Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 02-25-2020, 10:54 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
New Theater Room Design

Hi everyone,

I have a room in my basement that I'd like to convert into my theater room. I already have a projector and 5.1 surround system that I've been using in a different space for a couple years now, so for now I'm just looking to create a more dedicated space. I've already torn up the old carpet and plan to begin insulation this week. I'm interested in how others might approach a room like this to have a decent space.

The room is 23' long, 13' wide, and 94" tall from slab to floor joist. Once insulated and framed, the room width will be closer to 12.5', and with the closet it makes the room basically 21 feet long. Should I use the closet as my media closet, or rip it out to gain the 2 extra feet of floor space? If I demo the closet I could create a cut out in the framed wall currently there and have the equipment sitting in the storage room on the other side, but I'm not sure that it's necessary.

Seating: Most of the time I'm using this by myself, but have a wife and 3 year old who occasionally join me. Plenty of space for a couch to seat 3, but what about 4-5? I feel like if I was to consider a 2nd row riser, I'd definitely need to demo the closet. I'm just not sure if it's worth the added time and expense for the few occasions I'd ever have more than 3-4 people.

Any ideas or input are greatly appreciated. I don't need to create anything too fancy, just a nice space that allows for a good picture and sound experience. I'm planning to move forward with perimeter wall framing in the next couple weeks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200223_122326.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	547.7 KB
ID:	2690048   Click image for larger version

Name:	20200223_122342.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	688.7 KB
ID:	2690050  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 02-25-2020, 02:16 PM