subwoofer too much for LCD TVs? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By Bill Fitzmaurice
  • 1 Post By Bill Fitzmaurice
  • 1 Post By BassThatHz
  • 1 Post By m1ghtyun1t
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 12-17-2014, 07:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
subwoofer too much for LCD TVs?

I have now bought a 6000DSP for my two 480L UM18 sub towers (used to use a 3000DSP) and I am noticing that the picture on my TV is going bad in the center as well as increased persistence in the picture when the sub plays real loud and real low. Is this common?
Attached Images
 
m1ghtyun1t is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 12-18-2014, 04:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Bombelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Paramaribo
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 52
any issues with the shorting ring ? any idea ?
Bombelman is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 12-18-2014, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JohnDean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 542 Post(s)
Liked: 254
I've had 4 18s within 5' of my 70" LCD for almost 2 years now and I haven't noticed any problems.
JohnDean is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 25 Old 12-18-2014, 10:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bombelman View Post
any issues with the shorting ring ? any idea ?
Shorting Ring? I do not know what that is.
m1ghtyun1t is offline  
post #5 of 25 Old 12-18-2014, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDean View Post
I've had 4 18s within 5' of my 70" LCD for almost 2 years now and I haven't noticed any problems.
I will try and take a pic and post it if I can. To me it looks like the sub is interfering with the Liquid Crystals in the Display. But what do I know
m1ghtyun1t is offline  
post #6 of 25 Old 12-18-2014, 10:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,716
Mentioned: 227 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3716 Post(s)
Liked: 4228
I've had LCD screens in my theater for 13 years now. No problems here.
(That said: I've had mine on sinewave UPS conditioned power, so...)

The inukes don't have PFC, I would recommend this product to electrically-protect your next TV just to be on the safe side:
http://www.amazon.com/CyberPower-CP1...ower+Pure+Sine

It is probably just dying from old age. How old is the thing?

Let me guess: you live in Hawaii and let saltwater spray on it 24/7 @ 9 million degrees direct sunlight, while also smoking 3 packs a day around it. hehe

Last edited by BassThatHz; 12-18-2014 at 10:53 AM.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 12-18-2014, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Bombelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Paramaribo
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by m1ghtyun1t View Post
Shorting Ring? I do not know what that is.
I replied to a different topic, I hav no idea how this lost got here xD
Bombelman is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old 12-18-2014, 11:21 AM
Member
 
Darrel Drake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post
I've had LCD screens in my theater for 13 years now. No problems here.
(That said: I've had mine on sinewave UPS conditioned power, so...)

The inukes don't have PFC, I would recommend this product to electrically-protect your next TV just to be on the safe side:
http://www.amazon.com/CyberPower-CP1...ower+Pure+Sine

It is probably just dying from old age. How old is the thing?

Let me guess: you live in Hawaii and let saltwater spray on it 24/7 @ 9 million degrees direct sunlight, while also smoking 3 packs a day around it. hehe
I'll second having/getting a sinewave UPS. I had some, brand new, PC components get fried due to power instability. I ended up picking up the CP1500PFCLCD and haven't had any problems since. I know that isn't scientific, but having something relatively inexpensive that will protect the 3500ish dollars worth of stuff plugged into it really eases the mind.
Darrel Drake is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 12-18-2014, 01:12 PM
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 15,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 5770
Quote:
Originally Posted by m1ghtyun1t View Post
I have now bought a 6000DSP for my two 480L UM18 sub towers (used to use a 3000DSP) and I am noticing that the picture on my TV is going bad in the center as well as increased persistence in the picture when the sub plays real loud and real low. Is this common?
If the only change to the system is the amp then it's possible the amp is causing the TV to be current starved, especially if they're plugged into the same outlet. Even if they aren't they may still be on the same branch circuit. You can find that out by turning off the breaker that causes the TV to go off, see if the amp also goes off.
I've never found any power conditioners to be of any benefit, other than UPS, and those only for what they're actually intended to do, which is to give a computer time to save data before powering down in case of a power outage. Time was when they were also useful to protect cheap computer power supplies from surges that wouldn't have bothered them if they were well made, an issue that computer manufacturers seem to have addressed.
brian6751 likes this.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #10 of 25 Old 12-18-2014, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Bill I had not thought of that.

Here is a short video of what I am seeing. http://s866.photobucket.com/user/mig...rary/Subwoofer
m1ghtyun1t is offline  
post #11 of 25 Old 12-18-2014, 05:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post
It is probably just dying from old age. How old is the thing?
2008 Sharp Aquos

Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post
Let me guess: you live in Hawaii and let saltwater spray on it 24/7 @ 9 million degrees direct sunlight, while also smoking 3 packs a day around it. hehe
How about the exact opposite. Up in Manitoba Canada, no smoke, no pets, no excessive humidity etc etc.
m1ghtyun1t is offline  
post #12 of 25 Old 12-18-2014, 06:21 PM
Member
 
Darrel Drake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to clarify that the UPS I was referring to above has voltage output regulation---I got it to protect against brownouts, and it has worked wonderfully so far.
Darrel Drake is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 12-18-2014, 06:54 PM
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 15,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 5770
Quote:
Originally Posted by m1ghtyun1t View Post
Bill I had not thought of that.
Here is a short video of what I am seeing. http://s866.photobucket.com/user/mig...rary/Subwoofer
I'm not experienced in whether or not that could be caused by the TV being voltage or current starved, but I'd say that's a more likely explanation than low frequency waves. If they could cause that I doubt that you would be the first to see it.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #14 of 25 Old 12-18-2014, 09:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Fitzmaurice View Post
I'm not experienced in whether or not that could be caused by the TV being voltage or current starved, but I'd say that's a more likely explanation than low frequency waves. If they could cause that I doubt that you would be the first to see it.
My subs are nothing compared those that others build here. I thought fore sure others had experienced what I am seeing.

I will explore this idea of power the tv from its own circuit. thanks
m1ghtyun1t is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 12-19-2014, 05:29 AM
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 15,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 5770
If you're going to power something on its own circuit it should be the power amp.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old 12-19-2014, 05:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wvu80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: West Virginia, US
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by m1ghtyun1t View Post
Bill I had not thought of that.

Here is a short video of what I am seeing. http://s866.photobucket.com/user/mig...rary/Subwoofer
Is that video problem pulsating with the sub's sound? Can you reproduce the problem at will, then solve it by turning off your sub/sound?

That is a strange problem, I've never seen that before. You might want to post this over in the Video section. Maybe some of those people have experience with this.

Last edited by wvu80; 12-19-2014 at 06:00 AM.
wvu80 is offline  
post #17 of 25 Old 12-19-2014, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by wvu80 View Post
Is that video problem pulsating with the sub's sound? Can you reproduce the problem at will, then solve it by turning off your sub/sound?

That is a strange problem, I've never seen that before. You might want to post this over in the Video section. Maybe some of those people have experience with this.
This anomaly is proportional to the the output of the sub. I can reproduce this whenever I want. If I turn down the sub some this anomaly is no longer present.
m1ghtyun1t is offline  
post #18 of 25 Old 12-19-2014, 09:17 AM
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 15,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 5770
Quote:
Originally Posted by m1ghtyun1t View Post
This anomaly is proportional to the the output of the sub.
So is the current draw of the amp. Simply plugging the amp into a circuit that you've verified is not on the same circuit would probably reveal if that's the problem.
wvu80 likes this.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #19 of 25 Old 12-19-2014, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
m1ghtyun1t is offline  
post #20 of 25 Old 12-19-2014, 09:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Fitzmaurice View Post
So is the current draw of the amp. Simply plugging the amp into a circuit that you've verified is not on the same circuit would probably reveal if that's the problem.
Yup totally right, I will try that when I get the time.
m1ghtyun1t is offline  
post #21 of 25 Old 12-20-2014, 08:29 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,716
Mentioned: 227 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3716 Post(s)
Liked: 4228
It is probably brief undervoltage caused by a 6000watt amp that is sharing the same 1800watt breaker as the TV.
Unless you put it on it's own breaker the inuke will eventually kill the TV and anything else that is on that line, by the sounds of it.
It is going on 7 years old, so it might just be dying on it's own, some times things die earlier than expected; happens...

If you can't put it on it's own breaker, then it is best to stop cranking it so heavily.

You'd need a $9000 hospital-grade UPS to protect your TV from what the inuke is doing to it. Which costs more than your TV is even worth... it's just not practical, so so much for that idea!

The best, and really ONLY solution at this point, is to pay an electrician to put in a new line for the inuke.

I've had decent lifespan from Samsung and LG screens. The other brands... no idea, I don't buy them.
brian6751 likes this.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #22 of 25 Old 12-21-2014, 05:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rhodesj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post
You'd need a $9000 hospital-grade UPS to protect your TV from what the inuke is doing to it.
The best, and really ONLY solution at this point, is to pay an electrician to put in a new line for the inuke.

Not quite, a double-conversion UPS like this should do the trick for closer to $1000: http://www.apc.com/products/resource...otal_watts=200

But even at $1000, I would think you can get an electrician to run a new circuit more cheaply, and that is still a better solution. If the voltage to the TV is sagging, then it's sagging to the amp and everything else on that circuit.
rhodesj is offline  
post #23 of 25 Old 12-21-2014, 07:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thanks for all the input guys. I did try powering the inuke from a different circuit and still the same issue. At this point I am thinking it is the TV.
m1ghtyun1t is offline  
post #24 of 25 Old 12-02-2015, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Been a long time since I posted but it was in the end the TV. Bought an OLED LG and it does not suffer from the same issues.
kaiforce likes this.
m1ghtyun1t is offline  
post #25 of 25 Old 12-02-2015, 12:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 7,000
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1698 Post(s)
Liked: 1693
Quote:
Originally Posted by m1ghtyun1t View Post
Thanks for all the input guys. I did try powering the inuke from a different circuit and still the same issue. At this point I am thinking it is the TV.
you maybe moved it to another outlet but you must have still been on the same outlet. I would still look at trying to get that amp on its own circuit.

--------------------------------------------------
FOR SALE:
Lots of stuff. Check the Audio Gear Classifieds
brian6751 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off