Total Novice, Looking for Suggestions - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 07-28-2015, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Total Novice, Looking for Suggestions

Alright, my wife has a pair of hand-me-down Sony SS-MF400H speakers that are in great condition (no dinged corners or anything). We were going to see if we could get $50 for them and get them out of the house, but I'm kinda thinking I want to use them to learn how to do some veneering and would also like to swap the drivers out and maybe get a little better sound out of them. About the extent of my handiness has been building our tv stand in the living room since I couldn't find one that would house my giant Klipsch RC-7 center. I included a pic of it below.

I've never tried my hand at veneering. I don't know what kind to get or what's involved. I have ordered a couple of free 8x10 samples from the "Re-Cover" line from Wilsonart, but have no idea if that's even the right line. I've included pics of the speakers below. I'm assuming the cabinets are MDF, but can't tell what they are coated with. Maybe it's just paint, no idea. Can anyone tell from the pics? What would I need to do to veneer over top of this?