Sub woofers not working - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 117 Old 08-04-2019, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cichlid109's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: House on East Coast
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Its one thing when its your own equipment and you have somewhat of an idea of what your doing, as many things as OP has tried it seems possible that he may have by accident set something wrong?? I know if it were me I would have read and reread owners manuals on equipment to make absolutely sure everything was hooked up correctly and its possible he did but I do not know?? Now if the Denon was used its possible something could be wrong which would explain lack of sound out of sub pre outs.

Okay another idea!! Try doing a firmware reset check your manual on my Denon turn unit off then turn it on while pressing info and back sometimes that helps. Another idea but turn volume down it maybe the sub preouts are faulty I would unplug the preout from sub1 on avr and plug it into another preout but make sure you disconnect whatever speaker you have hooked to it. Example if you use front left disconnect speaker wire from back of Denon then plug mini into FrontLeft preout instead of sub out. I figure if that works and you get normal sound then its stands to reason sub preouts may be faulty.

Denon AVR-4520 LCR BIC PL89ii's w/ 2 SX2400 amps, Volt6 front height w/nu3000, Volt6 rear height w/EP-2000, BIC DV84's w/EPX2800
Infinity1262's in Quad Opposed box w/ nu6000,SI DS4's in 2 sealed Marty Cube w/ IT 8000, 2 SI HST18's in Dual Opposed w/ A14K
Cichlid109 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 117 Old 08-04-2019, 01:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 2
The amp and avr were both new. From parts Express and amazon respectively.

I'll snag some pics of my denon setting when I get a chance.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
TIV13 is offline  
post #63 of 117 Old 08-04-2019, 02:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1209 Post(s)
Liked: 702
Do you have a multimeter? Since you get output via the avr test tone, measure the sub out while playing the test tone and see if you're getting at least 2v.

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) Stage Right 15" PA- (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune- 4 PA460 in ported cabs 40Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 117 Old 08-04-2019, 02:45 PM
Member
 
latexii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by TIV13 View Post
I think I made progress.
Under my settings for Kodi, I changed my speaker output to 5.1. I now hear sound from the subs, just very quite.
If movies are played trought Kodi (HTPC) and they produce no sound or very quiet one from Subwoofer but AVR is generating ok (or even loud?) signals during Audyssey there might be something messed up (also) at HTPC 's end.. Just a thought.
latexii is offline  
post #65 of 117 Old 08-04-2019, 03:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1209 Post(s)
Liked: 702
I agree. If the signal is making it to the amp from all sources, then the amp will produce sound, even if it's at low volumes. But what the op is describing, suggests the signal isn't making to the amp from whatever source is producing the movie/music content.

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) Stage Right 15" PA- (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune- 4 PA460 in ported cabs 40Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
post #66 of 117 Old 08-04-2019, 03:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cichlid109's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: House on East Coast
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Try this if you disconnected the PC what happens then? Ex. play a local radio station or if you have a bluray connected just to your Denon?

Denon AVR-4520 LCR BIC PL89ii's w/ 2 SX2400 amps, Volt6 front height w/nu3000, Volt6 rear height w/EP-2000, BIC DV84's w/EPX2800
Infinity1262's in Quad Opposed box w/ nu6000,SI DS4's in 2 sealed Marty Cube w/ IT 8000, 2 SI HST18's in Dual Opposed w/ A14K
Cichlid109 is offline  
post #67 of 117 Old 08-04-2019, 03:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1209 Post(s)
Liked: 702
Good idea. I may have missed it, but has the op stated what's the source for the movie/music content?

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) Stage Right 15" PA- (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune- 4 PA460 in ported cabs 40Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
post #68 of 117 Old 08-04-2019, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cichlid109 View Post
Try this if you disconnected the PC what happens then? Ex. play a local radio station or if you have a bluray connected just to your Denon?
Same thing with youtube. Via my shield.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
TIV13 is offline  
post #69 of 117 Old 08-04-2019, 03:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnson636 View Post
Good idea. I may have missed it, but has the op stated what's the source for the movie/music content?
Nvidia shield from a htpc.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
TIV13 is offline  
post #70 of 117 Old 08-04-2019, 04:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1209 Post(s)
Liked: 702
Do you have a means to play music or movie clips from another source?

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) Stage Right 15" PA- (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune- 4 PA460 in ported cabs 40Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
post #71 of 117 Old 08-05-2019, 01:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cichlid109's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: House on East Coast
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by TIV13 View Post
Same thing with youtube. Via my shield.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

Do not think you understand on the back of the Denon either disconnect the ethernet cable or turn off WiFi. If your playing You Tube your using the internet via your computer / internet. We are trying to eliminate where the problem is located. My other thought and this will determine if the mini / amp / subs are okay. Disconnect the mini from back of Denon ( you wrote both sub 1 and 2 same result ) make sure volume is down. Now disconnect one of your speakers from back of Denon ( use one of the mains easier to get to ) now plug the mini into the corresponding preout. No it will not be a sub signal but it will determine if those 3 components are okay if you get sound.

Denon AVR-4520 LCR BIC PL89ii's w/ 2 SX2400 amps, Volt6 front height w/nu3000, Volt6 rear height w/EP-2000, BIC DV84's w/EPX2800
Infinity1262's in Quad Opposed box w/ nu6000,SI DS4's in 2 sealed Marty Cube w/ IT 8000, 2 SI HST18's in Dual Opposed w/ A14K
Cichlid109 is offline  
post #72 of 117 Old 08-05-2019, 02:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cichlid109's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: House on East Coast
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Once again with no internet enabled meaning YouTube etc. what happens if you play a local radio station? You really need to try what I suggested on connecting mini/amp/subs to another preout ( disconnect the corresponding speaker ). I read there Avr's that on occasion the sub preouts fail it does happen. If when you switch to the different preout problem is still the same do what I first suggested with no internet wifi etc play a radio station.

Denon AVR-4520 LCR BIC PL89ii's w/ 2 SX2400 amps, Volt6 front height w/nu3000, Volt6 rear height w/EP-2000, BIC DV84's w/EPX2800
Infinity1262's in Quad Opposed box w/ nu6000,SI DS4's in 2 sealed Marty Cube w/ IT 8000, 2 SI HST18's in Dual Opposed w/ A14K
Cichlid109 is offline  
post #73 of 117 Old 08-06-2019, 04:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnson636 View Post
Do you have a means to play music or movie clips from another source?
I played a video via blu tooth and did not hear anything.

I did the speaker set up with my denon and I only plugged up 1 speaker instead of 2.
The sound is MUCH louder, but still very very quite.

With my mini plugged in, the levels are going about -65 to -42. Not higher or lower than that.
TIV13 is offline  
post #74 of 117 Old 08-06-2019, 04:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cichlid109 View Post
Once again with no internet enabled meaning YouTube etc. what happens if you play a local radio station? You really need to try what I suggested on connecting mini/amp/subs to another preout ( disconnect the corresponding speaker ). I read there Avr's that on occasion the sub preouts fail it does happen. If when you switch to the different preout problem is still the same do what I first suggested with no internet wifi etc play a radio station.
Another note:
I did as you instructed and touched the cable from the mini dsp, to the pre out of the center channel.
The speaker went up to -1 db!
When I touched my finger to the tip of the connector, it went to -54.
Could my pre outs on the sub be broke?
The knob on the front was barley turned, if it matters.
TIV13 is offline  
post #75 of 117 Old 08-06-2019, 05:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1209 Post(s)
Liked: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by TIV13 View Post
I played a video via blu tooth and did not hear anything.

I did the speaker set up with my denon and I only plugged up 1 speaker instead of 2.
The sound is MUCH louder, but still very very quite.

With my mini plugged in, the levels are going about -65 to -42. Not higher or lower than that.
What was the source of the Bluetooth signal?

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) Stage Right 15" PA- (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune- 4 PA460 in ported cabs 40Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
post #76 of 117 Old 08-06-2019, 05:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnson636 View Post
What was the source of the Bluetooth signal?
A video saved to my phone.

No Internet used.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
TIV13 is offline  
post #77 of 117 Old 08-06-2019, 05:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1209 Post(s)
Liked: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by TIV13 View Post
A video saved to my phone.

No Internet used.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Was the bluetooth signal sent from phone to the avr or phone, htpc, to avr? One way to verify this is to turn off you htpc

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) Stage Right 15" PA- (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune- 4 PA460 in ported cabs 40Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
post #78 of 117 Old 08-06-2019, 05:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnson636 View Post
Was the bluetooth signal sent from phone to the avr or phone, htpc, to avr? One way to verify this is to turn off you htpc
From my phone to avr.

If I need to Re do this test I can.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
TIV13 is offline  
post #79 of 117 Old 08-06-2019, 05:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1209 Post(s)
Liked: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by TIV13 View Post
From my phone to avr.

If I need to Re do this test I can.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
A redo would be great. The purpose of this test is to eliminate the htpc, so turn it off (if possible) while running this test. Also, do you have a multimeter?

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) Stage Right 15" PA- (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune- 4 PA460 in ported cabs 40Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
post #80 of 117 Old 08-06-2019, 06:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnson636 View Post
A redo would be great. The purpose of this test is to eliminate the htpc, so turn it off (if possible) while running this test. Also, do you have a multimeter?
I'll turn it off and do the blutooth again.

I do not

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
TIV13 is offline  
post #81 of 117 Old 08-06-2019, 06:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cichlid109's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: House on East Coast
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Right now it looks like the problem might be the HTPC!! To verify like I wrote a few times disconnect the HTPC from the Denon then play a radio station or anything that does not involve using the HTPC. ( Needs to be disconnected ) If when you do this and everything sounds good you now know its not the stereo but its computer related.

Denon AVR-4520 LCR BIC PL89ii's w/ 2 SX2400 amps, Volt6 front height w/nu3000, Volt6 rear height w/EP-2000, BIC DV84's w/EPX2800
Infinity1262's in Quad Opposed box w/ nu6000,SI DS4's in 2 sealed Marty Cube w/ IT 8000, 2 SI HST18's in Dual Opposed w/ A14K
Cichlid109 is offline  
post #82 of 117 Old 08-06-2019, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cichlid109 View Post
Right now it looks like the problem might be the HTPC!! To verify like I wrote a few times disconnect the HTPC from the Denon then play a radio station or anything that does not involve using the HTPC. ( Needs to be disconnected ) If when you do this and everything sounds good you now know its not the stereo but its computer related.
I turned off my nas.

Same sound as before. I'm going to try a metal song when I get home to be sure as well as touching the sub to the center channel.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
TIV13 is offline  
post #83 of 117 Old 08-06-2019, 02:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Just got off the phone w denon. The tech support lady said to do a factory reset and if that doesn't work the sub outputs may be bad.

Does that sound accurate?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
TIV13 is offline  
post #84 of 117 Old 08-06-2019, 04:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1209 Post(s)
Liked: 702
Could be the denon, could be the amp. You'd be able to eliminate the denon if you had a multimeter.

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) Stage Right 15" PA- (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune- 4 PA460 in ported cabs 40Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
post #85 of 117 Old 08-06-2019, 05:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnson636 View Post
Could be the denon, could be the amp. You'd be able to eliminate the denon if you had a multimeter.
Can you suggest an affordable one ?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
TIV13 is offline  
post #86 of 117 Old 08-06-2019, 06:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Played a metal song with the NAS off.
I can't hear any bass. The range on the minidsp software is -68 to about -53.

I touched the sub cord to the center channel, black connector and it jumped up high again and was loud.

I did the factory reset and its still the exact same.
TIV13 is offline  
post #87 of 117 Old 08-06-2019, 07:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1209 Post(s)
Liked: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by TIV13 View Post
Can you suggest an affordable one ?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Something like the one below

https://www.amazon.com/Etekcity-Mult...s%2C418&sr=8-6

You should be able to find one similar in price and function at Walmart.

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) Stage Right 15" PA- (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune- 4 PA460 in ported cabs 40Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
post #88 of 117 Old 08-06-2019, 07:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnson636 View Post
Something like the one below



https://www.amazon.com/Etekcity-Mult...s%2C418&sr=8-6



You should be able to find one similar in price and function at Walmart.
How do I use it to see if my avr is bad?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
TIV13 is offline  
post #89 of 117 Old 08-07-2019, 03:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cichlid109's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: House on East Coast
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 154
It could be your sub outs are bad its possible you tried a different pre out and lots of sound. As johnson suggest a cheap meter all your doing is measuring voltage. Looks like your finally making progress.

Denon AVR-4520 LCR BIC PL89ii's w/ 2 SX2400 amps, Volt6 front height w/nu3000, Volt6 rear height w/EP-2000, BIC DV84's w/EPX2800
Infinity1262's in Quad Opposed box w/ nu6000,SI DS4's in 2 sealed Marty Cube w/ IT 8000, 2 SI HST18's in Dual Opposed w/ A14K
Cichlid109 is offline  
post #90 of 117 Old 08-07-2019, 04:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1209 Post(s)
Liked: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by TIV13 View Post
How do I use it to see if my avr is bad?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Disconnect all the speakers from AVR including the sub. You don't want to blow any speakers during this test. You'll need a female to female coupler and a regular rca cable

- Connect one end of th rca cable into the sub out on avr and leave the other end open.
- Connect a rca female to female coupler to the other end. if you don't have a coupler, you can use the male end to check for voltage. It's just more risky of a short
- Dial the master volume all the way to max.
- Put the multimeter in the required measuring mode (Volts) and set appropriate scale.
- Play a test tone (0dBFS 60Hz) you can find this on youtube
- Put the positive prong (red) inside the coupler and then touch the negative prong (black) on the outer rca ring.
- Your meter should read the max output voltage, whatever that is...maybe 2v. The point is to see how much voltage your avr pre-outs is outputting
TIV13 likes this.

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) Stage Right 15" PA- (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune- 4 PA460 in ported cabs 40Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off