VBSS build thread - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 Old 07-08-2019, 04:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
VBSS build thread

Got my 3000D in today and picked up materials for a VBSS build. Anyone have any tips for getting this put together correctly? Edit: have officially begun assembly
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190708_183922_1562627065219.jpg
Views:	172
Size:	2.35 MB
ID:	2588852  

Last edited by kingssoldier08; 07-11-2019 at 02:57 PM.
kingssoldier08 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 40 Old 07-08-2019, 04:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 2,451
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1207 Post(s)
Liked: 702
Go through the vbss thread. It has all the tips you need and more.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-d...gn-thread.html
Craig S King and bebb like this.

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) Stage Right 15" PA- (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune- 4 PA460 in ported cabs 40Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...

Last edited by johnson636; 07-08-2019 at 04:41 PM.
johnson636 is offline  
post #3 of 40 Old 07-08-2019, 06:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnson636 View Post
Can't say I've been through the whole thread, but I have spent a good deal of time there. Was just looking for maybe people who have made mistakes I could learn from or something like that

Last edited by Mike Lang; 07-09-2019 at 07:09 PM.
kingssoldier08 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 40 Old 07-09-2019, 12:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
I choose to go with hard wood plywood. The red oak had a really nice grain to it. It's starting to come together. Going to do a slot port. I'll have to glue some pieces together to make it work, but I think it'll come together nicely. I'm still going with 2 slots in case I want to change the tuning...AAANNNDD I just realized I did all that wrong. Good thing i didn't glue the ports yet
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190709_135628_1562700431273.jpg
Views:	171
Size:	2.10 MB
ID:	2589152   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190709_123728_1562700438990.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	1,017.1 KB
ID:	2589154  

Last edited by Mike Lang; 07-09-2019 at 07:11 PM.
kingssoldier08 is offline  
post #5 of 40 Old 07-09-2019, 01:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 9,731
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2389 Post(s)
Liked: 2030
For anyone wondering what's going on with the "s"s, it's a problem that's still being addressed:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/43-fo...364-115-s.html
Michael

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
Don't guess, measure: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/91-au...l#post22789786
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #6 of 40 Old 07-09-2019, 05:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingssoldier08 View Post
Can't say I've been through the whole thread, but I have spent a good deal of time there. Was just looking for maybe people who have made mistakes I could learn from or something like that
Currently building my second VBSS so here are two things that I can add

1. Do not have Lowes cut your MDF for you. I could have done a better job free handing with a table saw than what they did for me.
2. Watch a video on how to best assemble your box. It should be easy to video on assembling a Marty.
billusf72 is online now  
post #7 of 40 Old 07-11-2019, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
buggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 24
You can have Lowes or whoever cut the sheets, But you must mark the wood and you must move the sheet into position for cutting.
buggers is offline  
post #8 of 40 Old 07-11-2019, 11:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by billusf72 View Post
Currently building my second VBSS so here are two things that I can add

1. Do not have Lowes cut your MDF for you. I could have done a better job free handing with a table saw than what they did for me.
2. Watch a video on how to best assemble your box. It should be easy to video on assembling a Marty.
I had the guy at home Depot cut mine. I checked everything lined up before assembling. I have a table saw, but it's easier to get the wood home if it's cut already. He actually did a good job with it and even went extra slow to minimize the splintering.

I watched some videos. The slot port and bracing were the tricky parts. A specific vbss would be nice to see. I finished one box. I will try a few things differently with the second.

Last edited by kingssoldier08; 07-12-2019 at 12:09 PM.
kingssoldier08 is offline  
post #9 of 40 Old 07-11-2019, 11:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggers View Post
You can have Lowes or whoever cut the sheets, But you must mark the wood and you must move the sheet into position for cutting.
I just told the guy it was for a box, so he cut all the dimensions with the same marker on the saw before he moved it for a different measurement.Seemed to work out well

Last edited by kingssoldier08; 07-12-2019 at 12:11 PM.
kingssoldier08 is offline  
post #10 of 40 Old 07-11-2019, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Box 1 of 2 complete. I think I did not use the best assembly order in this one. For the next one I will do this order
1. Long side to back
2. Top
3. Bottom
4. Slot port
5. Other side
6. Bracing
7. Driver hole cut out
8. Front

Anyone have any other suggestions for this? Would it be better to do the slot port before attaching the bottom? How do you clamp the port in two directions (to the bottom and back)?Click image for larger version

Name:	20190711_123945_1562874432514.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	2.46 MB
ID:	2589812

Last edited by kingssoldier08; 07-12-2019 at 12:12 PM.
kingssoldier08 is offline  
post #11 of 40 Old 07-11-2019, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Do I need two of these if I have two outs on my receiver?
https://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-Connectors-Shielded-Oxygen-Free-Conductors/dp/B001VLW398/ref=mp_s_a_1_5?keywords=xlr+to+rca+cable&qid=15628 77805&s=gateway&sr=8-5

Last edited by kingssoldier08; 07-12-2019 at 12:14 PM.
kingssoldier08 is offline  
post #12 of 40 Old 07-11-2019, 03:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smcmillan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Farmington, MI, USA
Posts: 1,982
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 855 Post(s)
Liked: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingssoldier08 View Post
Do I need two of these if I have two outs on my receiver?
https://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-Con...ateway&&sr=8-5
You can use 2 of them, or just one and use Biamp 1 on the 3k.

What AVR do you have? If it has something like Sub EQ HT then I would use both sub outs.

Sub builds: Yet another Infinity 1260 build | Twins! | Modified V.B.S.S. build | UM12-22 builds | AV stand and sealed UM18s

Speaker builds: DIYSG HTM-10 build | DIYSG Volt-6 build | DIYSG Fusion-8 builds
smcmillan2 is offline  
post #13 of 40 Old 07-11-2019, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by smcmillan2 View Post

You can use 2 of them, or just one and use Biamp 1 on the 3k.

What AVR do you have? If it has something like Sub EQ HT then I would use both sub outs.
I have this receiver https://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio_visual/av_receivers_amps/tsr-5810/specs.html
Not sure what kind of sub eq it has. I just plug the ypao mic in, and it sets the levels for me. I can not manually adjust the eq on the sub like I can with the other speakers, so I assume it doesn't eq the sub, but I really don't know.

Last edited by kingssoldier08; 07-12-2019 at 12:17 PM.
kingssoldier08 is offline  
post #14 of 40 Old 07-11-2019, 06:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smcmillan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Farmington, MI, USA
Posts: 1,982
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 855 Post(s)
Liked: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingssoldier08 View Post
I have this receiver https://usa.yamaha.com/products/audi...810/specs.html
Not sure what kind of sub eq it has. I just plug the ypao mic in, and it sets the levels for me. I can not manually adjust the eq on the sub like I can with the other speakers, so I assume it doesn't eq the sub, but I really don't know.
(Please consider using Tapatalk, or at least use the non-enhanced mode of mobile browsing so we don't have to keep fixing these posts. See https://www.avsforum.com/forum/43-fo...364-115-s.html for more information)

Nope, won't eq the sub(s). You can still use 2 of the RCA -> XLR cables if you like, but it won't make any difference.

Sub builds: Yet another Infinity 1260 build | Twins! | Modified V.B.S.S. build | UM12-22 builds | AV stand and sealed UM18s

Speaker builds: DIYSG HTM-10 build | DIYSG Volt-6 build | DIYSG Fusion-8 builds
smcmillan2 is offline  
post #15 of 40 Old 07-11-2019, 07:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by smcmillan2 View Post
(Please consider using Tapatalk, or at least use the non-enhanced mode of mobile browsing so we don't have to keep fixing these posts. See https://www.avsforum.com/forum/43-fo...364-115-s.html for more information)

Nope, won't eq the sub(s). You can still use 2 of the RCA -> XLR cables if you like, but it won't make any difference.
Sorry. Didn't realize there was a way to use the non enhanced mobile version. Is this better?

Will using both outputs make a difference if I have the crossover higher to take advantage of the mid bass of this sub? I.e. stereo mid bass.
Edit: Also previously my sub with 2 lfe inputs would play louder with both inputs plugged in than with one. Was this more likely the sub or the receiver?

Last edited by kingssoldier08; 07-11-2019 at 09:30 PM.
kingssoldier08 is offline  
post #16 of 40 Old 07-12-2019, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
So I've realized I goofed a bit. I assumed wood glue was sandable, but I'm reading that isn't quite the case. Any advice on taking the extra wood glue off without killing the wood that I'd like to stain? I wiped the edges, but there are definitely smears left of glue because the clamps made it really difficult to get all the glue off while clamped.
kingssoldier08 is offline  
post #17 of 40 Old 07-13-2019, 04:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Would wood screws be fine to use to mount my subwoofer to the box since I'm using hard wood ply?
kingssoldier08 is offline  
post #18 of 40 Old 07-13-2019, 04:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smcmillan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Farmington, MI, USA
Posts: 1,982
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 855 Post(s)
Liked: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingssoldier08 View Post
So I've realized I goofed a bit. I assumed wood glue was sandable, but I'm reading that isn't quite the case. Any advice on taking the extra wood glue off without killing the wood that I'd like to stain? I wiped the edges, but there are definitely smears left of glue because the clamps made it really difficult to get all the glue off while clamped.
You're out of luck there I'm afraid. Wood glue will penetrate the woodgrain as well as ride on the surface, you can only sand so much off but you will always see some residual (unless you have really thick veneer to sand). And it does not take stain.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingssoldier08
Would wood screws be fine to use to mount my subwoofer to the box since I'm using hard wood ply?
What screws are you thinking of? I use these (or something very similar) in all my builds, haven't experienced a failure yet: https://www.parts-express.com/parts-...0-pcs--081-425

Sub builds: Yet another Infinity 1260 build | Twins! | Modified V.B.S.S. build | UM12-22 builds | AV stand and sealed UM18s

Speaker builds: DIYSG HTM-10 build | DIYSG Volt-6 build | DIYSG Fusion-8 builds
smcmillan2 is offline  
post #19 of 40 Old 07-13-2019, 05:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by smcmillan2 View Post
You're out of luck there I'm afraid. Wood glue will penetrate the woodgrain as well as ride on the surface, you can only sand so much off but you will always see some residual (unless you have really thick veneer to sand). And it does not take stain.
That will be most unfortunate. I'll see what I can do with it. If nothing else I can do what I did to the edges of my wood flooring in my house because I didn't have an edge sander... Cake some stain on the previously finished (in this case glued) area and let it dry without wiping it off and then put a coat of poly on... Worked well enough on my floors lol.
Quote:
Originally Posted by smcmillan2 View Post

What screws are you thinking of? I use these (or something very similar) in all my builds, haven't experienced a failure yet: https://www.parts-express.com/parts-...0-pcs--081-425
I have some extra wood screws for building on hand I was thinking of using. Not 100%, but I think these are the ones I have https://www.lowes.com/pd/Grip-Rite-8-x-1-1-4-in-Gold-Yellow-Zinc-Bugle-Interior-Wood-Screws-1-lb/1000075735

Last edited by kingssoldier08; 07-14-2019 at 07:04 AM.
kingssoldier08 is offline  
post #20 of 40 Old 07-18-2019, 03:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Got my second box assembled. It went better than the first. Gonna sand and try to get that glue off the first one and maybe stain today. I made the slot battle out of one piece with this one instead of piecing it together on the first box. Ordered the drivers today as well... It's coming together
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190717_201212.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	711.6 KB
ID:	2592110   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190717_201232.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	596.0 KB
ID:	2592112  
kingssoldier08 is offline  
post #21 of 40 Old 07-18-2019, 05:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Hudsonville, MI
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 131
You may be able to take off some of that glue and clean up your corners and save yourself a bit of sanding with a end-bearing flush trim router bit, if you have a router that is.


If you get a long bit where the bearing goes beyond the glue overrun, it should even the glue up with the box face.

--
Epson 2030 - Denon X1300W - Eosone RSF 1000 - Eosone RSC 300 - Eosone RSF 600 - Micca M-8C for ATMOS - 2 @ VBSS End Tables
DIY 110" AT Screen
jevchance is offline  
post #22 of 40 Old 07-18-2019, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by jevchance View Post
You may be able to take off some of that glue and clean up your corners and save yourself a bit of sanding with a end-bearing flush trim router bit, if you have a router that is.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wm576bsYPps

If you get a long bit where the bearing goes beyond the glue overrun, it should even the glue up with the box face.
Thanks. I don't have a router though. I am having luck getting careful with a sharp chisel and sanding. A bit tedious, but it seems to be working well enough. I also, sans router, rounded my edges today. Definitely took longer than I thought because I couldn't use my power sander due to the sandpaper tearing on the edges, so I wrapped the sandpaper around a piece of wood and did it by hand. Left one is rounded, right is not.

Edit: I think the image is upside down, so the right one is sanded
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190718_141335.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	653.0 KB
ID:	2592348  
kingssoldier08 is offline  
post #23 of 40 Old 07-18-2019, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Also I ordered a pair of pa460s last night. I'm getting a bit excited. I really think the rounded corners make it look more finished. Worth the time for me.
kingssoldier08 is offline  
post #24 of 40 Old 07-19-2019, 09:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Holy crap! Woofers came in today... Glad I didn't pay for faster shipping..
kingssoldier08 is offline  
post #25 of 40 Old 07-20-2019, 10:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
bebb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Middle Illinois
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingssoldier08 View Post
Can't say I've been through the whole thread, but I have spent a good deal of time there. Was just looking for maybe people who have made mistakes I could learn from or something like that
Yeah, make sure you build the port the correct length for your tuning.

If bad sound were Faital, good sound would be almost impossible
Killed two Mach5 21s and three UM-18s (and counting?)
bebb is offline  
post #26 of 40 Old 07-21-2019, 06:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by bebb View Post
Yeah, make sure you build the port the correct length for your tuning.
Ha, a little late for that. I think I got it right though. I guess I will find out soon enough. I'm getting pretty excited...I hope it lives up to my expectations.
kingssoldier08 is offline  
post #27 of 40 Old 07-22-2019, 09:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
bebb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Middle Illinois
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingssoldier08 View Post
...I hope it lives up to my expectations.
Likely will.
Craig S King likes this.

If bad sound were Faital, good sound would be almost impossible
Killed two Mach5 21s and three UM-18s (and counting?)
bebb is offline  
post #28 of 40 Old 07-23-2019, 01:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Got the first coat of stain on today. Waiting for my wires and connectors to make my speakon cable.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190723_151422.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	815.7 KB
ID:	2593732  
kingssoldier08 is offline  
post #29 of 40 Old 07-23-2019, 07:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
lknhomeaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Looking good!
lknhomeaudio is offline  
post #30 of 40 Old 07-24-2019, 08:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by lknhomeaudio View Post
Looking good!
Thanks. Hit the second coat today.. Might make the third. Have hopes to get it in the house tomorrow
lknhomeaudio likes this.
kingssoldier08 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off