15’ deep by 20’ wide by 8’ high space - Klipsch Reference or DIYSG? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By RoboAVS

post #1 of 23 Old 11-14-2017, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 13
15’ deep by 20’ wide by 8’ high space - Klipsch Reference or DIYSG?

I have a 15 foot deep by 20 foot wide by 8 foot high dedicated HT space and need to figure out what sounds better. Will Klipsch RP-280F towers and a RP-450C center sound better or would 3 DIYSG HT12 speakers in the wall, with one behind the screen, sound better? I’m an experienced woodworker so building them will be enjoyable. My MLP will be about 12 feet from the screen. If I build the speakers into the wall, I will build them out into the free attic space, and this means that the center channel will need to be close to the AT screen I choose to make or buy. How close can a HT12 be to the screen? I was also contemplating using Volt 8’s for the 2 side surrounds, 2 rear surrounds and 2 height speakers, or going with Klipsch speakers if I use Klipsch up front. I am also contemplating using 2 SVS PB16 subs or building my own 18’s into the corners of this wide space. If the DIY route sounds better and is cheaper, i’m all for that. Wondering if anyone out there has used Klipsch like speakers and then switched to DIY speakers.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 11-14-2017, 05:14 PM
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Quoted: 443 Post(s)
Liked: 585
Why not use something in same format as Klipsch? Fusion 8's or 893s are fantastic. 280s are $500 a piece and I promise Fusion 8s will sound better and only cost $700 for two towers and matching horizontal center. I had a set of those exact Klipsch you are talking about and I hated them, very painful to listen to (to my ears) at high volumes. And definitely save yourself some money and go DIY for subs.