"Con Air" Freezes On Samsung 1400 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 10-24-2007, 08:42 PM - Thread Starter
 
TheHDMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This movie starts to play, but then locks up in certain places on the disc...Can anything be done?...I guess I need to return this piece of crap... Pioneer Elite 95 here I come!...
TheHDMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-25-2007, 08:42 AM
 
Robert George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Trapped in time. Surrounded by evil. Low on gas.
Posts: 3,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


This movie starts to play, but then locks up in certain places on the disc...

Does it lock up when there are subtitles of some kind (place names, things like that) on the screen?

I ask because Disney has used the multi-angle feature of DVD in the past for doing different languages. Basically, if you select a French (or whatever) soundtrack, the titles and any forced subtitles like place names will use the angle feature to change to the selected audio language. I know the 1400 has a problem with some type of seamless branching because Spiderman 2 locks up the player at any branching point. I'm wondering if Disney is doing something similar on the Blu-ray Con Air.
Robert George is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-25-2007, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter
 
TheHDMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No it just locks up at random spots during the flick...Frustrating!...I have taken the 1400 back and swaped it out for another...We'll see what happens....
TheHDMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 10-25-2007, 07:00 PM - Thread Starter
 
TheHDMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok...update. The new 1400 seems to play Con Air without issues, but there are other problems with this new unit. For example, when I go to the Main menu and start clicking on tabs, I can only go so far and then the unit shuts down!...Like if I want to change the resolution, I can only see the menu, and then I can click on audio, but when I select something in audio like 1080P well the instant I click on 1080P the unit shuts down! Another thing...If I try to skip chapters it shuts down!..Weird.... Needlees to say, this units going back tomorrow. Frustrating. Hope my Pioneer gets here soon!
TheHDMan is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-27-2007, 10:30 AM
Member
 
Larone Stevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have posted this in several other threads containing the BD-P1400.

For those of you experiencing trouble with the Samsung BD-P1400 in the form of audio dropouts or picture freezing please send me a private message with the details, including the type of AVR that you are currently using. I would like to have this information well documented for my conversation with Samsung. Thanks.

Larone Stevens

Bringing People & Technology Together
Larone Stevens is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off