AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews (https://www.avsforum.com/forum/)
-   General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms (https://www.avsforum.com/forum/15-general-home-theater-media-game-rooms/)
-   -   Spartan Sports Den (https://www.avsforum.com/forum/15-general-home-theater-media-game-rooms/1978961-spartan-sports-den.html)

BasementHT5 04-22-2015 08:07 PM

Spartan Sports Den

2 Attachment(s)
I've been following numerous threads and participating on the site for a couple of years while doing the renovation on my basement, but haven't started my own thread. So, here's nothing.

All of this work is DIY. I'm an attorney, so I haven't had any formal training. It's all from watching TV, research, and past renovations in my old houses and my current house. I didn't take great before pictures, so some of this will come peace-mail.

Unlike a lot of other builds, I actually had a "workable" semi-finished basement. What makes it worse is that we were already using the space for storage, parties, and working out. So, I couldn't afford to move everything out and start from scratch. My thread will summarize how I went from a 70's poorly finished basement to the Spartan Sports Den and entertainment space.

Here's an idea of where I started:

BasementHT5 04-22-2015 08:11 PM

2 Attachment(s)
The walls were done in the 70's in a faux tudor style thin panel wallboard. It was only about 1/4" thick. There was no insulation in the walls and after moving in I had some water issues that were since rectified. So, the walls were really cold in the winter/spring/fall (most of the year) and bowed here and there due to moisture in the past.

The house had a full kitchen in the basement when we bought it. However, we soon discovered that mice had previously occupied it and the rod-holes on the exterior wall were not filled in a couple of spots in that area. To say the least, that had to be demoed.

BasementHT5 04-22-2015 08:15 PM

3 Attachment(s)