Finally, bass upgrade - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By Fatshaft
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 10-24-2015, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Finally, bass upgrade

Well it's been 8-9 years lurking on this site finally upgrading my 12 in sub with 2 mini Marty's with um-18s. With a nu6000dsp. My receiver has two sub outs do I use both or use a splitter to go into amp? I'm not sure what the best way to hook these up any help would be appreciated
Bahack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 10-24-2015, 08:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Fatshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,994
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 593 Post(s)
Liked: 921
First of all...congrats! You'll be amazed at the output compared to your 12" sub.

You need to know if your subs out are independently controllable.
If yes then more power to you and that's the way I would connect it.

Good luck and congrats on finally joining too!
LTD02 and brian6751 like this.

My Build Thread
Equipment Speakers:
3x 1099's for LCR duty
4x Fusion 8's for surround duty
8x subs: 4x FTW21's and 4x SI18's
Fatshaft is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 10-24-2015, 09:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 7,033
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1706 Post(s)
Liked: 1703
What model is your receiver?

--------------------------------------------------
FOR SALE:
Lots of stuff. Check the Audio Gear Classifieds
brian6751 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 20 Old 10-24-2015, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
EndersShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 6,176
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1255 Post(s)
Liked: 1525
I'd connect each individually. That way if your AVR can EQ em differently your set, and even if it can't your still set, so with way it's a win win.
EndersShadow is online now  
post #5 of 20 Old 10-24-2015, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you. My receiver is Yamaha rx-673. Any information on hook up from speaker to amp would help a lot
Bahack is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 10-24-2015, 11:10 AM
Senior Member
 
wasser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bahack View Post
Thank you. My receiver is Yamaha rx-673. Any information on hook up from speaker to amp would help a lot
Do what EndersShadow said - use both outputs on the receiver. In the very least it is already a splitter. At the most your AVR can make individual adjustments.

So, you'll need two RCA to XLR cables to go from receiver to amp and then amp to subwoofers needs two Speakon to whatever matches your subwoofer hookups.
wasser is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 10-24-2015, 11:20 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you, I'm good on that end now. How do I run the wires at the 4 pole Speakon connector to sub this part a little confusing?
Bahack is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 10-24-2015, 11:49 AM
Senior Member
 
wasser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 83
If you're going speakon to speakon, then just use 1+ and 1-. You'll see it on the inside of the connector.

The video from the Marty FAQ can help you understand:

wasser is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 10-24-2015, 12:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you, I'm sorry I meant do I need to run a jumper with this model um-18 22 bridge,parallel or what can't find many builds with this sub. This part I'm really a noob sorry.
Bahack is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 10-24-2015, 02:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,815
Mentioned: 235 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3777 Post(s)
Liked: 4297
It will only be a tiny bit louder (Tiny like a billion x )
BassThatHz is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 10-24-2015, 03:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
coolrda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 3,916
Mentioned: 245 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1391 Post(s)
Liked: 1506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bahack View Post
Well it's been 8-9 years lurking on this site finally upgrading my 12 in sub with 2 mini Marty's with um-18s. With a nu6000dsp. My receiver has two sub outs do I use both or use a splitter to go into amp? I'm not sure what the best way to hook these up any help would be appreciated
Wait. So you've been covertly following along for nine years, then you go from lurking to thread starter to boom! I got two 18" M&M's?Well alright then. Welcome.
coolrda is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 10-24-2015, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
wasser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bahack View Post
Thank you, I'm sorry I meant do I need to run a jumper with this model um-18 22 bridge,parallel or what can't find many builds with this sub. This part I'm really a noob sorry.
The UM-18 is a dual 2 ohm. You want to wire it in series for a 4 ohm load. Wire it just like in the picture.

wasser is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 10-24-2015, 11:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks, 4ohms will give me how many watts per channel?
Bahack is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 10-25-2015, 03:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PsychoM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bahack View Post
Thanks, 4ohms will give me how many watts per channel?
The iNuke 6000 puts out ~1800 "real" watts per channel at 4 ohms.
PsychoM3 is online now  
post #15 of 20 Old 11-12-2015, 04:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ok,everything up and sounding good. Pics coming this weekend I hope. Is there any way to hook up 6000dsp to iPad? Trying to find adapter for this cable. My pc is Upstairs.
Bahack is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 11-12-2015, 04:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
mlah384's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 898
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 229
When I connected my 6000dsp to my ipad, it sounded horrible... The ipad didnt provide a strong enough signal. Once I connected an AVR and a bluray, OMG... huge difference...
mlah384 is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 11-12-2015, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
No, just to run the dsp program that came with the 6000dsp
Bahack is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 11-12-2015, 04:43 PM
Member
 
BSHuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bahack View Post
Ok,everything up and sounding good. Pics coming this weekend I hope. Is there any way to hook up 6000dsp to iPad? Trying to find adapter for this cable. My pc is Upstairs.
After I typed an answer... are you looking to feed signal from your iPad to your iNuke or configure your iNuke?

To configure you need a PC there are no options that I know of to use anything other than a PC. No Mac/IOS options

Last edited by BSHuff; 11-12-2015 at 05:04 PM.
BSHuff is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 11-12-2015, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just trying to configure the 6000dsp ty
Bahack is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 11-12-2015, 05:27 PM
Senior Member
 
wasser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bahack View Post
Just trying to configure the 6000dsp ty
You can configure it right from the front panel.
wasser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off