AVS Forum banner

10hz nearfield, possible? Impractical?

3K views 16 replies 15 participants last post by  Mazza 
#1 · (Edited)
My system right now plays to 18hz and I am surrounded by concrete and I know the

#2 ·
I've been rocking flat to 5hz NF for 8 years now (although I run a +20dB house curve lol). It's freaking tons of fun!!!! I used 21's at first and now am running 24's (honestly, the 21's were more than enough!) Get some sealed drivers, give them some power and thats about it really. Just have to get something capable of actually going that low with authority.

#3 ·
Sealed drivers rolloff too much nearfield so you need enough excursion and a boost down low, or as mentioned, a house curve boosting under 20hz and lower. I had two dual ported 18s tuned to 7hz NF at one time.

#4 ·
If it were me, I'd choose a more capable driver.

#5 ·
While for the most part I agree with johnson636 it still comes down to displacement, $, and space. I didn't care about $ but space I did. So I couldn't do anything more than a 15" driver behind me and most 15's aren't worth what they charge compared to the 18's out there today and their depth is usually close. So I got 16 of those JBL's in a 12" deep cab and they fire into my couch from no more than 2" away and there's nothing like it. Yes 10hz and below is pretty awesome even near-field with pretty much no room gain.:cool:

The drivers cost me $480 and I bought a clone for $800. IIRC they can do around 108db at 10hz. 8 would be 102db at 10hz. That's roughly 26 liters of air, or 13 for 8. So give or take 2-4 UM 18's or 1-2 24's would equal or better that but still cost a good bit more. Though the wiring would be much easier. :eek: Just depends on your limits and budget. I will say another 6db down at I'd say 25hz and below makes a huge difference compared to the higher frequencies so IF you can do more than 8 I would, and if not, like johnson636 said go with a more capable driver.

#6 · (Edited)