Is it true some Blu-Ray Movies won't play unless your Online? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 Old 05-25-2009, 03:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gmp1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Someone told me the new Terminator Sky-Net Edition won't Play unless your Online.
gmp1978 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 Old 05-25-2009, 03:52 PM
Senior Member
 
vamovie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i don't think so
somebody mislead the term sky-net
vamovie is offline  
post #3 of 34 Old 05-25-2009, 03:58 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Davinleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You may have to cancel the BD Live download and sometimes it may be tricky.

"The purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis." Spock, Mark of Gideon, TOS
Davinleeds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 34 Old 05-25-2009, 06:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Capo Beach
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Terminator Sky-Net Edition would not play correctly for me==Sony BDP-S350
starts with Announcement Screen== U have profile 1.1----and u need profile 2.0
After hitting buttons for 5mins i finally get a menu----but the next selections FREEZE
returned it UnWatched-> BlockBuster == Not worth the Aggravation
Mouw is offline  
post #5 of 34 Old 05-25-2009, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
16x9enhanced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
still trying to figure out the headline since you're talking about a specific movie--
i.e. T2
16x9enhanced is offline  
post #6 of 34 Old 05-25-2009, 09:46 PM
Member
 
Darcy Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had this happen to me when I rented Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa (and one other film I can't remember right now). My PS3 would just give a read error message until I connected it to my router. Very annoying.
Darcy Hunter is offline  
post #7 of 34 Old 05-25-2009, 10:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
teckademic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: san jose, ca
Posts: 2,060
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darcy Hunter View Post

I had this happen to me when I rented Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa (and one other film I can't remember right now). My PS3 would just give a read error message until I connected it to my router. Very annoying.

that's odd, played fine on mine and I don't have mine online.
teckademic is offline  
post #8 of 34 Old 05-25-2009, 10:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
sperron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darcy Hunter View Post

I had this happen to me when I rented Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa (and one other film I can't remember right now). My PS3 would just give a read error message until I connected it to my router. Very annoying.

The situation you are describing could be a software problem. If the software thought there was an internet connection it would attempt to use it and fail if there was a problem. The PS3 has an option to prevent BDs from accessing internet features. The annoying part about selecting this option is that it prompts you every single time you start a movie asking you if you want to enable internet connectivity.
sperron is offline  
post #9 of 34 Old 05-26-2009, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gmp1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Crap like this is what makes me wanna stick with DVD still.
gmp1978 is offline  
post #10 of 34 Old 05-26-2009, 05:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
raoul_duke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Ah yes, 'cause DVD was so free from teething problems, wasn't it?
raoul_duke is offline  
post #11 of 34 Old 05-26-2009, 05:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
John Ballentine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 5,169
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mouw View Post

Terminator Sky-Net Edition would not play correctly for me==Sony BDP-S350
starts with Announcement Screen== U have profile 1.1----and u need profile 2.0
After hitting buttons for 5mins i finally get a menu----but the next selections FREEZE
returned it UnWatched-> BlockBuster == Not worth the Aggravation

Same for me and my Sony BDP-350. This is the first disc (out of hundreds) that wouldn't load properly. I did manage to finally get it to play after about 10 minutes.
John Ballentine is offline  
post #12 of 34 Old 05-26-2009, 05:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmp1978 View Post

Crap like this is what makes me wanna stick with DVD still.

You do that. It's even sweeter if you do it for a reason that doesn't exist

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #13 of 34 Old 05-26-2009, 08:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've never heard something like this before.Are you sure this disc exists?
butsu is offline  
post #14 of 34 Old 05-26-2009, 08:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HDMe2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kittrell, NC
Posts: 6,480
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 818 Post(s)
Liked: 635
The first disc of my South Park Blu ray season took forever to play the first time... I figured it was trying to do some BD-Live somethingorother and just had to error out before it could start playing.

Some movies warn you that it might be a while before things start... others just put up a black screen.
HDMe2 is offline  
post #15 of 34 Old 05-26-2009, 09:44 PM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,843
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3036
Starship Troopers won't play on Panny players without an SD card.
oink is offline  
post #16 of 34 Old 05-27-2009, 06:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post

Starship Troopers won't play on Panny players without an SD card.

I have the BD30 with no SD card and Starship Troopers plays fine for me!
Otter0911 is offline  
post #17 of 34 Old 05-27-2009, 06:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Raptorsys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by raoul_duke View Post

Ah yes, 'cause DVD was so free from teething problems, wasn't it?


If you ask me this isn't a 'teething' issue it's more of a Big Brother thing going on. No, I don't mean 'control the masses big government' I mean that they want to know what you're doing and when you're doing it. Every piece of software you buy now adays expects to be able to upload to there servers and there is little oversight as to what they upload without your consent. I don't think you need to be wearing a tinfoil hat to be p*ssed at the way business thinks they own us.


Brian
Raptorsys is offline  
post #18 of 34 Old 05-27-2009, 10:00 PM
357
Advanced Member
 
357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDMe2 View Post

The first disc of my South Park Blu ray season took forever to play the first time... I figured it was trying to do some BD-Live somethingorother and just had to error out before it could start playing.

Some movies warn you that it might be a while before things start... others just put up a black screen.

I had no problems with South Park on a PS3.
357 is offline  
post #19 of 34 Old 05-28-2009, 02:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Majestyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ah yes, 'cause DVD was so free from teething problems, wasn't it

Quote:


Um, yes. I never had a problem with DVD's from the month they came out to the day I went to Blu Ray.

Majestyk is offline  
post #20 of 34 Old 05-28-2009, 02:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Majestyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Ah yes, 'cause DVD was so free from teething problems, wasn't it

Um, yes. I never had a problem with DVD's from the month they came out to the day I went to Blu Ray.
Majestyk is offline  
post #21 of 34 Old 05-28-2009, 04:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
raoul_duke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Me neither. But then I never bought a cheap supermarket DVD player and The Matrix...
raoul_duke is offline  
post #22 of 34 Old 05-29-2009, 09:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HarrisonS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 32
You should be able to play the movie itself, but the BD-Live features won't work. If disc doesn't play at all, you may need to update your player's firmware, but that has nothing to do with BD-Live, etc.
HarrisonS is offline  
post #23 of 34 Old 05-29-2009, 10:07 AM
 
Steeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vegas
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Majestyk View Post

Um, yes. I never had a problem with DVD's from the month they came out to the day I went to Blu Ray.

Just because you never experienced a problem doesn't mean that problems didn't exist. Of course, the problems that popped up back then often had a pita solution (taking the player across town to have new chip installed) or had no solution at all (other than buying a new player or not watching the disc.)

A couple of boring anecdotes:

1. My first DVD player (an RCA that sold for ~$300) had troubles playing the second layer of Criterion discs. A fix was never offered.
2. My buddy's first DVD player (a Toshiba that sold for ~$300) had issues playing the first release of the Matrix (the movie that convinced him to buy into DVD in the first place.) He had to haul the player across town, leave it at a shop for a few days while they replaced a chip, and then go back across town to pick it up.

In both cases, we would have loved to have been able to fix the player with a simple firmware upgrade. Even with download and burning speeds much slower than they are today, it would have been a much better (and much more convenient) solution than what we had to go through back then.
Steeb is offline  
post #24 of 34 Old 05-29-2009, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Vader424242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,001
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarrisonS View Post

You should be able to play the movie itself, but the BD-Live features won't work. If disc doesn't play at all, you may need to update your player's firmware, but that has nothing to do with BD-Live, etc.

We're not talking about BDLive stuff here (like downloadable trailers, screening community chats, etc). From what I understand, even the material already on the disc like commentaries, documentaries, and featurettes will not play unless you are online. Plain and simple, this is a grab for Lionsgate to harvest marketing information based on what features we watch. I'm sorry, but when I lay down my credit card, I own the disc free and clear (and it's contents) to do with as I please (when I want, where I want, how often I want, and without some marketing group watching how they can sell me stuff). My copy is going back to Amazon unopened as defective.

Peace... Vader
 

"Ya see, we plan ahead. That way we don't do anything right now. Earl explained it to me." - Valentine McKee

 

One sub to rumble them all. One sub to shake them. One sub to humble them all. And in the darkness break them....

Vader424242 is offline  
post #25 of 34 Old 05-29-2009, 11:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Morpheo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montreal by day, Paris by night...
Posts: 7,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1315 Post(s)
Liked: 1135
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post

Starship Troopers won't play on Panny players without an SD card.

profile 2.0 Panny players?
...on a BD30 I thought it would be a non-issue.
Just curious...

__________
Nicolas.

"Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent."- Victor Hugo.
Morpheo is offline  
post #26 of 34 Old 05-29-2009, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
ogbuehi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
ust reading post #23 It doesn't look like you had a problem with DVDs. You had a problem with 1st gen DVD players. I've never had a problem playing DVDs when I bought them. I love being able to watch BR movies in 1080p but it's somewhat disappointing that after opening my first 5 brand new BRs, 2 of them already have issues with audio and video glitches. No scratches and fresh out of the plastic wrapper and into a brand new laptop BR player. Here's to hoping the other 30 or so that I haven't opened yet have a better track record. I don't want this to turn into a BR bashing thread but I do understand where Majestyk is coming from.
ogbuehi is offline  
post #27 of 34 Old 05-29-2009, 12:49 PM
 
Steeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vegas
Posts: 2,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogbuehi View Post

ust reading post #23 It doesn't look like you had a problem with DVDs. You had a problem with 1st gen DVD players.

Neither player was a 1st gen player.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogbuehi View Post

I've never had a problem playing DVDs when I bought them.

Good for you, but that in no way negates the fact that there were compatibility problems with certain players/discs for years after the format launched.

There used to be (and may still be) sites that kept (keep) a list of problem player-disc combinations and there were quite a few issues - much more than the two that I posted above (which were just personal anecdotes.)

Again, just because you never experienced a problem doesn't mean that problems didn't exist.
Steeb is offline  
post #28 of 34 Old 05-29-2009, 01:05 PM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,843
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post

I have the BD30 with no SD card and Starship Troopers plays fine for me!

My bad...I should have said the BD35/55.
oink is offline  
post #29 of 34 Old 05-29-2009, 04:59 PM
Member
 
jazzmaster221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i think it was starship trooper that would not play on my bd 350 until i put the usb flash drive in.strange as it may seem
jazzmaster221 is offline  
post #30 of 34 Old 05-29-2009, 05:08 PM
Blues In Thirds
 
javry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 2,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a Samsung BDP-1500 that's not hooked up to the net most of the time. Haven't had any problems playing BD movies so far. It'd b interesting to try the Skynet Edition on it just to see what happens.
javry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Software

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off