DCX2496 output configuration? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-11-2008, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
04FLHRCI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Gentlemen,

I've read the manual and messed with the GUI; do I have the proper understanding here? May each of the six output channels be configured to accomodate any desired band (L/M/H)? For instance, if I were to install six subs in my room, three across the front and three across the rear; would the DCX2496 allow me to adjust each sub independently?

I have my three subs finished for the front and will likely not expand upon this until mid 2009; however, having the ability to do so without adding additional hardware would be nice.

Larry
04FLHRCI is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-12-2008, 04:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,837
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Yes The DCX2496 will alow you to have differant settings for each of the 6 outputs....

Cheers....
cinema mad is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-14-2008, 06:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
penngray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 26,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I use the DCX with 2 3-way speakers so yes you could have ONE input sent to 6 different channels and you can set each of those channels independantly.

It is not "open-minded" to reject knowledge - Bob Lee
penngray is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 12-14-2008, 08:07 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
04FLHRCI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for the confirmation guys; I ordered a unit yesterday and will browse the shack to assess what's needed for REW.

Larry
04FLHRCI is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-03-2009, 09:46 AM
Member
 
cptomes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 04FLHRCI View Post

Thanks for the confirmation guys; I ordered a unit yesterday and will browse the shack to assess what's needed for REW.

Larry

Might as well order a spool of the Dayton balanced cable, six of the XLRs used for the outputs, an RCA and one of the XLRs for the input. Have fun soldering!
cptomes is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-04-2009, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
04FLHRCI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Cabling isn't necessary - my system is already utilizing all XLR via BJC.

I spent $12 at RadioShack on two adapters and was playing around with it last night - really great device.

Larry

btw - routing the outputs worked exactly as I desired.


Quote:
Originally Posted by cptomes View Post

Might as well order a spool of the Dayton balanced cable, six of the XLRs used for the outputs, an RCA and one of the XLRs for the input. Have fun soldering!

04FLHRCI is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off