Cannot tell a difference. TV display says both are 4k inputs (Oppo upscales). I had assumed UHD colors would really come alive. Looks the same as HD blueray. Still a great picture, just not noticeably better.

Tried the same test with Jumanji. Great picture, not noticeably better.

Unless I can find the magic setting not sure why I’m keeping the 800m2.
The difference between UHD and BD can vary by title. In many cases, its a marginal upgrade. Depending on which Cap America and Jumanji titles you are testing, Bluray.com reports that these aren't the best UHD upgrades. Plus if your Oppo is doing a great job of upscaling, that might narrow the gap further.

https://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Capta...lu-ray/226350/
https://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Juman...lu-ray/194075/
aaronwt and Panson like this.
PlanetAVS is online now  
post #180 of 578 Old 06-03-2019, 11:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: So Cal
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Dolby Vision On, a thought.

What happens with a non DV disc is played with the Dolby Vision On setting?

Every TV (Monitor) that supports DV has a “Golden Reference Target” that is used when a DV Disc or Stream is played.

Could the X700, X800M2 be switching to this when playing a non DV disc on a DV capable TV?

This might help to explain the highly variable results that are obtained. The variability seems to be associated with what TV is being used.

Bob Holmes
Curmudgeon
Der Alte is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off