elemental designs - 19 ov.2 driver recone - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-28-2019, 09:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
thejck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
elemental designs - 19 ov.2 driver recone

i have a buddy that owns subs with these drivers and one of them has damage to the cone. There is a cut in it and I am trying to help him find options to recone it if possible.
If that is not an option I can help him find a replacement drivers.
I have never gone through this process. Any thoughts on businesses that I can contact? We live in Kansas City MO. are there local options that I can find in the yellow pages or are there websites I can contact to ship it off too?

Please help.
thejck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 11-29-2019, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
rr14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I’d replace them before spending the coin on them. I’ve gone through about 6 of them and at least two have had issues.
rr14 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 11-30-2019, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
thejck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
any idea whats a good replacement driver for the box?
the a7-900 box. has to 18 drivers and ported and freaking Hugh. i assume due to the size i have more flexability of drivers as i dont have to push as much?

found a guy (splaudio) off caraudio forums that can do a complete make over. coils spiders code and surrounds. supposedly makes them better.
thejck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 11-30-2019, 09:09 AM
Senior Member
 
rr14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 32
if he's got the home sub with the box and amp, great reason to figure out what to replace it with. I'd imagine that there's got to be a replacement that is in the ballpark spec wise.

The "loose" subs look different if I recall than the ones that are packaged with that sub unit. I ended up painting mine matte black to make them look more subtle than the way they come from the factory.
rr14 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-02-2019, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
thejck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
he has the large home box that looks like a fridge. almost industrial strength lol.
thejck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off