Forum Jump: 
 19Likes

post #1 of 58 Old 06-15-2017, 07:41 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Lee's Basement Home Theater

I'm getting closer to the finish line and so decided to start a build thread in case I ever host a GTG. Started planning the basement finishing back when we moved in Sep 2014. Attached are the original plans for the whole basement. They have stayed generally the same throughout construction with minor tweaks to the larger hall area to accommodate a small bar area. I wanted to have a much larger theater area but also had a need to have an office and bedroom. I'm a software developer and currently my office is in our dining room. Getting anything done with two small children running around is a challenge.

I'll list out the equipment details up here so you no one has to scroll through construction related material to get to the fun part.

Video Equipment
Projector - Sony VPLHW40ES
Screen - Silver Ticket 120 inch AT

Meida/Gaming
Samsung K8500 UHD player
PS4
Chromecast

Audio Equipment
AVR - Denon x4200w
Sub Amp - iNuke 6000dsp
Atmos Amp - Audiosource 100vs
Speakers - all DIYSG - HTM-10 (LCR) , Volt 6 Angled x4 (surrounds) , Volt 6 atmos x 2 (height)
Subwoofers - 2 Dayton Reference 18's in 2 Stonehenge cabinets from DIYSG

Furniture
L Sectional with power recline from Nebraska Furniture Mart

MISC
Harmony Hub w/ Remote
GE Z Wave Dimmers
Samsung Smartthings Hub

I decided to take this project on myself. I had never done any kind of construction or really much of anything aside from minor home repairs. Construction started in March of 2016. I did hire out all the sheetrock work. My stairs coming down are tight so I didn't even want to bother hauling it down.