Silent or near silent Amp suggestions - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
  • 1 Post By notnyt
  • 1 Post By Linkwitz Riley
  • 1 Post By markg35
  • 1 Post By DaleNixon
  • 1 Post By notnyt
  • 2 Post By tirider
  • 1 Post By Linkwitz Riley
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 08-10-2018, 06:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
MajorBFD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Silent or near silent Amp suggestions

Hello,

I am looking for suggestions on a silent or near silent amp to power 2 MartySubs, each with the 18 ultimax. My problem is when I built the theater years ago I ran 4 RCAs to 4 locations. That’s fine, but means my sub amp(s) must reside in the listening area unless there’s something I’m not aware of. My plan is to start with 2 full Martys and then maybe add 2 cubes up front as well. Any suggestions?

Thanks!
MajorBFD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 08-10-2018, 07:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,221
Mentioned: 319 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3749 Post(s)
Liked: 3740
notnyt is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 08-10-2018, 10:04 PM
Member
 
Linkwitz Riley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Used Crown K2 will do about 800 watts x 2 into 4Ω.
shivaji likes this.

Last edited by Linkwitz Riley; 08-10-2018 at 10:08 PM.
Linkwitz Riley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 25 Old 08-11-2018, 08:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
MajorBFD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
speakerpower
Thanks for the suggestion. They look like they are quite a bit more expensive than the iNukes/Crowns typically suggested here. Are you suggesting a couple plate amps or the rack mount?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Linkwitz Riley View Post
Used Crown K2 will do about 800 watts x 2 into 4Ω.
That looks like it might be a good option too.

Do any of these types of amps have an "auto on" mode or do you just leave them on all the time? I'd rather have some solution that I don't need to go flip on all the time whenever I want to use it.

Thanks for the suggestions!
MajorBFD is offline  
post #5 of 25 Old 08-11-2018, 08:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 889 Post(s)
Liked: 713
Money no object Speakerpower, budget NX6000d with fan mod. But the NX won't be out for another 2-4 months from the sound of it. You might find the Inuke 6000dsp but they are getting harder to find at a decent price.

HTPC, Sony 40es, 120" Silver Ticket, 7702mkii, Sunfire Amp 225w, JBL 590, JBL 520

PSA XS30, Seaton Submersive, 2 Um-18 8cf sealed, Outlaw Ultra x 12, Kappa Pro 18LF, BFM Tuba 60 horn, B&C 18TBW100 6cf 41hz, 34hz, 28hz tune

iNuke 3000 & 6000 DSP's, Crowson Motion Actuator
bscool is offline  
post #6 of 25 Old 08-11-2018, 08:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
markg35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 275
As mentioned,stock Speakerpower and Crown amps are quieter.You can easily mod an iNuke to make it quiet.

For the power on function you're looking for,I don't know of any that have a remote trigger built in(there may be models).

Quite a few here use Smart power strips.If you go this route with the iNuke 6000DSP amps you may get the dreaded iNuke thump.

It happened to me.I found a solution with a delay relay and a smart strip.

Everything plays nicely together now.If I knew then what I know now,I would have researched more on Crown amps and a mini DSP.
mikeTRON250LM likes this.
markg35 is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 08-11-2018, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
DaleNixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 108
My Crown XLI 1500 and 2500 are both silent. They don't have DSP though.
mikeTRON250LM likes this.

_________________________________________________
Denon AVR-X4200W / Crown XLI 2500
7.4.4 Klipsch Ref. ii & In-Ceiling Atmos / Titan-615LX center
NU3000DSP - 2 SI HT18 D4's / NU6000DSP - 2 Ultimax 18"s
BenQ W1070 / 120" AT screen / Volt-10LX Atmos build
DaleNixon is online now  
post #8 of 25 Old 08-11-2018, 09:57 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,221
Mentioned: 319 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3749 Post(s)
Liked: 3740
the speakerpower plate and ht amps have auto-on
krholmberg likes this.

Last edited by notnyt; 08-11-2018 at 03:34 PM.
notnyt is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 08-11-2018, 11:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
trilkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Cincinnati, Oh
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 331
I had a inuke 1000 and upgraded to a 6000dsp. Much to my surprise the 6000 is about half as loud. It's so much quieter I forget to turn it off sometimes. You may get away with one in your room, and if not the fan mod seems easy enough.

- 6 BA CR6 array center channel, QSC AD-S82 L/R, 4 jbl 8330a surr , 8 jbl 12" subs w/Inuke 6000. JVC rs420, Denon x4000, Sony x800 -
trilkb is offline  
post #10 of 25 Old 08-11-2018, 11:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tential's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,407
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Crown XLS. Silent, never know if it's on or not. It's in my bedroom.

NU6000 is only quiet coming from a noisier amp lo. It's loud for sure.... no Crown XLS.
tential is offline  
post #11 of 25 Old 08-11-2018, 12:18 PM
Member
 
tirider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
My Speakerpower SP2-12000HT is not only silent, but also has auto-on.
Pradeep2 and Phonzo07 like this.
tirider is offline  
post #12 of 25 Old 08-11-2018, 05:07 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,705
Mentioned: 227 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3710 Post(s)
Liked: 4219
Stay away from Crown XTi or iTech.
The XTi is garbage and the iTech is loud.

When people say their inuke is loud, it's only as loud as a projector...

It's not hairdryer loud like an iTech or an FP on start up.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 08-13-2018, 02:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
A9X-308's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,321
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1792 Post(s)
Liked: 1483
All of my Yamaha P-S and PX series amps are quiet.

“You are not special. You are not a beautiful and unique snowflake.” Chuck Palahniuk
A9X-308 is offline  
post #14 of 25 Old 08-13-2018, 03:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtsdig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 2,997
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1125 Post(s)
Liked: 1386
My Yamaha P7000S amps are both silent. My NU4-6000 was also silent after a Noctua fan mod.
dtsdig is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 08-13-2018, 03:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Chris Popovich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Crown XLS series is very quiet, has adjustable input sensitivity and are reasonably priced. I have a slew of them and have never heard the fans (from the listening position). I use a bridged 1502 on each of my sealed ultimax subs. Could probably go to the 2502 for more headroom if budget allows, but a 1502 will drive them pretty hard.
Chris Popovich is online now  
post #16 of 25 Old 08-13-2018, 08:37 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
MajorBFD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks everyone for the suggestions. It looks like there are lots of options. I'm new to DIY speakers and pro amps so I had a question regarding leaving the amps on. My current sub with the plate amp I leave flipped on all the time and it plays when needed. Can these amps be used the same way? Remember, I only have RCA lines run to the 4 locations I anticipated potentially putting subs.

Thanks.
MajorBFD is offline  
post #17 of 25 Old 08-13-2018, 11:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Chris Popovich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 147
I have a couple of the XLS amps in the computer room that I basically never turn off. They've been fine. XLS also have RCA inputs if that matters to you.
Chris Popovich is online now  
post #18 of 25 Old 08-13-2018, 12:47 PM
Senior Member
 
strawberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post
Stay away from Crown XTi or iTech.
The XTi is garbage and the iTech is loud.
What about the XLi series from Crown? Been kinda' eyeballing the 3500 model, but didn't know how it compared to the Drivecore 2 models in terms of design and noise, etc.
strawberry is offline  
post #19 of 25 Old 08-13-2018, 02:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 889 Post(s)
Liked: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by MajorBFD View Post
Thanks everyone for the suggestions. It looks like there are lots of options. I'm new to DIY speakers and pro amps so I had a question regarding leaving the amps on. My current sub with the plate amp I leave flipped on all the time and it plays when needed. Can these amps be used the same way? Remember, I only have RCA lines run to the 4 locations I anticipated potentially putting subs.

Thanks.
It sounds like you are set/limited to having the amps at those locations that the RCA are at currently. So plan on having a fairly large amp sitting on or behind each sub if you go with the pro amps. It might be better going with a plate amp and building them into the enclosure if you want something more "polished" aesthetically.

Also, I am not sure how well the pro amps will do with longer RCA runs and introducing noise. Other might have first-hand experience they can share with you on that front. But is something to consider.

HTPC, Sony 40es, 120" Silver Ticket, 7702mkii, Sunfire Amp 225w, JBL 590, JBL 520

PSA XS30, Seaton Submersive, 2 Um-18 8cf sealed, Outlaw Ultra x 12, Kappa Pro 18LF, BFM Tuba 60 horn, B&C 18TBW100 6cf 41hz, 34hz, 28hz tune

iNuke 3000 & 6000 DSP's, Crowson Motion Actuator
bscool is offline  
post #20 of 25 Old 08-17-2018, 04:59 AM
Member
 
Linkwitz Riley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by MajorBFD View Post
Thanks for the suggestion. They look like they are quite a bit more expensive than the iNukes/Crowns typically suggested here. Are you suggesting a couple plate amps or the rack mount?



That looks like it might be a good option too.

Do any of these types of amps have an "auto on" mode or do you just leave them on all the time? I'd rather have some solution that I don't need to go flip on all the time whenever I want to use it.

Thanks for the suggestions!
Most Pro Amps do not have a turn-on trigger function. Speakerpower is one that does. Another alternative is to use the 12v trigger from your receiver and connect it to a 12vdc coil relay that has contacts rated at or above the rating of the power outlet that the amp would be connected to. Example: https://www.mcmaster.com/#7678k41/=1e6zvb9 You could use this particular relay to break the hot and neutral lines to the power amp or parallel the poles and just use it to break the hot line and double the current capacity of the relay (50 amps in the example relay shown). You would need to build an electrical enclosure for this with an outlet and some strain reliefs for the power cable coming in and a jack for your 12vdc cable, but the total cost for everything would be under about 30 bucks (relay included). The only drawback to this type of setup is you must stash this thing somewhere and also sometimes when you use a circuit like this you are bound to have some kind of "turn-on thump" when you power up and/or down. Basically you are leaving the power amp switch on all the time and when you turn on your A/V receiver, the 12v trigger closes the relay and power is supplied to your amp. You can also buy some premade circuits that have time delayed turn ons but they are usually not rated for the amount of current you will need and you can still get the turn on thump. This thump is sometimes avoided by amp manufacturers that build a "soft-start' circuit into their amps. But most of the time the thump is merely an inconvenience and does not do any damage to your system. Just an idea to get away with much less cost by using a relatively inexpensive pro amp to do what you want to do.
18Hurts likes this.
Linkwitz Riley is offline  
post #21 of 25 Old 08-20-2018, 09:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,939
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1800 Post(s)
Liked: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by A9X-308 View Post
All of my Yamaha P-S and PX series amps are quiet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtsdig View Post
My Yamaha P7000S amps are both silent. My NU4-6000 was also silent after a Noctua fan mod.
I don't hear much about the Yamaha's in this forum, I wonder why that is? Seems like a solid performer.

NAD 758 v3 with Dirac 7.4.4 + Rotel 976 + Panamax M5300-PM
Paradigm Prestige 75F's + 55C; 8x Paradigm CI Pro P65-R's
DIY MBMs: VRK Build thread + 2x Rotel 981 (bridged)
Sub: 2x Rythmik LVX12 + MiniDSP
DIY Room Treatments: Dutch Floral Prints
tjcinnamon is online now  
post #22 of 25 Old 08-20-2018, 09:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1012 Post(s)
Liked: 1261
The Yamaha P7000 is no longer available new. The Yamahas that replaced it just arent as solid.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
Pradeep2 is offline  
post #23 of 25 Old 08-20-2018, 11:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,939
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1800 Post(s)
Liked: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pradeep2 View Post
The Yamaha P7000 is no longer available new. The Yamahas that replaced it just arent as solid.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
What do you mean solid? Just reliability or sound quality down low?

NAD 758 v3 with Dirac 7.4.4 + Rotel 976 + Panamax M5300-PM
Paradigm Prestige 75F's + 55C; 8x Paradigm CI Pro P65-R's
DIY MBMs: VRK Build thread + 2x Rotel 981 (bridged)
Sub: 2x Rythmik LVX12 + MiniDSP
DIY Room Treatments: Dutch Floral Prints
tjcinnamon is online now  
post #24 of 25 Old 08-20-2018, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1012 Post(s)
Liked: 1261
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
What do you mean solid? Just reliability or sound quality down low?
Sound quality down low, from reviews I've read the newer models dont deliver like the p7000s could.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
Pradeep2 is offline  
post #25 of 25 Old 08-20-2018, 06:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
A9X-308's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,321
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1792 Post(s)
Liked: 1483
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
I don't hear much about the Yamaha's in this forum, I wonder why that is? Seems like a solid performer.
They're not as cheap as some of the oother options and don't come with DSP like some of the other brands. I've been using the early P series for >25 years, and still have several, and the P-S series for about 15. Even when they were in the PA or my bass rig and getting the snot beaten out of them night after night not one ever let me down.
In most home applications, I doubt the fans will even come one that often, and as they're staged they're still quiet, even in hard PA use.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pradeep2 View Post
The Yamahas that replaced it just arent as solid.
Got links to measurements? My one (so far) is fine.

“You are not special. You are not a beautiful and unique snowflake.” Chuck Palahniuk
A9X-308 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off