AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews (https://www.avsforum.com/forum/)
-   DIY Speakers and Subs (https://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-diy-speakers-subs/)
-   -   Sealed 1299 Thread (https://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-diy-speakers-subs/2723601-sealed-1299-thread.html)

thorstaj 01-21-2017 12:30 PM

Sealed 1299 Thread

I'm getting ready to start building a LCR set of 1299's, and am currently in the process of gathering materials. I have never built speakers before, so I apologize if I'm asking fairly uninformed questions...

1) Ported or Sealed? I'm leaning towards sealed due to the size of these speakers, and I'm going to have a couple of subwoofers anyway. (A mini marty is most likely next on the agenda, if I manage to not cut my fingers off or burn the house down building the 1299's). It seems like most people posting are building ported versions of the 1299 though. Does anyone have seriously *strong* opinions on the ported version, or is it just nice-to-have?

2) Double baffle? Do most people recommend a double-baffle with this speaker, or is the one provided in the kit enough?

3) Crossover. Since this is my first set, I want to take some risk out of the equation by getting a fabricated board. Looking around, it seems like the boards built by ja00 are pretty dummy-proof.

@ja00 could you send me a PM? I'm interested in some boards for the 1299.

ja00 01-21-2017 12:58 PM

PM sent

tuxedocivic 01-21-2017 03:10 PM

Double baffle is a good idea if you can handle the wood working aspect. Not saying that to condesend, you just said some thing that sounded like youre not totally comfortable with everything. If you only do a single baffle thats cool too.

Sealed is just fine. People go ported because itll have a lot more bass. But the enclosures have to be huge. And youll have subs anyways. If you want to listen to music without subs once in a while, might wanna go ported.

jehlinge 01-21-2017 08:25 PM