Simple 12V Trigger Pro Amp Solution - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By markg35
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 05-23-2018, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5,979
Mentioned: 689 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 16452
Simple 12V Trigger Pro Amp Solution

There are a couple solutions I've seen posted that seem to work really well for people...

1. Smart power strip - Works well if your AVR and amp are close, and you are okay sharing one power strip between them.
2. Surgically implanting a relay inside the amp - Works really well, but is too complicated for some people.

I just figured I'd share the really simple solution that met my needs and is relatively inexpensive.

https://www.adafruit.com/product/2935
https://www.amazon.com/Cerrxian-Term...dp/B06Y5YJRPD/

Those two items and some 16-ga speaker wire I had lying around, and I had it working in about 5 mins. It works perfectly, and the power off thump with my 6000DSP isn't bad at all. I'm not saying this was a novel idea, just hoping it helps someone.

Take the Red Pill (BassEQ) BassEQ Demo Clips TR Curves
Video: Sony 85" X900F @ 80" eyes-to-screen (49.4° viewing angle)
Audio: Denon AVR-X4400H 7.2.4 Atmos
Mains: Fusion-15 LR, Fusion-8 Center, Ported Volt-10 Surrounds, Custom 45°/45° Double-Angled Ported Volt-6 Atmos
Subs: The Two Towers (HT18 32cf 11.5Hz x 2), UM18 4cf x 2, Crowson MAs x 4
aron7awol is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 05-23-2018, 05:56 PM
Member
 
jonlaw16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I use a simple master/slave power strip off of Amazon to turn on my subwoofer power amplifier. I have my TV on the master outlet but I bet you could use an AVR.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B002K...REL&ref=plSrch
jonlaw16 is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 05-23-2018, 06:00 PM
Member
 
AlexRN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I haven’t been able to find a smart power surge that would work with my PreAmp, its so low power consuming, 5 watts, that the surge wouldn’t detect it, does anybody know about one that would work for that scenario???
AlexRN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 19 Old 05-24-2018, 04:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wayne A. Pflughaupt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Corpus Christi, TX USA
Posts: 3,464
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 544 Post(s)
Liked: 455
I would never plug a power amp into a cheap power strip. If you ever took one apart and see how they’re built, it would scare you! Do a Youtube search for “cheap power strip” and you’ll get plenty of eye candy (for lack of a better word).

And - if your power amp has a fatter power cord that the switched device from adafruit, I sure wouldn’t use it!

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt


Equipment List
"A nice mid-fi system," according to an audiophile acquaintance.

Reviews and Tech Articles
Wayne A. Pflughaupt is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 05-25-2018, 04:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8,180
Mentioned: 165 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6829 Post(s)
Liked: 4949
For devices that don't work with a trigger, I use a 12vdc relay. From this I wire up an actual 20amp power circuit that's switch on/off via the relay. The relay can also be powered by a 12vdc power wall wart that plugs into a smart power switch. This way you can have your amps on a separate circuit but still be controlled.

Here is a relay I've used a lot: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DU7XEB2

JVC Control - my software for controlling JVC projector via IP control.
Smart Masking - See my automatic smart screen masking system.
JVC IR Codes - free online pronto code converter for JVC IR codes.
markmon1 is online now  
post #6 of 19 Old 05-25-2018, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5,979
Mentioned: 689 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 16452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne A. Pflughaupt View Post
I would never plug a power amp into a cheap power strip. If you ever took one apart and see how they’re built, it would scare you! Do a Youtube search for “cheap power strip” and you’ll get plenty of eye candy (for lack of a better word).

And - if your power amp has a fatter power cord that the switched device from adafruit, I sure wouldn’t use it!

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt
FWIW, the strip that adafruit resells is actually this one:
https://dlidirect.com/collections/fr...ot-power-relay

It has a nice thick power cord, but one limitation it does have is a 12A breaker. I will see if I ever end up tripping it with the 6000DSP.

Take the Red Pill (BassEQ) BassEQ Demo Clips TR Curves
Video: Sony 85" X900F @ 80" eyes-to-screen (49.4° viewing angle)
Audio: Denon AVR-X4400H 7.2.4 Atmos
Mains: Fusion-15 LR, Fusion-8 Center, Ported Volt-10 Surrounds, Custom 45°/45° Double-Angled Ported Volt-6 Atmos
Subs: The Two Towers (HT18 32cf 11.5Hz x 2), UM18 4cf x 2, Crowson MAs x 4
aron7awol is online now  
post #7 of 19 Old 05-25-2018, 12:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tential's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,442
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne A. Pflughaupt View Post
I would never plug a power amp into a cheap power strip. If you ever took one apart and see how they’re built, it would scare you! Do a Youtube search for “cheap power strip” and you’ll get plenty of eye candy (for lack of a better word).

And - if your power amp has a fatter power cord that the switched device from adafruit, I sure wouldn’t use it!

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt
What about a battery back up? I got a https://www.amazon.com/CyberPower-CP.../dp/B000FBK3QK. Would that have a decent enough surge protection part? I don't have it plugged into the battery portion.
tential is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 05-25-2018, 03:49 PM
Senior Member
 
notfastenough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: The Colony, TX
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 244
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00B888VHM...v_ov_lig_dp_it

Check out the specs on this one compared to the adafruit. 15A and a little smaller if that is an issue in a crowded rack.
notfastenough is online now  
post #9 of 19 Old 05-25-2018, 06:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5,979
Mentioned: 689 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 16452
Quote:
Originally Posted by notfastenough View Post
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00B888VHM...v_ov_lig_dp_it

Check out the specs on this one compared to the adafruit. 15A and a little smaller if that is an issue in a crowded rack.
Even better. I'd buy this instead.

Take the Red Pill (BassEQ) BassEQ Demo Clips TR Curves
Video: Sony 85" X900F @ 80" eyes-to-screen (49.4° viewing angle)
Audio: Denon AVR-X4400H 7.2.4 Atmos
Mains: Fusion-15 LR, Fusion-8 Center, Ported Volt-10 Surrounds, Custom 45°/45° Double-Angled Ported Volt-6 Atmos
Subs: The Two Towers (HT18 32cf 11.5Hz x 2), UM18 4cf x 2, Crowson MAs x 4
aron7awol is online now  
post #10 of 19 Old 05-26-2018, 07:39 PM
Senior Member
 
LGERIC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Macomb, MI
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by notfastenough View Post
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00B888VHM...v_ov_lig_dp_it

Check out the specs on this one compared to the adafruit. 15A and a little smaller if that is an issue in a crowded rack.
I have been looking for something like this for the last couple days. What is the best way to trigger it from my AVR? I think a master/slave strip with a walwart is probably one of the easiest plug and play. Is there any way to pull a trigger from the avr without buying extra components?
LGERIC is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 05-26-2018, 07:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5,979
Mentioned: 689 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 16452
Quote:
Originally Posted by LGERIC View Post
I have been looking for something like this for the last couple days. What is the best way to trigger it from my AVR? I think a master/slave strip with a walwart is probably one of the easiest plug and play. Is there any way to pull a trigger from the avr without buying extra components?
Does your AVR have a trigger out?

Take the Red Pill (BassEQ) BassEQ Demo Clips TR Curves
Video: Sony 85" X900F @ 80" eyes-to-screen (49.4° viewing angle)
Audio: Denon AVR-X4400H 7.2.4 Atmos
Mains: Fusion-15 LR, Fusion-8 Center, Ported Volt-10 Surrounds, Custom 45°/45° Double-Angled Ported Volt-6 Atmos
Subs: The Two Towers (HT18 32cf 11.5Hz x 2), UM18 4cf x 2, Crowson MAs x 4
aron7awol is online now  
post #12 of 19 Old 05-26-2018, 07:56 PM
Senior Member
 
LGERIC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Macomb, MI
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by aron7awol View Post
Does your AVR have a trigger out?
Nope. That would be too easy. Denon x2300
LGERIC is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 05-27-2018, 06:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wvu80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: West Virginia, US
Posts: 1,385
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 435 Post(s)
Liked: 377
My contribution to the Smart Strip war effort. I own this and it works as advertised and you can adjust the sensitivity of the control outlet. There is no 12v trigger capability.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

For the record I don't think it matters if the strip is not as thick as a cable which plugs into it. As long as the wire is able to safely conduct the proper current then a thicker wire has no appreciable advantage for a wire run this short.
wvu80 is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 05-28-2018, 05:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wayne A. Pflughaupt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Corpus Christi, TX USA
Posts: 3,464
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 544 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by LGERIC View Post
Nope. That would be too easy. Denon x2300
That pretty much limits your options to something that could be remote controlled.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt


Equipment List
"A nice mid-fi system," according to an audiophile acquaintance.

Reviews and Tech Articles
Wayne A. Pflughaupt is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 05-28-2018, 08:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
markg35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 365 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by wvu80 View Post
My contribution to the Smart Strip war effort. I own this and it works as advertised and you can adjust the sensitivity of the control outlet. There is no 12v trigger capability.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

For the record I don't think it matters if the strip is not as thick as a cable which plugs into it. As long as the wire is able to safely conduct the proper current then a thicker wire has no appreciable advantage for a wire run this short.
I use this one as well to trigger my Inuke 6000DSP.I've been very happy with it.The layout is big enough for me to plug a couple of wall warts into...Bonus!
wvu80 likes this.
markg35 is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 05-29-2018, 01:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asarose247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: DIY enabled in SoCal / OC
Posts: 4,709
Mentioned: 118 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1342 Post(s)
Liked: 1180
Smart strips wear out. I had the 1 in the above link. At shutdown it at first took 7- 10 seconds for any controlled device my Scatmos amps and other stuff to shut down. but not the 6K amps or the ATI amp. they had their own circuits.
the 6Ks were on my DIY SSR and fired offa 12 v. trigger, as did the ATI amp.
I'd push off on the AVR and walk away.
Then 1 night i wandered back out a few hours later and WTF, stuff is still on.

At the time there was no new model . . or replacement policy and not much CR sympathy . .

I ended with an APC P11GTV, which when you register the unit carrys a good replacement policy: FREE, iirc.
Schneider Electric sends me emails for other stuff.

I then replaced 2 surge strips in the man cave with another of the the same unit. The HTPC master turns on the TV and the denon X5200. BASH amps in uncontrolled plugs come on , signal dependent.
putting the PC in sleep mode turns off the AVR and TV.

so far so good.

as units will wear out, you can read about why that happens, you will notice an increase in the delay before turning off the controlled devices.

HTH

DIY FAN Denon X4400 , ATI A 2000 for 7.4.6 SCATMOS Sammy 82" 4K/HDR
L/R: Fusion 15 V2 , C: 88 Special , SL/SR: 88 Special(V2) , RL/RR: F-3, TF/TR: Volt 6's TM: SLX, FH: F4Q4
SUBMAXIMUS V2, ,Submaximus V3,LOWARHORNCustom Dual Driver VBSS,2 x 6000DSP
asarose247 is online now  
post #17 of 19 Old 05-29-2018, 04:29 PM
Member
 
nater1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I have tried several smart strips with my inuke 6k's... they all had horrible thump on turn off.
nater1 is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 05-29-2018, 04:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
markg35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 365 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by asarose247 View Post
Smart strips wear out. I had the 1 in the above link. At shutdown it at first took 7- 10 seconds for any controlled device my Scatmos amps and other stuff to shut down. but not the 6K amps or the ATI amp. they had their own circuits.
the 6Ks were on my DIY SSR and fired offa 12 v. trigger, as did the ATI amp.
I'd push off on the AVR and walk away.
Then 1 night i wandered back out a few hours later and WTF, stuff is still on.

At the time there was no new model . . or replacement policy and not much CR sympathy . .

I ended with an APC P11GTV, which when you register the unit carrys a good replacement policy: FREE, iirc.
Schneider Electric sends me emails for other stuff.

I then replaced 2 surge strips in the man cave with another of the the same unit. The HTPC master turns on the TV and the denon X5200. BASH amps in uncontrolled plugs come on , signal dependent.
putting the PC in sleep mode turns off the AVR and TV.

so far so good.

as units will wear out, you can read about why that happens, you will notice an increase in the delay before turning off the controlled devices.

HTH
Thanks for the heads up!I will keep an eye out.
markg35 is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 05-29-2018, 04:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
markg35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 365 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by nater1 View Post
I have tried several smart strips with my inuke 6k's... they all had horrible thump on turn off.
I too get a thump with the power strip and iNuke 6000dsp.
It's not bad in my case.
markg35 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off