Planning an open theater in basement - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 12-07-2019, 11:04 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Planning an open theater in basement

I am planning to build my basement with HT and do a total in wall and in ceiling setup for speakers. Preferably 7.2.2 and expand it to 7.2.4. I am new to this world and trying to do best I can with my limited knowledge. Please ignore the rookie mistakes.

Total basement size is close to 1500 sq ft. Home theater area is around 18 * 23ft( Planning to put a full bath and bar at the behind). Height of the ceiling is 8ft to 9ft depending upon the ducts.

Planning to insulate the ceiling and walls on side and back( around HT area) with Rocksul. One side is open and trying to figure out a way to cover it with acoustic curtains or keep it open.

So far got the demo of Paradigm CI PRO 3 (7.1.4)with Anthem AVR and SVS 16 ultra sealed woofer. and Focal IW1003BE series(5.1.2 and way out of my budget) with Macintosh avr and SVS SB 16 Ultra. I didn't like the sound of Focal was very bright for my taste. I like CI PRO which was very close to warm and neutral. Dialogue clarity was much better with Paradigm.

Please help me with my questions below.

- My total budget for HT Speakers is close to 6k to 7k including 2 woofer. If you guys can suggest in wall setup and speakers in this range for my open HT. I am trying to get demo of as many speakers as I can but most of the dealers they do not have in walls for Demo. May be some of you can share your personal experience. I have narrowed down my list to following speakers

-- Focal 300 IW( Not sure after getting demo of IW 1003Be)
-- Paradigm CI Pro 3( I like the setup but hardly any reviews online or on forum)
-- Goldean Ear Invisa SPS(many good reviews- none from the users)