Wall mounting TV to concrete wall? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By rabbit73
  • 1 Post By Ryan Statz

post #1 of 11 Old 01-02-2020, 10:01 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 625 Post(s)
Liked: 363
Wall mounting TV to concrete wall?

First, I hope this is the right forum (I did search, but couldn't find one that was specific to set up like in the audio section) - mods, please move to the appropriate section if this is not in the right place (and my apologies if it isn't).

There's the slight possibility that I will be moving my entire Home Audio set up into a different room. Right now, I have my TV (Sony XBR55X900E) wall mounted, and I would like to do that again, but the issue I'm facing is that the only viable wall in the other space is drywall with concrete behind. I'm a novice when it comes to this kind of stuff, so I'm looking for the easiest, cleanest, most neighbour-friendly way (I live in an apartment-turned-condo building from the 70's) to wall mount the TV onto this wall. The other possible SNAFU is its a shared wall with the unit next to us, hence why I would like it to be neighbour-friendly. I get that I can use self-tapping concrete screws, but if there's a way to be able to do it without using a hammer drill (or drilling any holes), I'm all ears.

Option B, I suppose, would be to get a new TV unit that has some kind of float mount, but I sort of prefer the cleaner look of mounting directly onto the wall. It's not out of the question if mounting to concrete is too much of a pain in the butt.

Thanks in advance for all of your tips/advice.

Home Theatre: Onkyo TX-NR747 | Polk Audio RTi A3 Front L/R | Polk Audio CSi A6 Centre | Polk Audio RTi A1 Surround L/R | HSU ULS-15 MK2 Subwoofer | Sony XBR55X900E | PlayStation 4 Pro | Xbox One S

Music: Cambridge Audio AXR100 | Stanton T.62 | Cambridge Audio AXC35 | KEF Q150 L/R | Elac S10EQ Subwoofer