8x 18" LMS 5400 Ultras Sealed to 27 Cube 15hz Ported Build - Page 17 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 71Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #481 of 614 Old 05-08-2014, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lukeamdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 3,789
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1385 Post(s)
Liked: 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trepidati0n View Post

Rules of thumb applied universally will usually result in a result below what you were expecting. However, notnyt understands the rules and thus he knows when to deviate from the rule of thumb.

Yeah, he had a sealed cab (heavily stuffed) side by side with a ported cab and couldn't tell any "SQ" differences.
lukeamdman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #482 of 614 Old 05-17-2014, 11:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,193
Mentioned: 313 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3728 Post(s)
Liked: 3697
Someone from the forum who had heard the previous setup just came by tonight. Gave a fresh demo with some music and then we ended up watching A-TEAM. I'll drop him this link, maybe he can chime in with his observations.

I actually managed to trip one of my PDUs tonight... That means I have to get another one for my inuke. I had an FP14000 and an NU1000DSP on the same 20A PDU. While playing some pendulum with the bass about 24db over reference it popped the breaker. I might just get a standard surge strip, I'm not worried about an NU1000 melting one like I know an FP14000 will...
notnyt is offline  
post #483 of 614 Old 05-18-2014, 04:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 4,323
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1188 Post(s)
Liked: 876
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post

Someone from the forum who had heard the previous setup just came by tonight. Gave a fresh demo with some music and then we ended up watching A-TEAM. I'll drop him this link, maybe he can chime in with his observations.

I actually managed to trip one of my PDUs tonight... That means I have to get another one for my inuke. I had an FP14000 and an NU1000DSP on the same 20A PDU. While playing some pendulum with the bass about 24db over reference it popped the breaker. I might just get a standard surge strip, I'm not worried about an NU1000 melting one like I know an FP14000 will...

You could safely just change the breaker to 30A as long as you arent playing nonstop sinewaves. The existing wiring should be fine

Blazar!
blazar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #484 of 614 Old 05-18-2014, 09:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,193
Mentioned: 313 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3728 Post(s)
Liked: 3697
Quote:
Originally Posted by blazar View Post

You could safely just change the breaker to 30A as long as you arent playing nonstop sinewaves. The existing wiring should be fine

I didn't trip the breaker. It's already a 30a circuit.

I use rackmount pdus for surge protection since standard strips will melt/trip if i run the fp14000s off them. The pdu just tripped, so going to get a surge strip for the inuke and move it off the pdu.

Also, what you suggest would be a code violation.
notnyt is offline  
post #485 of 614 Old 05-18-2014, 09:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blah450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 173
not...which rm 30amp pdu do you use?
blah450 is offline  
post #486 of 614 Old 05-18-2014, 09:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,193
Mentioned: 313 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3728 Post(s)
Liked: 3697
Quote:
Originally Posted by blah450 View Post

not...which rm 30amp pdu do you use?

I said I use a 20a pdu =] It's plugged into a 30a circuit.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00077IS32
notnyt is offline  
post #487 of 614 Old 05-18-2014, 09:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blah450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 173
blah450 is offline  
post #488 of 614 Old 05-18-2014, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 4,323
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1188 Post(s)
Liked: 876
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post

I didn't trip the breaker. It's already a 30a circuit.

I use rackmount pdus for surge protection since standard strips will melt/trip if i run the fp14000s off them. The pdu just tripped, so going to get a surge strip for the inuke and move it off the pdu.

Also, what you suggest would be a code violation.

Yep definitely a violation, you dont want to go crazy on amp output. It's just to handle occasional peaks.

At my usual listening volumes I am only pulling 5-10amps so the 20A wire is not being affected. It's not like running a motor (like a washing machine) or an oven.

Blazar!
blazar is offline  
post #489 of 614 Old 06-09-2014, 05:35 PM
Senior Member
 
apilon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Montreal. Quebec
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Hi

How can i transpose the dimension to include 2 X 15" instead of 2 X 18"

Alain

Alain Pilon

Montreal, Quebec
apilon is offline  
post #490 of 614 Old 06-09-2014, 05:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,193
Mentioned: 313 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3728 Post(s)
Liked: 3697
Quote:
Originally Posted by apilon View Post

Hi

How can i transpose the dimension to include 2 X 15" instead of 2 X 18"

Alain

You don't.

You need to model out the box size required for 2x15 at whatever tune you want, using the specific parameters from whichever 15s you're using, then go from there.
notnyt is offline  
post #491 of 614 Old 06-23-2014, 10:45 AM
Member
 
sabaspeed521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just throwing this out there, Couldn't you just have built 2 horns and gotten the same output with a total of 10 A? Haha, only issue there is the extreme low end you want. ~ 130 dB down to 20 Hz is easily doable with FH designs. Anyways it is extremely impressive, wish I could experience.
sabaspeed521 is offline  
post #492 of 614 Old 06-23-2014, 06:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,193
Mentioned: 313 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3728 Post(s)
Liked: 3697
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabaspeed521 View Post
Just throwing this out there, Couldn't you just have built 2 horns and gotten the same output with a total of 10 A? Haha, only issue there is the extreme low end you want. ~ 130 dB down to 20 Hz is easily doable with FH designs. Anyways it is extremely impressive, wish I could experience.
I wanted the extensions, horns don't do it for me. A horn built to about the same volume as one of these boxes wouldn't be tuned as low, but using only one driver would get me about the same output as using the two drivers I'm using now. However, with two drivers in a ported box, I get the output, and the extension. win/win, just costs more, but no downsides as opposed to a horns FR.
SpinMonster likes this.
notnyt is offline  
post #493 of 614 Old 07-03-2014, 11:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,835
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 960 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Really awesome theater. I can't even imagine how good it sounds.

Does having non-stuffed subs not effect "boominess" at all? Is "boominess" only caused by non-flat frequency response / room modes?

Did you notice the extra group delay that ported subs have over sealed?
Bassment is offline  
post #494 of 614 Old 07-03-2014, 11:45 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 21,509
Mentioned: 200 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5985 Post(s)
Liked: 5114
Stuffing an enclosure helps reduce out-of-band resonance. Rob crosses at 80hz or lower, iirc. So not an issue.

Rob's vented enclosures are tuned ~15hz so group delay is a complete non-issue.

"Boominess" is caused usually by the room itself and various excited modes determined by it's geometry.
notnyt likes this.
Scott Simonian is offline  
post #495 of 614 Old 07-03-2014, 12:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,193
Mentioned: 313 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3728 Post(s)
Liked: 3697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassment View Post
Really awesome theater. I can't even imagine how good it sounds.

Does having non-stuffed subs not effect "boominess" at all? Is "boominess" only caused by non-flat frequency response / room modes?

Did you notice the extra group delay that ported subs have over sealed?
Scott basically answered. Stuffing reduces overall output, didn't really need it. Subs perform as intended, no bad noises or resonances.

This is the group delay of sealed vs ported:

notnyt is offline  
post #496 of 614 Old 07-03-2014, 01:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,835
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 960 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Cool thanks for the info. So do you recommend that no-one stuff/line ported subs? What scenario would you stuff/line a ported sub?
Bassment is offline  
post #497 of 614 Old 07-03-2014, 01:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,193
Mentioned: 313 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3728 Post(s)
Liked: 3697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassment View Post
Cool thanks for the info. So do you recommend that no-one stuff/line ported subs? What scenario would you stuff/line a ported sub?
Depends on the tuning and the frequency range its being used. Also box resonances and port resonances need to be considered.
martinq likes this.
notnyt is offline  
post #498 of 614 Old 07-03-2014, 04:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WereWolf84's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
Depends on the tuning and the frequency range its being used. Also box resonances and port resonances need to be considered.
If I build a large sealed box, say 15 cf, should I line & stuffing 15lbs polyfills?
WereWolf84 is offline  
post #499 of 614 Old 07-03-2014, 04:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,193
Mentioned: 313 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3728 Post(s)
Liked: 3697
Quote:
Originally Posted by WereWolf84 View Post
If I build a large sealed box, say 15 cf, should I line & stuffing 15lbs polyfills?
Sealed I'd say yes. You don't have to worry about air velocity and such in the box, which affect port output.
notnyt is offline  
post #500 of 614 Old 07-03-2014, 09:49 PM
Member
 
Blazen244's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MD.
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Maybe I missed it but what kind of amp is being used?

Mr.Zoom
Blazen244 is offline  
post #501 of 614 Old 07-03-2014, 10:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,193
Mentioned: 313 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3728 Post(s)
Liked: 3697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blazen244 View Post
Maybe I missed it but what kind of amp is being used?
4 fp14000 clones
notnyt is offline  
post #502 of 614 Old 07-05-2014, 06:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,193
Mentioned: 313 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3728 Post(s)
Liked: 3697
notnyt is offline  
post #503 of 614 Old 07-05-2014, 08:41 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 21,509
Mentioned: 200 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5985 Post(s)
Liked: 5114
Like a boss.
Scott Simonian is offline  
post #504 of 614 Old 07-05-2014, 10:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Reddig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central U.S.
Posts: 2,820
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Awesome dude!

JBL Pro Cinema/JTR/JVC/Denon/Oppo/Roku Ultra/Elite Screens/Furman/Seatcraft/Acoustimac/AudioQuest
Reddig is offline  
post #505 of 614 Old 07-06-2014, 12:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gpmbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,992
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Nice!
gpmbc is online now  
post #506 of 614 Old 07-06-2014, 06:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dominguez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,345
Mentioned: 163 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1172 Post(s)
Liked: 1111
Very cool! Did you even know the dts guys or was that totally out of the blue?
dominguez1 is offline  
post #507 of 614 Old 07-06-2014, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 18,355
Mentioned: 134 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2348 Post(s)
Liked: 2298
In the spirit of this build and thread I am going to try to low tune my IB and see what happens. I have ridiculous output at 5 hz now so I don't want to lose that. I modeled different tunings and ports which shows me gaining 13 dBs at 10hz(tune), 9 dBs at 12.5hz, and 6 dBs at 16hz. It also shows me having the same output down near 5 hz which is the end of my current signal chain(flat anyways) so I won't be sacrificing anything. We shall see and I could always seal the holes back up! I will have 4 12 inch round ports which keeps air velocity low as well. I could have used one 24 inch round port but I wan to add one beneath each dual woofers.
MKtheater is online now  
post #508 of 614 Old 07-06-2014, 09:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,193
Mentioned: 313 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3728 Post(s)
Liked: 3697
Quote:
Originally Posted by dominguez1 View Post
Very cool! Did you even know the dts guys or was that totally out of the blue?
out of the blue

Quote:
Originally Posted by MKtheater View Post
In the spirit of this build and thread I am going to try to low tune my IB and see what happens. I have ridiculous output at 5 hz now so I don't want to lose that. I modeled different tunings and ports which shows me gaining 13 dBs at 10hz(tune), 9 dBs at 12.5hz, and 6 dBs at 16hz. It also shows me having the same output down near 5 hz which is the end of my current signal chain(flat anyways) so I won't be sacrificing anything. We shall see and I could always seal the holes back up! I will have 4 12 inch round ports which keeps air velocity low as well. I could have used one 24 inch round port but I wan to add one beneath each dual woofers.
tune near 15Hz for most fun you can always start lower and then trim the port to raise the tune
notnyt is offline  
post #509 of 614 Old 07-06-2014, 09:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 18,355
Mentioned: 134 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2348 Post(s)
Liked: 2298
Yeah, I will tune around 11 hz with 24 inch long ports and cutting them shorter raises tune which I won't do, I feel 6hz on concrete! The sim shows 117 dBs at 10hz for my IB and 130 dBs for the LLT. This is without room gain.
MKtheater is online now  
post #510 of 614 Old 07-06-2014, 12:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Reddig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central U.S.
Posts: 2,820
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 982
You gunna start a thread MK? Wanna keep up with your progress.

JBL Pro Cinema/JTR/JVC/Denon/Oppo/Roku Ultra/Elite Screens/Furman/Seatcraft/Acoustimac/AudioQuest
Reddig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
Tc Sounds Lms Ultra 5400

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off