Samsung BDP1400 Disussion Thread - Page 67 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1981 of 12886 Old 11-22-2007, 07:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Humanoid1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustAsk View Post

Been reading this thread for awhile now. Saw what I thought was a good price ($299) for the BDP1400 at Brandsmart. After reading this 1400 thread, I am now back to thinking a PS3 is the best way for me to get into Blu-ray.

I will only be able to hook up the unit with Component and Optical for audio. Does anyone know off the top of the head if that will work well?

Or, given my HD-XA1 does a pretty good job of up conversion, maybe I wait until generation 4..........

Thoughts?

I love my 1400 and have no issues with it running through my new Marantz SR7002 or previous 7001 and out to my Sony kdsr60xbr2. It was worth the 499.00 I payed for it just like the 499 I payed for my HD-A2 which is solid as a rock and not had a single problem.

The 1400 offers the latest in technology, which can have backward compatability issues with other equipment, as well as issues with newer equipment like monitors that can do 1080p/24. My Sony does 1080/60 and looks fantastic. If your setting the 1400 to 24fps expect issues like they have on the HD side. Workaround is to turn 24 OFF!

I would recommend you upgrade to a 1.3a HDMI capable receiver prior to purchasing a BR player.

Best of luck!

Ray
Humanoid1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1982 of 12886 Old 11-22-2007, 07:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

That is precisely the reason for the frame drops. I'm confident a fix is on the way.

Thanks. Keep the pressure on them. Appreciate the help.

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #1983 of 12886 Old 11-22-2007, 07:50 AM
Member
 
Emissary52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Checking the ads on this Thanksgiving morning I've noticed that CC has the 1400 for 377.99 & 8 movies for those that need it. I didn't see it listed anywhere else in the other ads. I still can't decide between this model and the new Panny. These two models seem to be the hot items for Blu-Ray at this point. Has anyone read any announcements of new profile 1.1 models due to be released in early 08?
Emissary52 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1984 of 12886 Old 11-22-2007, 08:15 AM
Member
 
beauv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emissary52 View Post

Checking the ads on this Thanksgiving morning I've noticed that CC has the 1400 for 377.99 & 8 movies for those that need it. I didn't see it listed anywhere else in the other ads. I still can't decide between this model and the new Panny. These two models seem to be the hot items for Blu-Ray at this point. Has anyone read any announcements of new profile 1.1 models due to be released in early 08?

The Panny BD30 is profile 1.1, Sammy's 1400 is not (profile 1.0). I would definitely go with the Panny.
beauv is offline  
post #1985 of 12886 Old 11-22-2007, 08:16 AM
Immaculate Grand Phoobah
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,780
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emissary52 View Post

Checking the ads on this Thanksgiving morning I've noticed that CC has the 1400 for 377.99 & 8 movies for those that need it. I didn't see it listed anywhere else in the other ads. I still can't decide between this model and the new Panny. These two models seem to be the hot items for Blu-Ray at this point. Has anyone read any announcements of new profile 1.1 models due to be released in early 08?

Hello? Amazon = $340 delivered.

Are you talking' to me?
grubavs is offline  
post #1986 of 12886 Old 11-22-2007, 08:18 AM
Member
 
beauv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by grubavs View Post

Hello? Amazon = $340 delivered.

With 8 movies?
beauv is offline  
post #1987 of 12886 Old 11-22-2007, 10:06 AM
Newbie
 
surf2snow1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by beauv View Post

With 8 movies?

3 movies from samsung and 5 movies from bluray...same as anywhere else I would guess. The mail in forms say nothing about where you need to buy it from.
surf2snow1 is offline  
post #1988 of 12886 Old 11-22-2007, 10:19 AM
Member
 
Emissary52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by beauv View Post

With 8 movies?

The number of free movies can certainly be a deciding factor if the prices are fairly similar. As one who took advantage of Walmart's $98 A2 with 5 free movies (even if they don't show up until March from what I hear) I feel like I got the player for nothing.

My gripe about both formats is that when a new model is introduced, it's as though 99% of its advertized features work as promised, the 1% that is a critical feature to our AVS friends doesn't seem to work as expected. It reminds me of the old Hertz commercial with that phrase spoken by the service reps when you call them about the functionality of a feature of (name your model),and hear, "Well, not exactly". If these players were placed in an evolutionary epoch, I'd say that most BD players are stuck in the Jurassic period with the latest models and HD-DVD firmly entrenched in the Cretaceous. I just want a BD from the late Pleistocene!

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone! Let us try to enjoy what we do have and continue to hope for something better!
Emissary52 is offline  
post #1989 of 12886 Old 11-22-2007, 11:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
tai4de2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: (near) Seattle
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Humanoid1 View Post

If your setting the 1400 to 24fps expect issues like they have on the HD side.

Um... no. There are NO remaining issues with 24p from the xa2 and the a35 always did it right. This is not an HD DVD vs Blu-Ray thing, so let's not turn it into one... the issue is that the 1400 has more than its fair share of problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Humanoid1 View Post

Workaround is to turn 24 OFF!

Agreed, but it's only really a workaround if your display does the IVTC from 1080i and then treats the resulting 24p frame stream as if it had been receiving 1080p/24 from the player. There are *very* few displays that do this (Pioneer Kuro among them)... otherwise, there is no effective workaround that gives us the 24p we paid for from this unit.
tai4de2 is offline  
post #1990 of 12886 Old 11-22-2007, 11:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by surf2snow1 View Post

3 movies from samsung and 5 movies from bluray...same as anywhere else I would guess. The mail in forms say nothing about where you need to buy it from.

How are youse guys getting around the UPC thing. Both forms want the original UPC. Is there a workaround?

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #1991 of 12886 Old 11-22-2007, 11:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgribbles View Post

How are youse guys getting around the UPC thing. Both forms want the original UPC. Is there a workaround?

Samsung has been pretty cool about this, they said you can send the original UPC to the 5 free offer and send them (Samsung) a copy .

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #1992 of 12886 Old 11-22-2007, 11:48 AM
Senior Member
 
AZHTGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

Samsung has been pretty cool about this, they said you can send the original UPC to the 5 free offer and send them (Samsung) a copy .

Technically there are two UPC's on the box.
AZHTGeek is offline  
post #1993 of 12886 Old 11-22-2007, 11:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Humanoid1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tai4de2 View Post

Um... no. There are NO remaining issues with 24p from the xa2 and the a35 always did it right. This is not an HD DVD vs Blu-Ray thing, so let's not turn it into one... the issue is that the 1400 has more than its fair share of problems.



Agreed, but it's only really a workaround if your display does the IVTC from 1080i and then treats the resulting 24p frame stream as if it had been receiving 1080p/24 from the player. There are *very* few displays that do this (Pioneer Kuro among them)... otherwise, there is no effective workaround that gives us the 24p we paid for from this unit.

Though, I'm neutral my point is that it's not just the BR units having problems. I wasn't making it a HD vs. BR thing, like I said, "I'm neutral" and enjoy both.

Some people here act like the 1400 is the only unit to have issues. Apparently, this must be a lot of peeps first Hi-def player to not be aware of issues across the board. It can be a rude awakening for some.

The A35 has not been so wonderful out of the box. Here is the bug list from the first page of the owners list. Not sure what the FW updates have corrected, but have been told the issues with 1080p/24 on SD-DVD's is still prominent. So many FW updates how can anyone keep up regardless of what unit you use.

KNOWN ISSUES, BUGS AND SUCH
- Improper deinterlacing at 1080p60 for HD-DVD, and at 720p, 1080p60, 1080p24 for SDDVD upscaling. . . Solutions: hoping it's not a hardware issue and that a firmware update will fix it in the near future.
- SD-DVD menus will not hilight, move, adjust, or generally work when the player is set to 1080p24. They do work if the player is set to another resolution. The HD-XA2 has the same problem . . .. Solution: hopefully a firmware fix, but otherwise have to switch resolutions for menus and then switch back to 1080p24 or 480i to then avoid the other deinterlacing bug listed above.
- Some disc playback errors: any dirty or scratched discs, Transformers, Top Gun . . . Solutions: light soap and warm water, firmware updates.
- Stuttering frames and then the 408bc504 error. . . Solutions: clean the disc (see above), power cycle, firmware updates.
- Audio sync issue after pause to TACP . . . Solution: do a chapter skip and then jump back to re-sync, power cycle, maybe firmware.
- [To Be Confirmed] Selecting "bitstream" on the SPDIF digital audio setting seems to affect the sampling of the frequency of the digial audio signal sent over HDMI by locking it at 48kHz instead of 96kHz. This problem existed on the G2 players, but not sure how many HD-DVDs it really affects that have audio output at 24bit/96kHz. . . Solution: unclear, maybe firmware.
- Audio dropouts playing DD+ tracks bitstreamed to a HDMI version 1.3 receiver, but seems to work if PCM is selected, indicating a problem sending the bitstream over HDMI. . . Solution: unclear, maybe firmware


Valid point on the 24p.

Time to baste the Turkey

Cheers,

Ray
Humanoid1 is offline  
post #1994 of 12886 Old 11-22-2007, 07:17 PM
Newbie
 
vetman54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the 1400 will read +R, +RW, and +R DL DVD's?
vetman54 is offline  
post #1995 of 12886 Old 11-22-2007, 07:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZHTGeek View Post

Technically there are two UPC's on the box.

I wish I would've known that but I called Samsung

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #1996 of 12886 Old 11-23-2007, 02:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Gary Murrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 10,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
not good after looking at 1.2 for a few days

Robocop had one complete HDMI dropout around 20 mins in

Spidey 2.1 had 2 complete HDMI dropouts and 4 audio only dropouts in the first 20 mins, yes 6 total!!!

to make matters worse, my Speed disc that worked perfectly in my Sony S1 now says not playable on the 1400

total **** with 1.2, Sammy has one more chance on the next update or I am gone

-Gary
Gary Murrell is offline  
post #1997 of 12886 Old 11-23-2007, 04:01 AM
Blu-ray Reviewer
Moderator
 
Ralph Potts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Middletown NY
Posts: 13,763
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1609 Post(s)
Liked: 5551
Greetings,

Regarding the 24 fps playback stutter issue. It is definitely related to the unit now improperly outputting 1080p/24 rather than 1080p/23.97.

What I would like to know is WHY something like this would even have to have been changed when addressing disc specific compatibility issues for new FW.

As I have said before Samsung really needs much better QC on their FW releases so that addressing one problem does not create others which seems to be the norm with them.

I purposesly avoided the October FW release because of the reports that it had this problem with 24 fps playback. Unfortunately, without the 1.2 FW I would not be able to play The latest Diehard film. Sigh.......like others here I really like the player but this continuing nonsense is growing old.

Once I find a suitable replacement I will be done with Samsung DVD players.


Regards,

Ralph C. Potts
Blu-ray Reviewer
My Home Theater
Follow me on Twitter @RalphAVSreviews
Ralph Potts is online now  
post #1998 of 12886 Old 11-23-2007, 04:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A couple of days into the new 1400 with the firmware upgrade, I haven't seen any audio or video drops except the 24fps stutter on occasion. Are they movie specific? How long does it last?

Spiderman III had a real long load time, enough that I had to stop it and try again a few times. The player display seemed to lock on 1:00:00 and do nothing??

Not trying to incite a flame war but I've watched the Spiderman trilogy, Bad Santa (shame on me but I like the flick), Santa Clause III and a couple of others and I haven't seen the level of HD like Hot Fuzz on my XA2. I'm pretty sure its mastering/transfer/source because the preview blitz on some of the disks is really sharp. Is there a consensus on a reference BD disk? Spidey III is top tier per the BD software thread and it was pretty good but not super IMO.

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #1999 of 12886 Old 11-23-2007, 08:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 1,215
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgribbles View Post

Is there a consensus on a reference BD disk? Spidey III is top tier per the BD software thread and it was pretty good but not super IMO.

I think you will probably find a deeper discussion in the Blu Ray software section, but my personal favorites on BR for video quality (in no particular order) are: any Pixar film, the Pirates of the Caribbean series, and Casino Royale.

YMMV

PS Good call with Hot Fuzz the XA2.

__________
Visio P65-C1 / Oppo UDP-203 / Apple TV 4K / TiVo Bolt
Yamaha RX-A2060 5.1.4 / KEF iQ / Speakercraft (Ceiling) / Hsu sub / Ruipro 15 Meter Fiber HDMI
bluechunks is offline  
post #2000 of 12886 Old 11-23-2007, 09:12 AM
Member
 
ZenFly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my 1400 a few days ago from Costco. I have not updated the fw. The first disc I played was disc one of CSI season 4. This was a brand new disc. The player went blue 2 times in the first 10 minutes. Then played ok.

Picked up Fifth element, Ratatouee(sp) and IceAge2. All but Rat load and played fine. Rat played fine but took forever to load.

All drops I've experienced have been with SD discs.
Bitstream Full HD audio works fine (lights up on my denon 3808ci)

Then I noticed that if I reset the player to 1080p I had almost no blue screens.

Jury is still out...for me anyway.

------------
5271 2002/Oct07 rocks for me.
ZenFly is offline  
post #2001 of 12886 Old 11-23-2007, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Humanoid1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZenFly View Post

I got my 1400 a few days ago from Costco. I have not updated the fw. The first disc I played was disc one of CSI season 4. This was a brand new disc. The player went blue 2 times in the first 10 minutes. Then played ok.

Picked up Fifth element, Ratatouee(sp) and IceAge2. All but Rat load and played fine. Rat played fine but took forever to load.

All drops I've experienced have been with SD discs.
Bitstream Full HD audio works fine (lights up on my denon 3808ci)

Then I noticed that if I reset the player to 1080p I had almost no blue screens.

Jury is still out...for me anyway.

Do you have the link to the 1400 at costco?
Humanoid1 is offline  
post #2002 of 12886 Old 11-23-2007, 09:26 AM
Senior Member
 
RegGuheert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOCCERrebel5 View Post

How long does this player take to load Java discs? I've heard "60 +" seconds for POTC, but can someone be more precise? How long do Spiderman 3 and Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer take to load?

Also, how long does it take to load a non-Java disc on average?

Additionally, how much faster is the new Panasonic player at loading?

Thanks!

I finally got my POTC and other disks back from a relative and have timed some things on this player.

Firmware version: 070913.02_XAA (The firmware that came with my player.)

Off to tray open: 21 sec

All disk times are from the time I pressed the 'Open/Close' button on the remote until the first content appears, such as logos, trailers or FBI warnings.

Non-Java Disks:

Invincible: 29 sec
Eight Below: 27 sec
Phantom of the Opera: 27 sec
Planet Earth Disk One: 28 sec
Stealth: 27 sec
Guardian: 37 sec (I tested it twice. This disk lets you select Java features (or not) after it starts.)
Hart's War: 26 sec
March of the Penguins: 27 sec
Chronos: 27 sec

Java Disks:

POTC 1: TCOTBP: 60 sec to spinning coin+56 sec=116 sec
POTC 2: DMC: 49 sec to spinning key+45 sec=94 sec

For reference, here is part of a post from the Panasonic DMP-BD30 thread showing some times for specific actions and disks:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad Ley View Post

Speed:
Grab hold of something!! From off to on with tray open is 22 seconds. As I earlier indicated, loading Java titles on any of the other standalones was an exercise in patience. It would generally take between two to two and a half minutes to go from 0 to 60. Well here are the load times I tested yesterday (all times were clocked from the disc tray open to the appearance of the first play screen (logos, FBI warnings).
First, a non-Java disc:
X-Men 3 - 21 seconds

Java discs:
Pirates 1 - 48 seconds
Pirates 2 - 45 seconds
The Fly - 49 seconds
Spiderman 3 - 48 seconds
Fantastic Four:SS - 60 seconds
Surf's Up - 60 seconds
Day After Tomorrow - 61 seconds

Finally, here is one data point from my Toshiba HD-A2 HD DVD player:

Batman Begins: 28 sec

The bottom line is that this player turns on as fast as the Panasonic DMP-BD30. Loads of non-Java disks are slightly slower than the Panasonic (27 sec versus 21 sec) and the same as my HD-DVD player. The real difference is seen in loading Java disks, where the Samsung took 2.4 times as long to load POTC 1.

For the record, I have seen *no* problems with stuttering on 1080p/24 with this version of firmware. (My player is hooked directly to the TV.) Looks great!

Thoughts?

Reg
RegGuheert is offline  
post #2003 of 12886 Old 11-23-2007, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
RegGuheert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZenFly View Post

I got my 1400 a few days ago from Costco. I have not updated the fw.

Would you mind posting which version of firmware your player reports? I'm trying to compile a list, but it's hard to get version numbers from new players since many here have updated their firmware before posting.

TIA!

Reg
RegGuheert is offline  
post #2004 of 12886 Old 11-23-2007, 11:38 AM
Newbie
 
delto95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The day after tomorrow , is simply not playable on my 1400 with 1.2 formware. Anyone else has problems with this movie?
delto95 is offline  
post #2005 of 12886 Old 11-23-2007, 12:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Humanoid1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by delto95 View Post

The day after tomorrow , is simply not playable on my 1400 with 1.2 formware. Anyone else has problems with this movie?

It works perfectly on my setup. I have FW 1.2 bitstreaming to my SR7002 out to my XBR2. All HDMI.
Humanoid1 is offline  
post #2006 of 12886 Old 11-23-2007, 12:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
tai4de2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: (near) Seattle
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Last night I watched Die Hard (the first one) and Wild Things on my 1400 with f/w 1.2. 1080i and bitstream audio out.

On both movies I noticed jitter in the form of rapid shaking from side to side by just a couple of pixels. In Die Hard it was not a big deal but in Wild Things it was frequent and distracting. It's present in 1080i or 1080p (60, since 24p is broken). I do not see any jitter when playing xbox360 or HD-A35 in 1080 modes. Is Wild Things known to have a jitter problem?

Also, Die Hard has some pretty serious lip sync issues on my setup.

I'm trying to decide whether this is
(a) the discs: certainly possible
(b) the 1400: also possible
(c) the receiver: unlikely, since other HD sources play fine at similar resolutions
(d) the display; also unlikely for similar reasons as (c)

Any insights? Has anyone played Die Hard or Wild Things recently with f/w 1.2 in 1080i or 1080p?
tai4de2 is offline  
post #2007 of 12886 Old 11-23-2007, 03:25 PM
Member
 
DetroitCrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vetman54 View Post

Does anyone know if the 1400 will read +R, +RW, and +R DL DVD's?

CD-R
CD+R
DVD-R
DVD+R
DVD+R DL
All have worked for me.

DVD+RW = unknown as I do not use these.

Due to inflation your 2 cents no longer matters!

BluRay - 18
Latest - Planet Earth
HDDVD - 6
Latest - The Breakfast Club
DetroitCrow is offline  
post #2008 of 12886 Old 11-23-2007, 05:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Kishiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by placidman View Post

Greetings,

Regarding the 24 fps playback stutter issue. It is definitely related to the unit now improperly outputting 1080p/24 rather than 1080p/23.97.

What I would like to know is WHY something like this would even have to have been changed when addressing disc specific compatibility issues for new FW.

It seems we won't be safe even when Samsung fixes their 24p output...

See the thread i posted over at the sofware forum in regard to wrongly encoded discs.
https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=943805
Kishiro is offline  
post #2009 of 12886 Old 11-23-2007, 07:48 PM
Senior Member
 
JCR1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Boca Raton,Florida
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well sad to say this but I returned my Samsung BDP1400 today to CC for a full refund and there were a couple of others there returning theirs too.I was having disc playing problems on all of them even after the F/W update and didn't want to deal with the issues anymore.

I was going to exchange it for the Panny DMB-BD30K but they were all out of stock and so was BB which both had them listed at the stores I went to.Figures Black Friday.LOL

Jim
JCR1960 is offline  
post #2010 of 12886 Old 11-23-2007, 08:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 903 Post(s)
Liked: 637
So those with BDP1400 issues are they with SD disks or BD or both? I am contemplating the Sammy unit over the Sony S300 becasue of the support for TrueHD via HDMI, but if the unit is going to give me greif on BD disks it is not worth it. I will be HDMI to a Denon 43008CI. I can play SD on my HD-DVD or my soon to be acquired Denon 2930CI.

I'm nervouse abotu the Sammy due to all the complaints in this thread, seems far more than the S300 thread.

LG 65C7P (Also XBR65X900E and XBR55X900E)
Denon x7200WA
Oppo BD-203
Klipsch RP-280F / RC-62ii / RP-140SA / RS-35 / RS-25
Dual PSA V1800s
kluken is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off