MiniDSP - Page 172 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 424Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5131 of 5206 Old 06-29-2020, 07:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
philpoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 103
You could use support at minidsp.com, or try their forums.

Quote:
Originally Posted by charbug View Post
I am in need of a little MiniDSP help. I was sold a Minidsp SHD and a 4X10HD to setup a 2 way system and SUB but have run into issues. All new to me. Is there anyone on here like Austinjerry that I can talk with to iron out some bugs? I would PM him but I do not have enough posts to be allowed to PM. My system is Klipsch Jubilees, two way speakers and a Klipsch KPT-1802 sub...
philpoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5132 of 5206 Old 06-30-2020, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Lesmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,234
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Just added a miniDSP HD
Denon 8500 AVR with dual sub outs but only using sub 1 to input 1 on the mini then 2 x subs from output one and output two
subs positioned at front right and rear left corners

I Selected single sub woofer in the Denon setup menu
(although it still shows 2 with the second sub greyed out and a 2.4 meter distance ?)

my question is what distance should I set for a single sub woofer in the Denon?
Lesmor is offline  
post #5133 of 5206 Old 06-30-2020, 08:21 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 22,699
Mentioned: 488 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12737 Post(s)
Liked: 7667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesmor View Post
Just added a miniDSP HD
Denon 8500 AVR with dual sub outs but only using sub 1 to input 1 on the mini then 2 x subs from output one and output two
subs positioned at front right and rear left corners

I Selected single sub woofer in the Denon setup menu
(although it still shows 2 with the second sub greyed out and a 2.4 meter distance ?)

my question is what distance should I set for a single sub woofer in the Denon?
You should start by setting individual delays for each sub on the output side of the 2x4HD. I assume you ran an Audyssey calibration with both sub channels active before you installed the 2x4HD, so you should have two distance settings that Audyssey created. One of the subs will be further away. Subtract the two sub distances to get the distance difference. Now, in the output channel for the nearest sub add a delay to time-align the sub with the furthest sub. The delay will be in milliseconds, based on the speed of sound being 13,512 In/sec. Here is how to convert distance to milliseconds: For example, if one sub is 10ft from the MLP, and the other is 5ft, then the difference is 5ft, or 60 inches. The delay would be (60/13512)*1000 = 4.4 ms. Set the delay for the nearest sub to be 4.4 ms.

Now, re-run the Audyssey calibration with one sub channel, and Audyssey will calculate the delay required for the combined sub channel, which will align the subs with the mains. And finally, since Audyssey rarely gets the sub delay exactly correct, you should run the sub distance tweak while measuring Center+Subs in order to achieve the flattest response around the crossover.

Simple, no?
AustinJerry is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5134 of 5206 Old 06-30-2020, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Lesmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,234
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
You should start by setting individual delays for each sub on the output side of the 2x4HD. I assume you ran an Audyssey calibration with both sub channels active before you installed the 2x4HD, so you should have two distance settings that Audyssey created. One of the subs will be further away. Subtract the two sub distances to get the distance difference. Now, in the output channel for the nearest sub add a delay to time-align the sub with the furthest sub. The delay will be in milliseconds, based on the speed of sound being 13,512 In/sec. Here is how to convert distance to milliseconds: For example, if one sub is 10ft from the MLP, and the other is 5ft, then the difference is 5ft, or 60 inches. The delay would be (60/13512)*1000 = 4.4 ms. Set the delay for the nearest sub to be 4.4 ms.

Now, re-run the Audyssey calibration with one sub channel, and Audyssey will calculate the delay required for the combined sub channel, which will align the subs with the mains. And finally, since Audyssey rarely gets the sub delay exactly correct, you should run the sub distance tweak while measuring Center+Subs in order to achieve the flattest response around the crossover.

Simple, no?
Hi Jerry
thanks for responding hope you are keeping safe and well
It is probably simple once you get your the desired results

I followed your guide and knew the delay for the closer sub and put that in the mini
I didn't add any delay to the furthest sub?
so it looks like I did everything as suggested

I ran Audyssey but the result was a disaster
Audyssey returned a distance of 14 feet when previously the furthest sub was 24'5"
increasing the distance back to 24'4" the time alignment is off and the crossover has a dip
so I am unsure what has gone wrong?

Last edited by Lesmor; 06-30-2020 at 11:24 AM.
Lesmor is offline  
post #5135 of 5206 Old 06-30-2020, 11:24 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 22,699
Mentioned: 488 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12737 Post(s)
Liked: 7667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesmor View Post
Hi Jerry
thanks for responding hope you are keeping safe and well
It is probably simple once you get your the desired results

I followed your guide and knew the delay for the closer sub and put that in the mini
so it looks like I did everything as suggested

I ran Audyssey but the result was a disaster
Audyssey returned a distance of 14 feet when previously the furthest sub was 24'5"
increasing the distance back to 24'4" the time alignment is off and the crossover has a dip
so I am unsure what has gone wrong?
Remember, Audyssey is calculating a perceived electronic distance, not a physical distance. You can use the impulse response in REW to check on subwoofer alignment, although it is somewhat difficult to check alignment between subs and mains this way. I would rely on the sub distance tweak and adjust for smoothest response.
Lesmor likes this.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #5136 of 5206 Old 06-30-2020, 11:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Lesmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,234
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Remember, Audyssey is calculating a perceived electronic distance, not a physical distance. You can use the impulse response in REW to check on subwoofer alignment, although it is somewhat difficult to check alignment between subs and mains this way. I would rely on the sub distance tweak and adjust for smoothest response.
thanks for the quick reply

on initial set-up as far as delay is concerned I assume that I don't need to do anything for the furthest sub ?

if I read you properly in this instance I should also not expect the mains impulse response and sub woofer impulse response to align ?
Lesmor is offline  
post #5137 of 5206 Old 06-30-2020, 11:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 3,256
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1116 Post(s)
Liked: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesmor View Post
Just added a miniDSP HD
Denon 8500 AVR with dual sub outs but only using sub 1 to input 1 on the mini then 2 x subs from output one and output two
subs positioned at front right and rear left corners

I Selected single sub woofer in the Denon setup menu
(although it still shows 2 with the second sub greyed out and a 2.4 meter distance ?)

my question is what distance should I set for a single sub woofer in the Denon?
Very similar situation to my own. I recently got new subs....did not have a MiniDSP...so just did Audyssey using the dual sub outputs of my AVR (Denon 4400)....it came out with distances of 9.1ft and 9.2ft....so essentially equal. Doing the suggested math that came out to 0.088~ which I put into the MiniDSP....but the results were a disaster(not remotely correct). I think that is just beyond the resolution of the miniDSP and caused god knows what errors......so I just put both back to 0 and left the single sub out of the AVR at 9.1ft.

FYI...Not sure if you know but if you previously did a two sub audyssey and try to go back to 1 sub in the speaker config...it disabled Audyssey selection(with message saying need to run Audyssey). At least on my AVR. So i left it at 2 just to get thru my initial setup of the MiniDSP. I guess Audyssey is per "speaker config" or something.
RafaelSmith is offline  
post #5138 of 5206 Old 06-30-2020, 12:23 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 22,699
Mentioned: 488 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12737 Post(s)
Liked: 7667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesmor View Post
thanks for the quick reply

on initial set-up as far as delay is concerned I assume that I don't need to do anything for the furthest sub ?

if I read you properly in this instance I should also not expect the mains impulse response and sub woofer impulse response to align ?
The shape of the impulse response is considerably different for mains and subs, making it difficult to assess whether they are aligned. The sub distance tweak is a more reliable approach.
Lesmor likes this.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #5139 of 5206 Old 06-30-2020, 02:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Lesmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,234
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post
FYI...Not sure if you know but if you previously did a two sub audyssey and try to go back to 1 sub in the speaker config...it disabled Audyssey selection(with message saying need to run Audyssey). At least on my AVR. So i left it at 2 just to get thru my initial setup of the MiniDSP. I guess Audyssey is per "speaker config" or something.
Same here 2 new subs and miniDSP
Yes I was aware that if you have a run Audyssey and make certain changes then Audyssey becomes disabled
Lesmor is offline  
post #5140 of 5206 Old 07-03-2020, 05:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Steelman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Hello all, will this power supply work with my minidsp 2x4 HD?

https://www.amazon.com/iPower-Supply...ct_top?ie=UTF8

I have the 5V version of this power supply if that would work also.

Samsung QN55Q8FN / Pioneer Elite SC-81 AV Receiver/ ELAC Uni-Fi B5 Book Shelves/ SVS PB-1000 Subwoofer/ Bluesound Node 2/ Nvidea Shield Pro / iFi SPDIF iPurifier/ MiniDSP 2x4 HD/

Last edited by Steelman99; 07-03-2020 at 05:48 PM.
Steelman99 is offline  
post #5141 of 5206 Old 07-04-2020, 08:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Why not just run the unit off of one of your USB connections. I connect mine to usb on the front of my avr then run the wire under and out the back. It's never visible given that everything is black. I then bought velcro pads and attached the mini to the back panal of my entertainment stand. Easy to remove if needed.
Rich 63 is offline  
post #5142 of 5206 Old 07-04-2020, 10:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Steelman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich 63 View Post
Why not just run the unit off of one of your USB connections. I connect mine to usb on the front of my avr then run the wire under and out the back. It's never visible given that everything is black. I then bought velcro pads and attached the mini to the back panal of my entertainment stand. Easy to remove if needed.
USB is 5V

Samsung QN55Q8FN / Pioneer Elite SC-81 AV Receiver/ ELAC Uni-Fi B5 Book Shelves/ SVS PB-1000 Subwoofer/ Bluesound Node 2/ Nvidea Shield Pro / iFi SPDIF iPurifier/ MiniDSP 2x4 HD/
Steelman99 is offline  
post #5143 of 5206 Old 07-04-2020, 10:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 63
So then use that. Why have another wall wart. We have enough clutter as it is. No? And thanks.I did not know usb is 5v. Good to know.

Last edited by Rich 63; 07-04-2020 at 10:43 AM. Reason: Adding info
Rich 63 is offline  
post #5144 of 5206 Old 07-04-2020, 11:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 11,052
Mentioned: 104 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3062 Post(s)
Liked: 2887
I actually use a wall adapter for the USB cable. I find keeping the cable connected to the computer causes audio problems, so I unplug it from the adapter and plug it into the computer when I want to make changes.
https://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-...%2C139&sr=8-19
Michael
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #5145 of 5206 Old 07-04-2020, 12:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Steelman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich 63 View Post
So then use that. Why have another wall wart. We have enough clutter as it is. No? And thanks.I did not know usb is 5v. Good to know.
The 2x4 HD is 12V and has a different connector than usb. The Power supply I referenced is 12V and comes with optional connectors. I just thought someone here with more electrical knowledge could verify the plug I referenced before I did something stupid and burned my 2x4HD up or started a fire.

Samsung QN55Q8FN / Pioneer Elite SC-81 AV Receiver/ ELAC Uni-Fi B5 Book Shelves/ SVS PB-1000 Subwoofer/ Bluesound Node 2/ Nvidea Shield Pro / iFi SPDIF iPurifier/ MiniDSP 2x4 HD/
Steelman99 is offline  
post #5146 of 5206 Old 07-04-2020, 04:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 63
I apologize for maybe misleading you. I have 2x4 balanced. It runs on usb to program and to run. So I can be better informed. Are you saying that even when programming the hd version needs the wall wart?
Rich 63 is offline  
post #5147 of 5206 Old 07-04-2020, 05:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Steelman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich 63 View Post
I apologize for maybe misleading you. I have 2x4 balanced. It runs on usb to program and to run. So I can be better informed. Are you saying that even when programming the hd version needs the wall wart?
Yes. No harm done.The Plug I referenced may lower this devices noise floor, and thought it may be a cheap upgrade. If I get it and and I hear no difference I will just return it. I know people here seem to have very strong opinions when it comes to AV equipment, so for those individuals for the time being, those people can keep their opinions to themselves. I just want to know the comparability of this power supply.

Samsung QN55Q8FN / Pioneer Elite SC-81 AV Receiver/ ELAC Uni-Fi B5 Book Shelves/ SVS PB-1000 Subwoofer/ Bluesound Node 2/ Nvidea Shield Pro / iFi SPDIF iPurifier/ MiniDSP 2x4 HD/
Steelman99 is offline  
post #5148 of 5206 Old 07-04-2020, 07:00 PM
Member
 
ice cube's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi, I have updated my windows 10 to the last version number (2004). After that Minidsp 2x4HD gives me this message.
I redownload the driver again, change the USB cable, redownload adobe Air but no luck.
Help me please.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ice cube is offline  
post #5149 of 5206 Old 07-04-2020, 07:42 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 22,699
Mentioned: 488 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12737 Post(s)
Liked: 7667
Quote:
Originally Posted by ice cube View Post
Hi, I have updated my windows 10 to the last version number (2004). After that Minidsp 2x4HD gives me this message.
I redownload the driver again, change the USB cable, redownload adobe Air but no luck.
Help me please.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I have updated as well and have no issues connecting. I suspect something else is causing this. Have you tried a different cable?
AustinJerry is online now  
post #5150 of 5206 Old 07-04-2020, 08:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question Help: Audyssey changes EQ to multiple subwoofers after REW/MiniDSP

Hi there,

I am totally new to calibrating multiple subwoofers. I followed the walkthroughs online which have been very helpful (Home Theater Gurus' youtube videos especially).
However, after running audyssey, it seems to destroy my EQ efforts through MiniDSP/REW.

My configuration:
AVR volume at -20
MiniDSP input gain set at -10.5
Ran a calibration and EQ to as flat a curve as I was able to achieve (level match to 75 without a house curve)
Ran Audyssey (of which it suggested a -5.5db level adjustment)
Re-ran REW setting the crossover back to 250 and speakers to small, Mic is at MLP. Volume back to -20 (to match the MiniDSP calibration).

MultiEQ (without dynamic volume) at reference level, it is the blue/purple line
MultiEQ off but keeping the suggested -5.5db level adjustment, it is the red line
MultiEQ off and no -5.5db level adjustment, it is my calibrated yellow line

What am I missing here? Why does the MultiEQ throw my calibration EQ off?

Any help would be great. Hopefully get this calibration thing sorted out once and for all.
Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	REW.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	158.7 KB
ID:	2753152  

9 B&W CWM 8.3D Speakers;4 B&W CCM 8.5D Height Speakers;3 Rotel RMB 1585 Speaker Amps;4 JL Audio Fathom IWSv2-SYS-213 Subs;Marantz 8805 AVR;Panasonic DP-UB9000 Player;Apple TV 4k Player;Sony VPL-VW995ES Projector;130" x 55" Stewart Acoustically Perforated Screen;4x10HD MiniDSP

Last edited by yanivfromca; 07-04-2020 at 09:09 PM.
yanivfromca is offline  
post #5151 of 5206 Old 07-04-2020, 08:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Could be a crossover issue, do a sweep with LR and the subwoofers at the same time.
yanivfromca likes this.
bogaboga is offline  
post #5152 of 5206 Old 07-04-2020, 08:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bogaboga View Post
Could be a crossover issue, do a sweep with LR and the subwoofers at the same time.
How would I go about doing that? Right now, the Crossover is set to All at 250 and set to Stereo.
Thanks

9 B&W CWM 8.3D Speakers;4 B&W CCM 8.5D Height Speakers;3 Rotel RMB 1585 Speaker Amps;4 JL Audio Fathom IWSv2-SYS-213 Subs;Marantz 8805 AVR;Panasonic DP-UB9000 Player;Apple TV 4k Player;Sony VPL-VW995ES Projector;130" x 55" Stewart Acoustically Perforated Screen;4x10HD MiniDSP
yanivfromca is offline  
post #5153 of 5206 Old 07-04-2020, 09:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanivfromca View Post
How would I go about doing that? Right now, the Crossover is set to All at 250 and set to Stereo.
Thanks

Set the crossover to 80Hz and run a sweep from 200Hz to 10Hz, that should do it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bogaboga is offline  
post #5154 of 5206 Old 07-05-2020, 07:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1005 Post(s)
Liked: 1095
Audyssey also likes to mess up my REW/miniDSP subwoofer calibration.

If you're using the multEQ app what you can do is load the calibration file with Ratbuddyssey and set the frequency range filter of the subwoofer to 0. That way audyssey won't correct the frequency response of it and you have full manual control with the miniDSP.
It will still adjust volume though, which you have to measure/correct with REW again.
jk82 is offline  
post #5155 of 5206 Old 07-05-2020, 11:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Would it by any chance have anything to do with my logic of it all:

Volume of -20 in the AVR
All subs are gain matched to the initial db of the first of four subs (did not modify the gain to drop it to 75). As such, they are all at 80db gain matched.
Calibrated using REW/MiniDSP.
Ran an EQ for a flat 75.
Without touching the input gain in MiniDSP (keeping it at 0) and then running Audyssey, I had to adjust the gain down to -10.5 for Audyssey to accept it at a 75db level

Here is what i did next.
I closed out of Audyssey and went into my input gain and set the gain to -10.5
Ran a sweep and this totally changed the previous EQ when I did not adjust the gain at all (was at 0).
So, I figured I would keep the input to -10.5 and now do sub alignment all over again and EQ to 75.
Ran Audyssey, which liked the -10.5 and proceeded without adjusting further.

That is where those readings are from in my initial post. Should I have just kept my original EQ and not the one I did that was done to a -10.5 input gain? If we keep the EQ with the first one (which is what the youtube guides mention), and then Audyssey has me drop the gain so that it falls to 75db, isn't doing so completely changing the EQ we did to the gain at 0 (since the gain changes the EQ)?

Clearly, totally confused now haha. In a fun way though!

9 B&W CWM 8.3D Speakers;4 B&W CCM 8.5D Height Speakers;3 Rotel RMB 1585 Speaker Amps;4 JL Audio Fathom IWSv2-SYS-213 Subs;Marantz 8805 AVR;Panasonic DP-UB9000 Player;Apple TV 4k Player;Sony VPL-VW995ES Projector;130" x 55" Stewart Acoustically Perforated Screen;4x10HD MiniDSP
yanivfromca is offline  
post #5156 of 5206 Old 07-05-2020, 11:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanivfromca View Post
Would it by any chance have anything to do with my logic of it all:

Volume of -20 in the AVR
All subs are gain matched to the initial db of the first of four subs (did not modify the gain to drop it to 75). As such, they are all at 80db gain matched.
Calibrated using REW/MiniDSP.
Ran an EQ for a flat 75.
Without touching the input gain in MiniDSP (keeping it at 0) and then running Audyssey, I had to adjust the gain down to -10.5 for Audyssey to accept it at a 75db level

Here is what i did next.
I closed out of Audyssey and went into my input gain and set the gain to -10.5
Ran a sweep and this totally changed the previous EQ when I did not adjust the gain at all (was at 0).
So, I figured I would keep the input to -10.5 and now do sub alignment all over again and EQ to 75.
Ran Audyssey, which liked the -10.5 and proceeded without adjusting further.

That is where those readings are from in my initial post. Should I have just kept my original EQ and not the one I did that was done to a -10.5 input gain? If we keep the EQ with the first one (which is what the youtube guides mention), and then Audyssey has me drop the gain so that it falls to 75db, isn't doing so completely changing the EQ we did to the gain at 0 (since the gain changes the EQ)?

Clearly, totally confused now haha. In a fun way though!
Yes it sounds like the way you first calibrated to 75dB is not correct. You would want to EQ flat with REW to minidsp, then run test tone through the AVR and use the SPL meter in REW to set trim and subwoofer gain to be 75 dB. Then when you run Audyssey it should be pretty close to the level Audyssey sets
djdanny is online now  
post #5157 of 5206 Old 07-05-2020, 11:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
[QUOTE=djdanny;59906302]
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanivfromca View Post
"Yes it sounds like the way you first calibrated to 75dB is not correct. You would want to EQ flat with REW to minidsp, then run test tone through the AVR and use the SPL meter in REW to set trim and subwoofer gain to be 75 dB. Then when you run Audyssey it should be pretty close to the level Audyssey sets"
Thanks. So to clarify, I thought that is what my initial EQ was. Volume at -20 in the avr, no change to miniDSP input gain, all subs gain matched to 80db to match the furthest sub. Adjust for delays. Ran EQ in minidsp and set the parameter to level match to 75 and as straight as possible.

At this point, are you saying I should then go to levels in the avr and run a test tone to 75 (with all subs on), and modify the input gain to match 75? Isn't that the same as what I did by changing the input gain to -10.5 previously when audyssey suggested to do so at the start? If so, does that mean stick with the EQ I did before the input change to -10.5? Doesn't that change our EQ work though? Thanks.

9 B&W CWM 8.3D Speakers;4 B&W CCM 8.5D Height Speakers;3 Rotel RMB 1585 Speaker Amps;4 JL Audio Fathom IWSv2-SYS-213 Subs;Marantz 8805 AVR;Panasonic DP-UB9000 Player;Apple TV 4k Player;Sony VPL-VW995ES Projector;130" x 55" Stewart Acoustically Perforated Screen;4x10HD MiniDSP

Last edited by yanivfromca; 07-05-2020 at 12:03 PM.
yanivfromca is offline  
post #5158 of 5206 Old 07-05-2020, 12:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanivfromca View Post

Doesn't that change our EQ work though? Thanks.
If you are only changing levels equally through the AVR subwoofer trim then it will not mess up any of the EQ. The only way you would mess up EQ is if you either change anything that affects sub to sub delay (either in minidsp or AVR distances if you are using two sub outs) or if you change the levels on the subs unequally (if you’re using two sub outs and changing the trim on one more than the other or changing the gain on one sub more than the other).
djdanny is online now  
post #5159 of 5206 Old 07-05-2020, 05:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by djdanny View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanivfromca View Post

Doesn't that change our EQ work though? Thanks.
If you are only changing levels equally through the AVR subwoofer trim then it will not mess up any of the EQ. The only way you would mess up EQ is if you either change anything that affects sub to sub delay (either in minidsp or AVR distances if you are using two sub outs) or if you change the levels on the subs unequally (if you’re using two sub outs and changing the trim on one more than the other or changing the gain on one sub more than the other).
Got it! So basically, starting over (tomorrow), I'll set an avr volume, I'll level gain the subs to the furthest sub. I will run sweeps and enter delays. And then set an EQ to any flat line I can achieve (not necessarily 75). Once I manage to get a flat EQ, then, with all four subs outputs on, run a sub test tone from the AVR. Run the SPL Meter and adjust the master input level in mini DSP to 75 - which, if I understand, the input level gain does not change an EQ at all if I were to run a new sub sweep? (I think that is what is throwing me off since when I did this previously, when changing the input gain that controls all subs, the new sub sweep had a totally different reading and no longer a flat line). In doing so, running audyssey after this would keep the EQ that was already done. Will try it out and let ya know. Appreciate all the help!

9 B&W CWM 8.3D Speakers;4 B&W CCM 8.5D Height Speakers;3 Rotel RMB 1585 Speaker Amps;4 JL Audio Fathom IWSv2-SYS-213 Subs;Marantz 8805 AVR;Panasonic DP-UB9000 Player;Apple TV 4k Player;Sony VPL-VW995ES Projector;130" x 55" Stewart Acoustically Perforated Screen;4x10HD MiniDSP
yanivfromca is offline  
post #5160 of 5206 Old 07-05-2020, 11:25 PM
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Check Levels MiniDSP

Hi there,

When running check Levels in MiniDSP, do you turn the outputs on or off? I am running four subs through it. Not sure how to use check Levels. Might have been using it wrong and have had ear ringing while trying to calibrate the subs. Want to make sure I know how to set the levels right for sweeps. Thanks!
AtmosFan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
Audyssey , minidsp , multiple subwoofers , rew

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off