Needing a Hi-Fi kit/recommendation for around 500$ - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By mobeer4don

post #1 of 9 Old 04-05-2019, 08:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Needing a Hi-Fi kit/recommendation for around 500$

Hello Diyers? Diy’rs? Diys? I’m planning for a future hifi build. After looking online at big brand speakers like elac and klipsch for use in a 2.1 setup (bookshelf+sub), I stumbled upon Diy and became fascinated about the idea of getting outstanding sound for a half the price of what a manufactured one would cost you. I’m new to Diy so a kit would be a plausible option, however I have family that are experienced wood workers and solders. So, onto the main question: I require bookshelf speakers (and a sub but I care more about the bookshelfs). This is going to be a music first system but I’ll also be playing tv shows/youtube in the off hours. If you guys have any support to provide, I appreciate it deeply and have a good evening! Or morning! Or tea time! Or whatever you’re enjoying right now. (As well any receiver recommendations are appreciated as I’ve suffered multiple brain aneurisms trying to figure out what I need to power speakers and a sub and still have the most beautiful sound. But since Home Theatre receivers are the more common option to choose since they have sub out I’m worried they’re prioritized for movies and not music).

Shortened version:
Need a pair of bookshelf speakers
Sub Advice is accepted
Receiver advice is adored
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 04-06-2019, 06:58 AM
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 154
DIY really isn't about saving $. It is about getting more for the same $. Sure...we say that we "saved" thousands of $ going DIY