"Official" Olive Thread Opus 4, Opus 6, Melody 2, Olive 2, Olive 4/ 4HD, 06HD - Page 129 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 82Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3841 of 3885 Old 09-07-2018, 08:26 AM
Senior Member
 
clpetersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Recovery files available

Quote:
Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
Wait (patiently) for someone who has kept his or hers updates for his or hers Olive xHD. I have all updates until 4.1.9 for the humble Olive 4. Humble, but faithful.


Marc
Hi Marc - just reading this thread. I do have the updates for the various HD models still saved. 4.3.2 if memory serves.
If someone needs them, set up a drop box or similar so I can up load them. File size is about 2 GB.
clpetersen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3842 of 3885 Old 09-07-2018, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andamado997 View Post
Hey Marc, I gave what you said about moving partitions over from my working 500GB drive to the new 2TB Drive a try and it seemed to almost work, the Olive 4HD is no longer stuck on the initial white startup screen and now goes to the Olive "Save The Sound" Black screen, but from there it seems to be stuck. And now it appears that the working 500GB hard drive I had as a back up as well as a partition unit source is now doing that same thing and I don't know how to fix it. Please Help!

Not sure what you mean with the "save the sound" black screen. My Olive start with a green "Olive" and white time an date below that (on a black background).
"Save the sound" is a Maestro thing in your browser.


I guess that, when you copied the partitions over to the 2TB drive, the original partitions on the 500GB drive have been touched too. Partition copy programs like to fix any problems in the source before copying, which is usually a nice feature. (But it ruins the Olive disk when done with the 1. partition.)
If you touch the (black) screen, it should show the next screen with the Music library and so on. The same when you touch the power knob.


If this stucks, I should try to do it all over , starting with the latest recovery firmware (ask clpetersen). Without doing anything else, the recovery should give you a working Olive 4HD, albeit without music. Then go on with the copy process. Good luck



Marc
mumsoft is offline  
post #3843 of 3885 Old 09-11-2018, 06:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by clpetersen View Post
Hi Marc - just reading this thread. I do have the updates for the various HD models still saved. 4.3.2 if memory serves.
If someone needs them, set up a drop box or similar so I can up load them. File size is about 2 GB.
Hello, clpetersen,

I have created a link to dropbox, but can't send it, because my postings are restricted yet.

Do You (or does someone else) know how I can delete all the songs stored on my olive 4?


Have a nice day
mcsarraf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3844 of 3885 Old 09-11-2018, 06:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
Wait (patiently) for someone who has kept his or hers updates for his or hers Olive xHD. I have all updates until 4.1.9 for the humble Olive 4. Humble, but faithful.


Marc
Hello Marc,



do You know a way to delete all the music on an olive 4 at once?



I have kopied the stuff on a harddisk and just wanted to (re)start copiing my CDs.



Kind regards
mcsarraf is offline  
post #3845 of 3885 Old 09-11-2018, 06:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello everybody,



is it possible to clone the original olive 4 hard disk (500 MB) to a bigger one (2 TB) without special tools?



Thanks a lot
mcsarraf is offline  
post #3846 of 3885 Old 09-11-2018, 06:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by clpetersen View Post
Hi Marc - just reading this thread. I do have the updates for the various HD models still saved. 4.3.2 if memory serves.
If someone needs them, set up a drop box or similar so I can up load them. File size is about 2 GB.
Hello, clpetersen,

I have created a link to dropbox:



https://www.dropbox.com/sh/w3vckzyfz...YeMDAWTRa?dl=0



kindly load up the files to that folder.



Best regards
mcsarraf is offline  
post #3847 of 3885 Old 09-11-2018, 07:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mumsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcsarraf View Post
Hello Marc,

do You know a way to delete all the music on an olive 4 at once?

I have kopied the stuff on a harddisk and just wanted to (re)start copiing my CDs.

Kind regards

That's the easy part! Olive is so kind to do that for you, once you decide to do the recovery procedure. It will wipe out everything in you music library, so you can start all over.
Recovery is also the way to prepare another disk. Once done, you can copy partition 5 and 7 from your old disk (if that one is still filled with your music) to the new one.


Marc
mumsoft is offline  
post #3848 of 3885 Old 09-12-2018, 06:28 PM
Senior Member
 
clpetersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcsarraf View Post
Hello, clpetersen,

I have created a link to dropbox:



https://www.dropbox.com/sh/w3vckzyfz...YeMDAWTRa?dl=0



kindly load up the files to that folder.



Best regards
Hello - the link is not working - just goes to my personal drop box. I sent a private message so you can send an invite to my email to link to your dropbox.
clpetersen is offline  
post #3849 of 3885 Old 09-15-2018, 07:30 AM
Member
 
GJ1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcsarraf View Post
Hello everybody,



is it possible to clone the original olive 4 hard disk (500 MB) to a bigger one (2 TB) without special tools?



Thanks a lot
Check the lydo.nl website, the recovery files for the HD are still there plus an article how I upgraded my 3HD harddisk.

Succes, Gertjan
GJ1970 is offline  
post #3850 of 3885 Old 09-21-2018, 02:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Olive 4HD backup external HDD works with Naim Uniti Core

Quote:
Originally Posted by GJ1970 View Post
Check the lydo.nl website, the recovery files for the HD are still there plus an article how I upgraded my 3HD harddisk.

Succes, Gertjan
My Olive 4HD internal 2TB HDD stopped working properly (the operating system is on it and I think its the cause of a lot of the 4HD operating problems users experience) and was so badly damaged that it couldn't be cloned by my computer repair store (I had asked them to clone it to a WD 4TB HDD which they had purchased for me). I used the recovery files from the lydo.nl website and got the 4HD working again but it would only recognize the 4TB HDD as 2TB storage.

I ordered a WD 2TB HDD from Amazon, took out the 4TB HDD, put in the 2TB one and used the recovery files again--my 4HD was up and running again! I used by 2TB backup external HDD to do a restore on the 4HD and all my 1TB of FLAC files were back on.

Not knowing how long my 4HD would be working (I'll use it until the HDD is full), I bought a Naim Uniti Core on sale and put the 4TB WD HDD in the bay (very easy to do). It reformatted the HDD automatically. I wanted to see if the using the USB in the back of the Core would recognize my Olive files from my 2TB backup and it did! Not perfectly in terms of artwork but otherwise it seemed to recognize artists and albums and songs although I only did spot checking (will do a more thorough check when I have more time).

I use both the Olive 4HD and Naim Core to make FLAC files from my remaining 8,000 CDs (which I then put for sale on Amazon, eBay and Discogs,my fav. The Core take 4-5 minutes to burn a CD while the 4HD takes 8-9. As far as I can tell from the Core's app interface, it should handle the tagging of classical CDs much better than the 4HD but I haven't had the time to see if that's true.
wimrie likes this.
youkali is offline  
post #3851 of 3885 Old 10-11-2018, 11:18 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello all, my name is Robin and I am from Rotterdam, The Netherlands. Since a few weeks i’m proudly owner of a Olive 06HD. Bought this pretty cheap because it has some issues. I have read almost even discussion, but could not find anything about. The 06HD starts up mostly, and sometimes not. Once started up the screen freezes and commands via the screen is out of the question. But I can command it with my iPad or iPhone and the sound is the best I have ever heard. Yello Touch must be one of the nicest things to hear together with my Kef 107.2 and Burmester 082 integrated amp. But I want it to be 100% so I tried to give it a recovery. I already made a backup and with the command center and arrow down holding while turning on the power I should get a sign when to put in the USB stick. Unfortunately this does not work. I have also tried this with turning it on with the commands (center+arrow down) and the USB stick already in it, and also without any commands. Nothing works so I cannot give it a recovery. Can anyone please give an advise what to do? Many thanks in advance
Alfastra is offline  
post #3852 of 3885 Old 10-13-2018, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
clpetersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcsarraf View Post
Hello, clpetersen,

I have created a link to dropbox:



https://www.dropbox.com/sh/w3vckzyfz...YeMDAWTRa?dl=0



kindly load up the files to that folder.



Best regards
Hello mscarraf -

The files have been uploaded. Sorry for the long delay. Hope these help.
clpetersen is offline  
post #3853 of 3885 Old 10-19-2018, 03:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Olive App

Hi, what happened whit Olive App for Android?
I can’t find that, on play.google disappeared.
[email protected] likes this.
kris555 is offline  
post #3854 of 3885 Old 10-20-2018, 04:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by clpetersen View Post
Hello mscarraf -

The files have been uploaded. Sorry for the long delay. Hope these help.
Hello,



there is nothing on the dropbox. Are you sure with the link?

Best regards
mcsarraf is offline  
post #3855 of 3885 Old 10-20-2018, 07:57 AM
Senior Member
 
clpetersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcsarraf View Post
Hello,



there is nothing on the dropbox. Are you sure with the link?

Best regards
Files are now uploaded. Please confirm if you can retrieve them -
clpetersen is offline  
post #3856 of 3885 Old 11-24-2018, 04:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Help needed, again

Hello, guys,



I'm now much closer to the goal: my Olive Opus 4 has firmware 4.1.9 and I managed to change the harddisc from 500 GB to a 2TB, keeping all settings and data. So far, so good.



Not working is the procedure of recovery, means I put the original recovery CD inside and recieve the message "invalid data CD".

The same message appeared using selfmade CDs from downloaded images available on lydo.



My aim of doing a recovery is to delete the music from the harddisc. There are about 500 albums and it would take half of my lifetime to delete them manually one by one ;-) Since it seems to be impossible to access the harddisc incrementally, the only way to delete the existing music is a recovery. But as mentioned, I'm not able to do it.



Please help!



Best regards
mcsarraf is offline  
post #3857 of 3885 Old 12-01-2018, 03:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Cover arts

Dear community,



meanwhile I managed to delete albums from the expanded harddisc mentioned above



using the browser interface "OLIVE MAESTRO".



Now I've started copying my CDs - and have a new issue: my Olive recognizes the CDs but does not load the coverarts.



I know that I can add them manually using the browser interface "OLIVE MAESTRO". But this will take lots of time,



including downloading coverarts from the net and uploading them to Olive.



Does anyone know an easyier way? Is there a possibility within the settings, so Olive loads the coverart while ripping?



Best regards
mcsarraf is offline  
post #3858 of 3885 Old 12-03-2018, 02:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by kris555 View Post
Hi, what happened whit Olive App for Android?
I can’t find that, on play.google disappeared.
I, too am desperate to find the Android App!
[email protected] is offline  
post #3859 of 3885 Old 12-03-2018, 11:17 AM
Member
 
pablovi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mexico city
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcsarraf View Post
Dear community,



meanwhile I managed to delete albums from the expanded harddisc mentioned above



using the browser interface "OLIVE MAESTRO".



Now I've started copying my CDs - and have a new issue: my Olive recognizes the CDs but does not load the coverarts.



I know that I can add them manually using the browser interface "OLIVE MAESTRO". But this will take lots of time,



including downloading coverarts from the net and uploading them to Olive.



Does anyone know an easyier way? Is there a possibility within the settings, so Olive loads the coverart while ripping?



Best regards
If it’s connected to the internet it will recognize some discs and load the cover art. But not all of them.

I had to do it manually.

I don’t even think it can connect to the Internet now.
pablovi is offline  
post #3860 of 3885 Old 12-09-2018, 10:15 AM
Member
 
td_mn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Boulder, Co
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
I, too am desperate to find the Android App!
If you are referring to the app I wrote you can get it here https://www.dropbox.com/s/6sjyk7r776...veApp.apk?dl=0 It is relatively simple but gives me all I need except for the genre browsing.

I have not updated it in almost 5 years but it still works fine on an old android phone. I think the last change I made was to add a pause button.

BY DOWNLOADING THIS APPLICATION YOU AGREE TO THE FOLLOWING.
THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED “AS IS” AND ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTIES, INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, THE IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANT-ABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE ARE DISCLAIMED. IN NO EVENT SHALL THE OWNER OR CONTRIBUTORS BE LIABLE FOR ANY DIRECT, INDIRECT, INCIDENTAL, SPECIAL, EXEMPLARY, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES (INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, PROCUREMENT OF SUBSTITUTE GOODS OR SERVICES; LOSS OF USE, DATA, OR PROFITS; OR BUSINESS INTERRUPTION) HOWEVER CAUSED AND ON ANY THEORY OF LIABILITY, WHETHER IN CONTRACT, STRICT LIABILITY, OR TORT (INCLUDING NEGLIGENCE OR OTHERWISE) ARISING IN ANY WAY OUT OF THE USE OF THIS SOFTWARE, EVEN IF ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGE.
td_mn is offline  
post #3861 of 3885 Old 12-09-2018, 12:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Olive App

Thank you very much! I really appreciate it.

John
[email protected] is offline  
post #3862 of 3885 Old 12-15-2018, 02:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hello the owners of Olive 03HD !


Now my Olive 03HD working on software version O.4.3.2 and FW 0.0
But I'm nervous when display freezing sometimes

Has anyone upgrade 03HD software successfully to the FW 3.0 firmware ?? (by the method: Top navigation button and Fast forward button….)
Information about a successful upgrading is only about 04HD...
kris555 is offline  
post #3863 of 3885 Old 12-18-2018, 11:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Import File Not Working

Hello,
I have an Olive 3HD, and I'm trying to import music files from PC. I type in the I.P. address of the Olive, which in my case is \\192.168.1.11, and a blank page appears, with "This File is Empty" There used to be a file called "import"

I'm using Win 10. Has anyone else had this problem, and is there a work-around?

Thanks,

John
[email protected] is offline  
post #3864 of 3885 Old 12-22-2018, 12:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello,

I got a used Olive One Music Player and can`t find any software because of Olive Media Inc. seems to be out of business.

None of the links works on their home pages.
USBpackage/ONE/O.0.31.67/usbupgrade.img
USBpackage/ONE/O.0.31.67/Recovery.img


Also the iOS *ipa file is not on Apple Stores (US /De) anymore

Can anybody help out and has backed it up or knows where to find?

I really would appreciate it.

Thanks,
Joerg
Jörg Buschermöhle is offline  
post #3865 of 3885 Old 01-03-2019, 11:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Olive Opus 4 repair

I have an Olive Opus 4 that won't start up. Does anyone know who can repair this device?
k2bear32 is offline  
post #3866 of 3885 Old 03-04-2019, 09:08 PM
Member
 
3m3rson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Lightbulb Windows 10 Home Explorer navigation

Just upgraded to a new Windows 10 PC. Surprised to find that my Olive 03HD library of FLAC files is fully navigable under This PC on Windows Explorer. With Metadata and cover art. Sweet.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	This PC - Olive 03 HD.png
Views:	65
Size:	26.6 KB
ID:	2534450  
3m3rson is offline  
post #3867 of 3885 Old 03-16-2019, 11:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Olive 4 fh fw version 3.p

Hi,
Just bought an olive 4 hd but he has fw 0.0

As i see the unit can experience some problems with this firmware .
Can somebody send me the fw 3.0 ( the olive site is out )

I have already an olive from my own and am very satisfied about it
Many thanks
Popol is offline  
post #3868 of 3885 Old 03-26-2019, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
 
clpetersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Popol View Post
Hi,
Just bought an olive 4 hd but he has fw 0.0

As i see the unit can experience some problems with this firmware .
Can somebody send me the fw 3.0 ( the olive site is out )

I have already an olive from my own and am very satisfied about it
Many thanks
I used to be an Olive HD owner and still have their last version of software and firmware. Too big to email. If you can share a drop box or similar I can upload it.
clpetersen is offline  
post #3869 of 3885 Old 03-26-2019, 06:52 PM
Member
 
pablovi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mexico city
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by clpetersen View Post
I used to be an Olive HD owner and still have their last version of software and firmware. Too big to email. If you can share a drop box or similar I can upload it.
Hi, what’s the size? You can send up to 2GB on wetransfer for free. If you send it to me I’ll upload it to One drive or google drive.
pablovi is offline  
post #3870 of 3885 Old 03-27-2019, 05:44 AM
Senior Member
 
clpetersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by pablovi View Post
Hi, what’s the size? You can send up to 2GB on wetransfer for free. If you send it to me I’ll upload it to One drive or google drive.
Yes, it is below 2 GB. Looks like I need an email address to use wetransfer though. you can send me a private message.
pablovi likes this.
clpetersen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply CD Players & Dedicated Music Transports

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off