• 1 Post By noob00224
  • 1 Post By noob00224

post #1 of 30 Old 05-29-2019, 12:24 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Projector vs TV

Hi all, I'm new to thinking about home theater configurations, but now that I'll be moving to a new home, I'd like to get feedback from experienced folks. In the past, I'd simply purchase components if they were generally well regarded and there was a huge discount (SlickDeals). I'd still like to maximize my bang for the buck, but don't quite have a set budget in mind, but probably not more than about $2k at least initially.

Here's the daylight basement of the new house (I haven't moved in yet):

After seeing a 120" motorized projector screen on clearance at Fry's for $70, it occurred to me that the space has a huge wall and lots of seating potential so that a projector might make more sense than say an 85" LCD TV. The wife wouldn't like any part of the room painted black, so I'm not even going to ask about that, but I could probably put blackout shades over the sliding glass. Acoustic treatments are going to be a hard sell as well, though I'll try.

Anyhow, I primarily intend to watch movies and TV shows including Netflix content. Perhaps sometime in the future I would game, but don't have current plans. Given that I can't paint the room black and might game, would it be reasonable to go with an 85" TV, or does that space really beg to have a projector?

I've also got a pair of Polk Audio Monitor 70 speakers and CS2 center

I don't know how I'll wire surrounds... perhaps the ceiling fan can facilitate wiring in a projector?

Last edited by redpoint5; 06-11-2019 at 12:23 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 Old 05-29-2019, 09:18 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I don't think there are any 85 inch tv's on the market now for $2k or less. You can get an Epson 5040 right now for $1500ish and with the screen you'll be under your initial budget.