Bortech fp14000 issue - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 18Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 76 Old 08-18-2018, 08:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jk7.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 2,847
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1377 Post(s)
Liked: 2521
Bortech fp14000 issue

Just looking for anyone’s experience with this amp. I blew channel A on my unit and wonder if anyone else has. If so, how was it fixed? Someone said I may have popped a fuse, because this wasn’t a major smoky event, just a pop! she’s dead kinda thing. Any advice appreciated. The MUTE and TEM lights are on for channel A.
Jk7.2 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 76 Old 08-18-2018, 09:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hd0823's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,908
Mentioned: 116 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 678 Post(s)
Liked: 1250
I wonder if the tem light has to do with a thermal protection mode

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Jk7.2 likes this.
hd0823 is online now  
post #3 of 76 Old 08-18-2018, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jk7.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 2,847
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1377 Post(s)
Liked: 2521
Quote:
Originally Posted by hd0823 View Post
I wonder if the tem light has to do with a thermal protection mode

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk


Yeah. I have no idea.
Jk7.2 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 76 Old 08-18-2018, 09:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 2,300
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1112 Post(s)
Liked: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jk7.2 View Post
Just looking for anyone’s experience with this amp. I blew channel A on my unit and wonder if anyone else has. If so, how was it fixed? Someone said I may have popped a fuse, because this wasn’t a major smoky event, just a pop! she’s dead kinda thing. Any advice appreciated. The MUTE and TEM lights are on for channel A.



Again, I would check the output fuses on Channel A. If my memory serves me correctly those fuses are slow blow fuses....Are you sure you don't have something crossed?
Jk7.2 likes this.

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) Stage Right 15" PA- (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune- 4 MOFO 15s in 2 dual ported cabs 17Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...

Last edited by johnson636; 08-18-2018 at 09:19 AM.
johnson636 is offline  
post #5 of 76 Old 08-18-2018, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hd0823's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,908
Mentioned: 116 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 678 Post(s)
Liked: 1250
From what you where saying I really dont think the amp is blown especially with no smoke and you not smelling any burning.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Jk7.2 likes this.
hd0823 is online now  
post #6 of 76 Old 08-18-2018, 09:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jk7.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 2,847
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1377 Post(s)
Liked: 2521
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnson636 View Post
Again, I would check the output fuses on Channel A. If my memory serves me correctly those fuses are slow blow fuses....Are you sure you don't have something crossed?


No not sure. But everything was playing just before the pop.
Jk7.2 is online now  
post #7 of 76 Old 08-18-2018, 09:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jk7.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 2,847
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1377 Post(s)
Liked: 2521
Quote:
Originally Posted by hd0823 View Post
From what you where saying I really dont think the amp is blown especially with no smoke and you not smelling any burning.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk


Yeah a blown fuse really would make sense. I hope I hear back from this eBay who knows who he is guy.
Jk7.2 is online now  
post #8 of 76 Old 08-18-2018, 09:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
FriscoDTM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 387
You should inspect the channel A amp board for a blown PCB trace or some other subtle type of component damage due to something shorting. Blown transistors won’t necessarily show visible damage. Obviously be careful about high voltage. Depending on the issue you might be able to desolder and replace the bad components or just the entire board.
Jk7.2 likes this.

Display 2013 Samsung 75" UN75F6300 TV Media Xbox One X, Dune Solo, QNAP TS-453A NAS
Pre/Amp Marantz 7702mk2 Processor + DIY 11ch Icepower 50ASX2BTL Monoblock Amp Amp Build Link
7.2.4 Speakers DIYSG 1099s (LCR), Volt 10LX (SL, SR), Volt 8LX (BL, BR), Volt 10LX (TF, TR) Volt Build Link
Subs Dual 19Hz DIY Ported UXL-18s + FP14k Amp + MiniDSP 2x4 Balanced Tactile Crowsons + iNuke 6000DSP
FriscoDTM is offline  
post #9 of 76 Old 08-18-2018, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jk7.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 2,847
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1377 Post(s)
Liked: 2521
Quote:
Originally Posted by FriscoDTM View Post
You should inspect the channel A amp board for a blown PCB trace or some other subtle type of component damage due to something shorting. Blown transistors won’t necessarily show visible damage. Obviously be careful about high voltage. Depending on the issue you might be able to desolder and replace the bad components or just the entire board.


I guess I need to be sure rather or not if I have a warranty. Then I’ll crack that puppy wide open. Thanks for the advice.
evilbeaver likes this.
Jk7.2 is online now  
post #10 of 76 Old 08-18-2018, 02:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,653
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 998 Post(s)
Liked: 1246
I believe the vendor recommendation was to wait 15 minutes after unpluging from wall power before opening her up?

What were you driving with the channel when it stopped working?

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
Pradeep2 is online now  
post #11 of 76 Old 08-18-2018, 03:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jk7.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 2,847
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1377 Post(s)
Liked: 2521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pradeep2 View Post
I believe the vendor recommendation was to wait 15 minutes after unpluging from wall power before opening her up?

What were you driving with the channel when it stopped working?

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk


Just an hst18 at 4 ohm. Nothing fancy. The seller has contacted me and offered to send me a replacement ‘output board’ or I could send in the unit for repair.
evilbeaver likes this.
Jk7.2 is online now  
post #12 of 76 Old 08-18-2018, 03:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,653
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 998 Post(s)
Liked: 1246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jk7.2 View Post
Just an hst18 at 4 ohm. Nothing fancy. The seller has contacted me and offered to send me a replacement ‘output board’ or I could send in the unit for repair.
Was it a "challenging" scene? Nice that you got a support response from seller.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
Pradeep2 is online now  
post #13 of 76 Old 08-18-2018, 06:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 2,300
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1112 Post(s)
Liked: 651
I'd ask for a refund and get a better clone amp..That's just me
Madaeel likes this.

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) Stage Right 15" PA- (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune- 4 MOFO 15s in 2 dual ported cabs 17Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is offline  
post #14 of 76 Old 08-18-2018, 06:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,587
Mentioned: 217 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3654 Post(s)
Liked: 4136
NotNyt tested the bortech's and they had horrible test results. I forget what it outputted, but it was closer to a 7k than a 14k... if I recall correctly.

You should have bought a smiths or sanway or xbs, at least they "make the power" (and they too are also capable of sending you amp parts if needed.)
Madaeel likes this.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #15 of 76 Old 08-19-2018, 06:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jk7.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 2,847
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1377 Post(s)
Liked: 2521
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post
NotNyt tested the bortech's and they had horrible test results. I forget what it outputted, but it was closer to a 7k than a 14k... if I recall correctly.



You should have bought a smiths or sanway or xbs, at least they "make the power" (and they too are also capable of sending you amp parts if needed.)


Got a link to the results?
Jk7.2 is online now  
post #16 of 76 Old 08-19-2018, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jk7.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 2,847
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1377 Post(s)
Liked: 2521
I found the blown fuse. It was under the 1st board in the second one down. This is crazy how much electronics’s are in the amp.
Pradeep2 and tential like this.
Jk7.2 is online now  
post #17 of 76 Old 08-19-2018, 08:53 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,587
Mentioned: 217 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3654 Post(s)
Liked: 4136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jk7.2 View Post
Got a link to the results?
NotNyt fp14k bortec measurements
BassThatHz is offline  
post #18 of 76 Old 08-19-2018, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jk7.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 2,847
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1377 Post(s)
Liked: 2521
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post


Thank you.
Jk7.2 is online now  
post #19 of 76 Old 08-19-2018, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
notfastenough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: The Colony, TX
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jk7.2 View Post
I found the blown fuse. It was under the 1st board in the second one down.
Hopefully you don't have insta-pop with a new fuse. I know that feeling too well and it gives me nerves sometimes. Best of luck, let us know how it goes.
notfastenough is online now  
post #20 of 76 Old 08-19-2018, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Madaeel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Yah if it's not too late.....ask for a refund. Like @BassThatHz and @johnson636 said just get another more reliable clone, with better numbers too. It was a nightmare shipping it back, cuz that guy is an idiot, and getting my money back. All because he was pissed I questioned his numbers. Thank god for PayPal.

I got a speakerpower amp but I'd take an XBS any day too. I just wanted a trigger since my amp is behind an acoustically sealed door. Hopefully it works for you after replacing the fuse but if not ship that pos back.

Edit: didn't see he's sending you the board. That's not a good sign. I'd definitely try to send it back and buy an XBS or smith @Jk7.2 .

Last edited by Madaeel; 08-19-2018 at 10:48 AM.
Madaeel is offline  
post #21 of 76 Old 08-19-2018, 10:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jk7.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 2,847
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1377 Post(s)
Liked: 2521
Quote:
Originally Posted by notfastenough View Post
Hopefully you don't have insta-pop with a new fuse. I know that feeling too well and it gives me nerves sometimes. Best of luck, let us know how it goes.


Well I guess that’s why the seller is sending me a new output board. Not that I know what that means. But I took the bad fuse out, and switched it with the good one right next to it, and had the same issue. Still the channel is caught in protection mode. I will let ya know what they send me and if it fixes anything.
Jk7.2 is online now  
post #22 of 76 Old 08-19-2018, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jk7.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 2,847
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1377 Post(s)
Liked: 2521
Bortech fp14000 issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madaeel View Post
Yah if it's not too late.....ask for a refund. Like @BassThatHz and @johnson636 said just get another more reliable clone, with better numbers too. It was a nightmare shipping it back, cuz that guy is an idiot, and getting my money back. All because he was pissed I questioned his numbers. Thank god for PayPal.



I got a speakerpower amp but I'd take an XBS any day too. I just wanted a trigger since my amp is behind an acoustically sealed door. Hopefully it works for you after replacing the fuse but if not ship that pos back.


Well, the seller clearly indicated no refunds. If I keep having issues I’ll push for a refund.
And as for amp power, I’m doing quite well with my 8 inuke 3000dsp’s, one bridged per 18” sub. I think I won’t be looking for anymore amps.
Jk7.2 is online now  
post #23 of 76 Old 08-19-2018, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Madaeel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 163
That's what PayPal is for.
Madaeel is offline  
post #24 of 76 Old 08-19-2018, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jk7.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 2,847
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1377 Post(s)
Liked: 2521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madaeel View Post
That's what PayPal is for.


Point taken.
Jk7.2 is online now  
post #25 of 76 Old 08-19-2018, 11:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
FriscoDTM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Sounds like you have a short on the amp board. My sanway blew a bunch of components a couple days after I got it when my kid decided to flip the mains switch on and off repeatedly for fun. Maybe coincidence but it worked fine ever since. Your board looks a bit different with less transistors than I recall seeing. If these amps all deliver less than rated power, it seems to either mean that the seller is knowingly defrauding buyers or that he got duped when he ordered them.

Display 2013 Samsung 75" UN75F6300 TV Media Xbox One X, Dune Solo, QNAP TS-453A NAS
Pre/Amp Marantz 7702mk2 Processor + DIY 11ch Icepower 50ASX2BTL Monoblock Amp Amp Build Link
7.2.4 Speakers DIYSG 1099s (LCR), Volt 10LX (SL, SR), Volt 8LX (BL, BR), Volt 10LX (TF, TR) Volt Build Link
Subs Dual 19Hz DIY Ported UXL-18s + FP14k Amp + MiniDSP 2x4 Balanced Tactile Crowsons + iNuke 6000DSP
FriscoDTM is offline  
post #26 of 76 Old 08-19-2018, 11:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jk7.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 2,847
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1377 Post(s)
Liked: 2521
Bortech fp14000 issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by FriscoDTM View Post
Sounds like you have a short on the amp board. My sanway blew a bunch of components a couple days after I got it when my kid decided to flip the mains switch on and off repeatedly for fun. Maybe coincidence but it worked fine ever since. Your board looks a bit different with less transistors than I recall seeing. If these amps all deliver less than rated power, it seems to either mean that the seller is knowingly defrauding buyers or that he got duped when he ordered them.


I’ll take some better pics next time I have the cover off and take the boards out.
More pics

Last edited by Jk7.2; 08-28-2018 at 05:48 PM.
Jk7.2 is online now  
post #27 of 76 Old 08-19-2018, 12:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 4
If you bought it on ebay it doesn't matter what the seller said. If they didn't list it as "for parts, not working" they have to take it back if it is broken.
pengy99 is offline  
post #28 of 76 Old 08-19-2018, 05:11 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,587
Mentioned: 217 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3654 Post(s)
Liked: 4136
Yeah definitely return it within the PayPal window.
PayPal is really good at protecting buyers. They typically don't give a toot about the seller, and some scammers have actually used that to their advantage, a reverse scam of sorts. Buy something good and say it never got there or swap with a dead unit from abuse/age and keep the new working unit! etc etc!

The bortec only does 1.9kW x2 and 70% efficient.
The XBS 20k is closer to 3.8kW x2 @ 4 and 7.6kW x2 bridged @ 8 (and is >90% efficient.)

The XBS 14k and 10k is untested and high-risk for the time being.

My XBS 10k's should be here at any day now... I won't be testing it because I need them to all work, don't need the amp-abuse atm.

The Smiths or Sanway is the fp14k to get for now. Tested and proven power and thus lower risk.

Last edited by BassThatHz; 08-19-2018 at 05:24 PM.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #29 of 76 Old 08-28-2018, 05:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jk7.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 2,847
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1377 Post(s)
Liked: 2521
I figure I’d better update this thread. I got the replacement board for channel A from the eBay seller I bought this amp from. He sent it priority and I had it next day. Pretty good customer service. I had the amp for about 2 months with only hooking it up once just to make sure it worked. It did, so it sat all the rest of that time. Anyway, it’s been working with no issues powering a pair of my hst18’s in ported cabs. I haven’t gotten around to setting up the mini dsp so no high pass either. And I love the sound. Effortless power. Especially deep down low. Like nothing inukes ever sounded like. I’m seriously considering getting another one now that I know it isn’t 2 ohm stable and running my front 4 subs off these clone amps. I don’t know. But again, anyway I just wanted to mention the amp is up and running and working well.
Pradeep2 and evilbeaver like this.
Jk7.2 is online now  
post #30 of 76 Old 08-28-2018, 07:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hd0823's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,908
Mentioned: 116 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 678 Post(s)
Liked: 1250
DO IT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jk7.2 View Post
I figure I’d better update this thread. I got the replacement board for channel A from the eBay seller I bought this amp from. He sent it priority and I had it next day. Pretty good customer service. I had the amp for about 2 months with only hooking it up once just to make sure it worked. It did, so it sat all the rest of that time. Anyway, it’s been working with no issues powering a pair of my hst18’s in ported cabs. I haven’t gotten around to setting up the mini dsp so no high pass either. And I love the sound. Effortless power. Especially deep down low. Like nothing inukes ever sounded like. I’m seriously considering getting another one now that I know it isn’t 2 ohm stable and running my front 4 subs off these clone amps. I don’t know. But again, anyway I just wanted to mention the amp is up and running and working well.
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
hd0823 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off