"Unsupported Audio Device" - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-23-2007, 07:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rpoulos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just got a PS3 for my bluray player and whenever I play a disc I get this message on my TV: "Unsupported Audio Device Detected". It's a message generated by the TV, which is a Sony 60a2000.

I'm running HDMI direct to the TV, but running optical to my receiver. Everything runs fine, but it's just a litte annoying to keep seeing this message every time I run a movie.

I assume it's the HDMI audio stream that the TV doesn't like, but why is it unsupported? Could it be that the PS3 is HDMI 1.3 and the TV is only 1.2? If so, I haven't been able to disable the HDMI audio in the PS3 settings...

any thoughts...advice?

thanks,
Rob
rpoulos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-23-2007, 09:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WaldorfSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nr. Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpoulos View Post

Just got a PS3 for my bluray player and whenever I play a disc I get this message on my TV: "Unsupported Audio Device Detected". It's a message generated by the TV, which is a Sony 60a2000.

I'm running HDMI direct to the TV, but running optical to my receiver. Everything runs fine, but it's just a litte annoying to keep seeing this message every time I run a movie.

I assume it's the HDMI audio stream that the TV doesn't like, but why is it unsupported? Could it be that the PS3 is HDMI 1.3 and the TV is only 1.2? If so, I haven't been able to disable the HDMI audio in the PS3 settings...

any thoughts...advice?

thanks,
Rob

The A2000, like many other TVs, supports only PCM 2.0 and not bitsream so you'll switch your player to output PCM you won't get the message. I'm not familiar with the PS3 but the Samsung BD player does the same thing whereas the Sony BDP-S1 doesn't because it has a seperate setting for HDMI audio and has an Auto setting.
WaldorfSalad is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-23-2007, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rpoulos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey thanks Waldorf, I'll try that out...I think I have it set to PCM now though, I will check
rpoulos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 02-23-2007, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Maxx_75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Algona, WA
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The problem is that the PS3 doesnt output audio via HDMI and toslink at the same time. I wish it did but it doesnt. Perhaps they can fix this via firmware update.

"My ignorance amuses me." .......Manfred Powell

Blu-Ray = 381 HD DVD = 1
My Collection
Maxx_75 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off