A2 / XA2 1.2 , 1.3, and 1.5 ISO available for download - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 08:45 PM
Senior Member
 
WestCDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Thanks for posting the ISO. I upgraded to 1.2 tonight using Nero Express to burn to a TDK CD-R at 8X - which AFAIR cost about 20 cents way back when I bought them. Tried Sonic first, and it made a coaster about half way through the burn (with both discs, it's still below postage costs for the stamp on the upgrade card!).

A2 recognized the Nero disc immediately, and it took less than 10 minutes to completion and disc eject (I confess I was pouring another glass of wine at the time it finished).

I just checked and Toshiba Canada is still only showing an A1 upgrade available on http://www.toshibahddvd.ca/. Ironic, as the hosted ISO is from Toshiba Canada.

Good group of people here. I had no pressing need for the update, but do like to keep my equipment up to date.

Cheers!
WestCDA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
 
dlhoppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Worked like a charm! Thanks guys!
dlhoppe is offline  
post #33 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 08:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sharkshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, eh?
Posts: 2,459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I forgot to mention, just for fun the first thing I did post-upate was to connect the unit to the server, for the first time seeing the now accurate "there are no futher updates available" message... catharsis, to be sure...

let's hope that the XA2 forthcoming upgrade goes significantly better than this one....

sharkshark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 09:11 PM
Member
 
WadeSc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks a lot for making this available. I upgraded tonight without problem. I have a DVI HDTV, so I verified that I now get 1080i to my TV. Black levels are still not where they should be when up-converting SD DVDs. I still cannot see the drop shadow behind the THX logo. Not sure how to test this for HD DVDs though.
WadeSc is offline  
post #35 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 10:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bill Broderick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Huntington Station, NY, USA
Posts: 1,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thank you to everyone who had a hand in making the firmware available to us. It worked perfectly my machine and now I can go back to using the HDMI -> DVI connection again.
Bill Broderick is offline  
post #36 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 11:09 PM
333
Member
 
333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks AESO and squidboy, worked for me! I used Nero and Verbatim CD-Rs.
333 is offline  
post #37 of 312 Old 02-03-2007, 12:42 AM
Member
 
mattalgrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Worked without a hitch. Kinda surprising. Thanks!

More content (COUGH) does not equal better content.
Better movies (COUGH) equal better content.
Awesome PQ/AQ are just bonuses.
mattalgrand is offline  
post #38 of 312 Old 02-03-2007, 07:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
f300v10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have any Linux users been able to burn this ISO? K3b says the iso is not valid, and wont burn it.
f300v10 is offline  
post #39 of 312 Old 02-03-2007, 07:59 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
squidboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by f300v10 View Post

Have any Linux users been able to burn this ISO? K3b says the iso is not valid, and wont burn it.

I know my way around Linux, but I've never actually burned an ISO using it. Maybe this can help?

http://www.yolinux.com/TUTORIALS/Lin...ialCDBurn.html

Specifically:

Burn ISO image onto CD:

* Linux 2.6 kernel: cdrecord -v -eject speed=16 dev=ATA:1,0,0 RedHat-7.0-i386-powertools.iso
* Linux 2.4 kernel: cdrecord -v speed=2 dev=0,4,0 RedHat-7.0-i386-powertools.iso
squidboy is offline  
post #40 of 312 Old 02-03-2007, 08:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
f300v10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks squidboy. I actually used cdrecord on the command line to burn the image just 20 minutes ago. I have yet to try it in the player, but will report back when I do.

For the record, here was the command that worked on my system:

cdrecord -v -pad speed=4 dev=/dev/hdc A2_1.2_unofficial.iso
f300v10 is offline  
post #41 of 312 Old 02-03-2007, 08:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
slimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jellow View Post

Burned the ISO with Mac OS X, updated A2 with no problems. The A2 is now at 1.2/T19M.

Thank you to squidboy for hosting the file and the helpful instructions.

I was able to update my HD-A2 via the internet connection. After update, my firmware is listed as 1.2/T17M. Is the difference due to this being a Canadian release? I thought the Canadian and US versions of the HD-A2 were the same.
slimm is offline  
post #42 of 312 Old 02-03-2007, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
pchin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philippines
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great work squidboy & AESO! Also ADBNZ for his summary instruction. Thanks so much guys! Now I'm one of the happy bunnies.

Enjoying High Definition Movies in Lossless Audio! Awesome Xperience!
pchin2 is offline  
post #43 of 312 Old 02-03-2007, 10:30 AM
Member
 
MN-Rabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Twin cities area Minnesota
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by pchin2 View Post

Great work squidboy & AESO! Also ADBNZ for his summary instruction. Thanks so much guys! Now I'm one of the happy bunnies.

Bunnies, Rabbits.... we are all happy! Thanks a lot guys! Really appreciate your hosting it and the great directions. I burned it at 40x with no problems.
MN-Rabbit is offline  
post #44 of 312 Old 02-03-2007, 10:31 AM
Newbie
 
Mjara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That worked. Thanks for hosting the ISO.
Mjara is offline  
post #45 of 312 Old 02-03-2007, 11:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GmanAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ridgewood, NJ
Posts: 1,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
shouldn't this thread be sticky for a while (or merged into the main fw upgrade one)?
GmanAVS is offline  
post #46 of 312 Old 02-03-2007, 11:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
f300v10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am happy to report that my HD-A2 had no problems with the upgrade as well. Much thanks to squidboy and the folks hosting the files. Now I don't need to cut a 60 ft. run of cat 5. :-)
f300v10 is offline  
post #47 of 312 Old 02-03-2007, 01:29 PM
Senior Member
 
rack04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So has anyone noticed any differences with this Canada FW version vs the US release?
rack04 is offline  
post #48 of 312 Old 02-03-2007, 02:20 PM
Newbie
 
APaulDev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by f300v10 View Post

I am happy to report that my HD-A2 had no problems with the upgrade as well. Much thanks to squidboy and the folks hosting the files. Now I don't need to cut a 60 ft. run of cat 5. :-)

Thanks for all the work. I had the message "already upgraded" when I tried to upgrade from the Net. Followed the instructions to burn the disk, using XP to burn the image file. Worked just fine. This site has been great for information on the A2. Keep it coming!!
APaulDev is offline  
post #49 of 312 Old 02-03-2007, 02:22 PM
Newbie
 
APaulDev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by f300v10 View Post

I am happy to report that my HD-A2 had no problems with the upgrade as well. Much thanks to squidboy and the folks hosting the files. Now I don't need to cut a 60 ft. run of cat 5. :-)

Thanks for all the work. I had the message "already upgraded" when I tried to upgrade from the Net. Followed the instructions to burn the disk, using XP to burn the image file. Loaded and worked just fine.

This site has been great for information on the A2. Keep it coming!!
APaulDev is offline  
post #50 of 312 Old 02-03-2007, 06:01 PM
Member
 
Scottwdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jellow View Post

Burned the ISO with Mac OS X, updated A2 with no problems. The A2 is now at 1.2/T19M.

Thank you to squidboy for hosting the file and the helpful instructions.

Ditto for me! Thanks for hosting!
Scottwdw is offline  
post #51 of 312 Old 02-03-2007, 06:08 PM
Senior Member
 
ADBNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I've made a page with instructions and firmware downloads for the A1 and A2 here. As new firmware comes out (XA2 etc.) I will add those too.

Adam
ADBNZ is offline  
post #52 of 312 Old 02-03-2007, 07:14 PM
Member
 
clifburns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks, ADBNZ and squidboy. It worked without a hitch.
clifburns is offline  
post #53 of 312 Old 02-03-2007, 07:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Deja-vue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Does anyone know what kind of improvement or fixes this update contains?
Deja-vue is offline  
post #54 of 312 Old 02-04-2007, 01:42 AM
Member
 
GVLBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deja-vue View Post

Does anyone know what kind of improvement or fixes this update contains?

ADBNZ did a nice job of summarizing the improvements. The link to that document is in his post #51.
GVLBob is offline  
post #55 of 312 Old 02-04-2007, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
k.berger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Deer Park, NY
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

Updated Firmware for Toshiba's HD-A2/HD-XA2 is now available for download form www.1080x1920.net (free registration required).
They have also quite few other interesting things there, like Manuals, HD Test Files, FREE CD Disk Image Burning Utilities and such!

Kris
k.berger is offline  
post #56 of 312 Old 02-04-2007, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
dlhoppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by k.berger View Post

Hi guys,

Updated Firmware for Toshiba's HD-A2/HD-XA2 is now available for download form www.1080x1920.net (free registration required).
They have also quite few other interesting things there, like Manuals, HD Test Files, FREE CD Disk Image Burning Utilities and such!

Kris


I was curious about the Xa2 update. I didn't think it was released yet. I looked on the web site mentioned and didn't see either the HD-A2 or the HD-XA2.
dlhoppe is offline  
post #57 of 312 Old 02-04-2007, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
 
dlhoppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlhoppe View Post

I was curious about the Xa2 update. I didn't think it was released yet. I looked on the web site mentioned and didn't see either the HD-A2 or the HD-XA2.

Oh, I see they labled it incorrectly. It's labeled as HD-A1/HD-XA1. In fact it's only for the HD-A2.

Edited: Also for the Walmart and RCA variants of the A2.
dlhoppe is offline  
post #58 of 312 Old 02-04-2007, 01:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jacksonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will this work with a DVD+R? I'm out of CD-R's.
jacksonian is offline  
post #59 of 312 Old 02-04-2007, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
k.berger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Deer Park, NY
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I should work with any recordable CD, theoretically even with rewritable (CD+/-RW). Rewritables aren't recommended though, what with their lower compatibility level (comparing to write-once media), and higher write/read error rate.

Kris
k.berger is offline  
post #60 of 312 Old 02-04-2007, 05:27 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
squidboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacksonian View Post

Will this work with a DVD+R? I'm out of CD-R's.

Probably won't work with any type of DVD recordable. It's a CD image. I believe someone also tried it and it didn't work with their system.
squidboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off