NX4-6000 With DSP? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By johnson636
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 04-19-2019, 09:09 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
doodoobutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 23
NX4-6000 With DSP?

My google action doesn't return any results. Are they going to put out this amp with DSP like they did with the NX6000D? It would be nice to run mains, center, and subs off of one amp (assuming I can run different resistance on different channels).
doodoobutter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 04-19-2019, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 2,522
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1465 Post(s)
Liked: 1037
No, you’d need a MiniDSP of some sort. Also, why would you need 2000 something watts per channel of your LCR? Not to mention that iNukes aren’t generally known for having the better quality sound. Your AVR’s amp section will sound better. At least mine does.

Leave it at 8 ohms and call it a day :)
Russdawg1 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 04-19-2019, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
doodoobutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 23
It's a 4 channel amp. The 2 channel version does have a DSP option, so I was hoping this one would too at some point. My mains and center are going to be HT-12s. That would give 440 watts each to the mains and center at 8ohms, and 860 watts from one channel to 4x 12" subwoofers at 4ohms. I don't think it's overkill, and honestly I'm leaving a couple hundred watts on the table with the subs. I could do 2 ohms with the subs if the amp will let me.

I'd really like them to put out this amp with DSP.
doodoobutter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 04-19-2019, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 2,522
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1465 Post(s)
Liked: 1037
Quote:
Originally Posted by doodoobutter View Post
It's a 4 channel amp. The 2 channel version does have a DSP option, so I was hoping this one would too at some point. My mains and center are going to be HT-12s. That would give 440 watts each to the mains and center at 8ohms, and 860 watts from one channel to 4x 12" subwoofers at 4ohms. I don't think it's overkill, and honestly I'm leaving a couple hundred watts on the table with the subs. I could do 2 ohms with the subs if the amp will let me.



I'd really like them to put out this amp with DSP.

They didn’t release the old NU4 6000 in a DSP form which is why I don’t think the NX series will come out with one.

Might I ask what the efficiency of your HT-12’s are?

And the NX does 2 ohms last time I checked.

Leave it at 8 ohms and call it a day :)
Russdawg1 is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 04-19-2019, 11:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smcmillan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Farmington, MI, USA
Posts: 1,885
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 801 Post(s)
Liked: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by doodoobutter View Post
It's a 4 channel amp. The 2 channel version does have a DSP option, so I was hoping this one would too at some point. My mains and center are going to be HT-12s. That would give 440 watts each to the mains and center at 8ohms, and 860 watts from one channel to 4x 12" subwoofers at 4ohms. I don't think it's overkill, and honestly I'm leaving a couple hundred watts on the table with the subs. I could do 2 ohms with the subs if the amp will let me.

I think you'll be surprised at how easy the HTMs are to drive. I can easily get my HTM-10s to uncomfortable levels with AVR power - ~70W/channel max. So I would say 440W is overkill, but what the heck, this is the DIY subforum.
smcmillan2 is online now  
post #6 of 13 Old 04-19-2019, 01:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Oklahomie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 661
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 763
I was told at some point in time not use a pro amp for LRC duties. You might ask Erich what he recommends for an amplifier, but even a receiver can make those speakers shine.

For reference, I am driving my titans from my receiver and they sound incredible. I think I’m pushing 110 watts per channel.


Aaron H.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Aaron H.
Oklahomie is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 04-19-2019, 03:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 2,352
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1146 Post(s)
Liked: 670
I'm really not sure where all this "pro amps are bad for mains" business is coming from. I've run my mains, rears and atmos with a combination of pro amps and I can't tell any difference at all when I used the avr to power them; whether it be measurements or my ears. I'm currently running my mains with a clone 10k. If there is a difference it certainly not discernible.
SpinMonster likes this.

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) Stage Right 15" PA- (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune- 4 MOFO 15s in 2 dual ported cabs 17Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
post #8 of 13 Old 04-19-2019, 04:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smcmillan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Farmington, MI, USA
Posts: 1,885
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 801 Post(s)
Liked: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnson636 View Post
I'm really not sure where all this "pro amps are bad for mains" business is coming from. I've run my mains, rears and atmos with a combination of pro amps and I can't tell any difference at all when I used the avr to power them; whether it be measurements or my ears. I'm currently running my mains with a clone 10k. If there is a difference it certainly not discernible.
I don't see where "all this "pro amps are bad for mains" business is coming from." is in this thread. Once the OP disclosed that they were looking at the DIYSG HT line the responses were fairly static, that the OP would likely be very happy with them on AVR power (with the possible exception that I mistook the OP's HT response to be HTM).

In short, run the HTs on AVR power. If you feel the need to get them going harder than that, look into outboard amps.
smcmillan2 is online now  
post #9 of 13 Old 04-19-2019, 04:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 2,352
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1146 Post(s)
Liked: 670
The avr being very capable of running speakers is different from saying using pro amps on mains is bad. This sentiment has been post in various thread as of late. I do agree that most diysg speakers can be driven well by the avr

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) Stage Right 15" PA- (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune- 4 MOFO 15s in 2 dual ported cabs 17Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
post #10 of 13 Old 04-19-2019, 06:08 PM
Senior Member
 
rr14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 30
there have been several people that switched from reputable amps to inukes and wouldn't go back. I'm sure someone will chime in soon. An emotiva to inuke 4-6000 discussion a while back comes to mind.
rr14 is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 04-19-2019, 08:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Oklahomie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 661
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 763
Sorry guys, my intent was not to dog on inukes for LRC duties. I guess more importantly than what if they are good or not for that use, I do think it’s probably too much power for the duty, but I’m not an expert, so I’ll hush. I’m sure it would work great!


Aaron H.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Aaron H.
Oklahomie is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 04-21-2019, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
doodoobutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Sorry for the delay, 16 hour shifts, ugh.

I guess I'll give up on the 4 channel amp coming out with DSP and get 2 amps. I'm kind of hesitant to beat on an AVR with these, I tend to blast music and it's a large space. I'll drive the center with the AVR and the mains and subwoofers from pro amps. I guess I'll try driving the HTs from both and see if I can hear the difference. I can always use that amp for more subwoofers if I don't like it driving the mains.

To answer a question, the HTs have a sensitivity of 97db. I do plan to run them at reference from time to time. Possibly some live concert blurays with hearing protection on because beer and I might be crazy.
doodoobutter is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 04-22-2019, 09:14 PM
Member
 
matt/E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Something like an Emotiva XPA-3 or XPA-5 would be my recommendation, and then an iNuke or NX for the subs.

Marantz AV8801/ Sherbourn PA 7-350/ Dayton APA102
Minix NEO U9-H / WDTV Live/ LG BP-620/ Sharp Aquos 65" 4K UHD TV
Klipsch RF-83's/ RC-7/ RS-62's/ RS400's/ RB-10's
Lab Gruppen FP14000 clone/ 2 Peerless STW 15's
matt/E is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off