OFFICIAL Toshiba firmware update thread: 2.0 and or CD is here! - Page 27 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 34Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #781 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 03:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
jorgerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Kotches View Post

This is why I had Cat5 strung to the room, and put in an 8-port 10/100/1000 switch. That connects in to the rest of the backbone at G-bit.

Wireless is a little light if you're going to be sending around HD in real time.

Cheers,

NICE!!!!

Jorge

Audio Enthusiast, HD Videophile.
jorgerod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #782 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 04:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Larry Sutliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 1,104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dylanneild View Post

DD+ isn't bad.... but losing audio sync and having skipping problems on brand new discs definitely IS.

THAT's what I'm hoping they fix in 2.0.


Yeah, I hear ya. I'm personally hoping for a fix on the DVI colorspace issue with 2.0.
Larry Sutliff is offline  
post #783 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 04:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Larry Sutliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 1,104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macroblocker View Post

oh DD+ is outstanding! but just knowing there is better audio hiding in the software that I cant get to is driving me crazy!


All in good time...
Larry Sutliff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #784 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 04:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
uzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 17
There are HDMI->DVI black level issues with version 1.4 firmware, but the HDMI->DVI colorspace issue was fixed with 1.4. A lot of people who have displays that require different calibration levels for their DVI vs their component inputs are attributing the colorspace bug as their problem, when in fact it isn't.
uzun is offline  
post #785 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 05:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by uzun View Post

There are HDMI->DVI black level issues with version 1.4 firmware, but the HDMI->DVI colorspace issue was fixed with 1.4. A lot of people who have displays that require different calibration levels for their DVI vs their component inputs are attributing the colorspace bug as their problem, when in fact it isn't.

I had read the color calibration when outputing to DVI was currently set for PC RGB. Are you saying that is not the case?

-- Trevor
TrevorS is offline  
post #786 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 05:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
uzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 17
It always outputs RGB colorspace when going to DVI, but that's not an error. It used to map the colorspace from YCbCr to RGB incorrectly, and that caused problems. Now it does the YCbCr to RGB conversion correctly, as of 1.4 anyway. It always sets the BLACK levels to PC when it detects DVI, I think perhaps thats what you are referring to.
uzun is offline  
post #787 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 05:51 PM
Member
 
ascully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is there really a update going on today or is this all based on speculation? I phoned Tosh today and they said that as far as they know there will not be a update until the end of September and they had no details on what it will include.

I still have my CAT5 plugged in though as you never know
ascully is offline  
post #788 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 05:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ryoohki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Repentigny, Québec, Canada
Posts: 3,418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ascully View Post

is there really a update going on today or is this all based on speculation? I phoned Tosh today and they said that as far as they know there will not be a update until the end of September and they had no details on what it will include.

I still have my CAT5 plugged in though as you never know

Depand, last time Toshiba took 5 days to actually annonced that the 1.4 update was online and it was since 5 days before it LOL!

89+ Blu-ray Disc ;)
ryoohki is offline  
post #789 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 06:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ResOGlas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryoohki View Post

last time Toshiba took 5 days to actually annonced that the 1.4 update was online and it was since 5 days before it LOL!


Hopefully that's a sign of hope that it could be here anytime very soon...
ResOGlas is offline  
post #790 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 06:37 PM
 
quickfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NorthEast Tennessee
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a feeling its not going to happen tonight ..........Correct me if im wrong but the 1.2 & 1.4 FW updates were availible for online downloading on 2 different Fridays!!!!!
quickfire is offline  
post #791 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 06:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpalmieri1203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pleasant Valley, NY
Posts: 2,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Man everyone just needs to relax. It'll be out! If not tonight then tomorrow. Find something constructive to do with your time until then....like read a book, cook a meal, or tend to the garden.

mpalmieri1203 is offline  
post #792 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 06:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobgpsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 2,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by quickfire View Post

I have a feeling its not going to happen tonight ..........Correct me if im wrong but the 1.2 & 1.4 FW updates were availible for online downloading on 2 different Fridays!!!!!

hmmm, using the WayBack machine in this thread I see that it was like 2:40am on a Friday morning for 1.4 first avail for broadband update. Sigh!

Bob
bobgpsr is offline  
post #793 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 06:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 10,242
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 792 Post(s)
Liked: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSmith83 View Post

Well, it will end world hunger.

no it won't, don't be ridiculous, it will start world peace.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo
ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED & WifiHifi Magazines
my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre
David Susilo is offline  
post #794 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 07:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rob316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

no it won't, don't be ridiculous, it will start world peace.


Check this thread out can be happening tonight.

https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=714220

Rob
rob316 is offline  
post #795 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 07:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Damnationdoormat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are we there yet? Are we there yet? Are we there yet? Are we there yet?
Damnationdoormat is offline  
post #796 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 07:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Macroblocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,051
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damnationdoormat View Post

Are we there yet? Are we there yet? Are we there yet? Are we there yet?


ugh! i cant believe i have found myself once again sucked into waiting for this update! but i just cant help myself!
Macroblocker is offline  
post #797 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 07:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
uzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Man is that server going to get SLAMMED when it releases.
uzun is offline  
post #798 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Davin_Felth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by uzun View Post

Man is that server going to get SLAMMED when it releases.

Not really, remember that less than 5000 player have been sold.

When the patch goes up, I think what I'll do is wait till I'm about to go to bed before starting it. hehe
Davin_Felth is offline  
post #799 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 07:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
overcast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your connection is being throttled by Toshiba regardless of the load. Why do you think everyones update process is identical in time, unaffected by your ISP's bandwidth.
overcast is offline  
post #800 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 08:36 PM
Senior Member
 
mcrexx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpalmieri1203 View Post

Man everyone just needs to relax. It'll be out! If not tonight then tomorrow. Find something constructive to do with your time until then....like read a book, cook a meal, or tend to the garden.

Here's another suggestion, WATCH A MOVIE! LOL
mcrexx is offline  
post #801 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 09:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Forceflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm waiting for my HD DVD player. I can't take it. I hope that when I get it, I will be able to get 2.0 and enjoy the fuller potential of this unit. (also, please let me know, as I know you will, if any problems arise due to 2.0).

***Warning*** Do not look into laser with remaining eye!!
Forceflow is offline  
post #802 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 09:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Rob Tomlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 13,827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Does anyone know if the Xbox 360 wireless adapter will work on the HD-A1 for downloading the FW update?
Rob Tomlin is offline  
post #803 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 09:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rob316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Tomlin View Post

Does anyone know if the Xbox 360 wireless adapter will work on the HD-A1 for downloading the FW update?


No the 360 adapter will not work but you can buy a wireless linksys game adapter and hook it up.


http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...VisitorWrapper



Rob
rob316 is offline  
post #804 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 09:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,727
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 516
Well, it looks like we got our wangs yanked again. I'm sure 2.0 will be out sometime (maybe even this week) but tonight looks like a bust.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #805 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 09:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Rob Tomlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 13,827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob316 View Post

No the 360 adapter will not work but you can buy a wireless linksys game adapter and hook it up.


http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...VisitorWrapper



Rob

Thanks.

I already have the 360 adapter, so I won't be purchasing something else.

Guess I will have to remove the A1 from the HT and plug it into my ethernet port.
Rob Tomlin is offline  
post #806 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 09:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
suprmallet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Rob, I tried the original Xbox (not 360) wifi adaptor and it worked perfectly. I plugged it in, turned the DHCP and DNS settings to on, and restarted the player, and it worked like a charm.

You have thirteen hours in which to solve the labyrinth, before your baby brother becomes one of us... forever.
suprmallet is offline  
post #807 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 09:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ILJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 1,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LOL!! This thread is funny!!

It seems like everyone feels like Linus and Sally on Halloween night, waiting for the Great Pumpkin......

....but alas.....




*************************************************

Still looking for a movie theatre that shows movies the way they're SUPPOSED to be viewed...



...with a bitrate meter and screencaps.
ILJG is offline  
post #808 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 10:05 PM
Ein
Advanced Member
 
Ein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILJG View Post

LOL!! This thread is funny!!

It seems like everyone feels like Linus and Sally on Halloween night, waiting for the Great Pumpkin......

....but alas.....




Or Lucy holding the football just as Charlie B. is about to kick it
Ein is offline  
post #809 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 10:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
FoolintheRain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's a serious question. As opposed to buying a 50ft CAT5 cable or carrying my HD-DVD player to my bedroom everytime I want to check for an update, what is the alternative? Can I just buy something relativelly cheap that is WiFi to plug into the back of my HD-DVD player and VOILA it will pick up my wireless broadband? Thanks in advance...I hate to muck up all the fun with a question

Coach Jim Tressel:
1 National Title
5 Big Ten Titles
7-1 vs. M*ch*g*n
83-19 (.814)
FoolintheRain is offline  
post #810 of 3262 Old 08-22-2006, 10:09 PM
 
g55555sim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South East Asia: Malaysia
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDbeat confirms Firmware 2.0 today (22.8.06)

http://www.slashgear.com/hd-dvd-20-f...day-221085.php

Display screenshot of 2.0 update :


and Troy is confirmed to have 5.1 TrueHD track

http://dvd.themanroom.com/dvd-newsview.php?id=261
g55555sim is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off