240v 3 prong "dryer" type cord with 3 prong female "computer" type cord questions - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 12-16-2019, 07:46 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rr14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 32
240v 3 prong "dryer" type cord with 3 prong female "computer" type cord questions

Hi all,

I'm trying to plug a 240v inuke in my garage into my dryer recepticle (I'm using a gas dryer). Any suggestions on where I can buy this type of thing or is this strictly a diy type deal?
rr14 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-16-2019, 07:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
a77cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sturgis, SD
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 333
What receptacle?


Chris
a77cj7 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-16-2019, 08:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 11,035
Mentioned: 243 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3881 Post(s)
Liked: 4374
If the device has a 240V or universal power supply, you can hook it directly up with the appropriate adapters.
(Not sure what building/electrical codes / inspectors / house insurance would SAY about that though...)
But "technically" it would work.


If it is only rated for 120V, then you'd NEED a 4 prong plug and socket, since 120V REQUIRES a neutral. (Which many 240V appliances/sockets DON'T have.)

You could of course wire one of the hots to neutral (in the service panel), but again this DEFINITELY would violate building codes (but "technically" work.)

Last edited by BassThatHz; 12-16-2019 at 08:11 PM.
BassThatHz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 12-16-2019, 08:41 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rr14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Hi all, the dryer is a 10-30r. The amp is a 240-250v euro inuke. The amp has the 3 connector, computer type cord on the actual amp.

The customer service person said that you just need the correct cord to get it to work with 120v but when I tried, the lights came on, but no sound so unfortunately, that doesn't look like the case. So, it looks like plan b time, 240.

edit, or the other option is to mod the amp from 240 to 120

Last edited by rr14; 12-16-2019 at 08:47 PM.
rr14 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-17-2019, 08:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
a77cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sturgis, SD
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by rr14 View Post
Hi all, the dryer is a 10-30r. The amp is a 240-250v euro inuke. The amp has the 3 connector, computer type cord on the actual amp.



The customer service person said that you just need the correct cord to get it to work with 120v but when I tried, the lights came on, but no sound so unfortunately, that doesn't look like the case. So, it looks like plan b time, 240.



edit, or the other option is to mod the amp from 240 to 120


Making one is your best bet. I couldn’t find that exact adapter, and doing it in 2 steps was pretty expensive.

Chris


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
a77cj7 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-21-2019, 06:18 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rr14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Hi all,

So I started working on this today. I picked up the dryer cord from Home Depot and used a multimeter to confirm what prongs we’re going to what wire.

On the opposite end, I cut off the end of the Inuke 250v euro plug and did the same with the multi meter.

I have a few questions about the plug/wiring that goes into the Inuke. Is the one in the middle one the one that should connect to the ground (L shaped prong) on my dryer plug?

Also, does the orientation of the other two matter since they are both 120v?

Just want to try to verify so I don’t nuke the Inuke or burn down the house!

Here are some photos
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A754D0A1-6F7C-40BB-AC72-5A56795A5B65_1576977408437.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	54.1 KB
ID:	2657184   Click image for larger version

Name:	6B535C68-5622-4C73-A4CD-614F3DF63998_1576977456476.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	129.6 KB
ID:	2657186   Click image for larger version

Name:	FF34436E-FD04-4556-8348-982033F2744F_1576977474403.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	94.6 KB
ID:	2657188   Click image for larger version

Name:	4A308E7D-1655-4E21-AD4E-B9C3EE58B4EA_1576977503051.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	82.1 KB
ID:	2657190  
rr14 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-22-2019, 09:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 11,035
Mentioned: 243 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3881 Post(s)
Liked: 4374
If you live in Europe the orientation might matter, if you live in usa/can it doesn't matter.
The middle one and the L shape one should be ground, yes.

The inuke is probably a 10a device, so giving it 30a may cause it to blow internal fuses before the breaker trips, just know that. (or worst-case: catch on fire from the extra amperage in the event it doesn't have internal fuse/breaker or it fails to act fast enough, rare, but 5h1t happens)
BassThatHz is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-22-2019, 01:56 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rr14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post
If you live in Europe the orientation might matter, if you live in usa/can it doesn't matter.
The middle one and the L shape one should be ground, yes.

The inuke is probably a 10a device, so giving it 30a may cause it to blow internal fuses before the breaker trips, just know that. (or worst-case: catch on fire from the extra amperage in the event it doesn't have internal fuse/breaker or it fails to act fast enough, rare, but 5h1t happens)
got it. The amp does have a breaker on the back of the unit. Hopefully that will keep the fires from happening!
rr14 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 12-22-2019, 05:16 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rr14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 32
well, finished it up today. I connected the two sets of wires using the shrink wrap type butt connectors and then put a 2nd layer of shrinkwrap over them to make sure that they're really strong and don't separate.

Plugged the amp in and it fired up. Lights came on and then fans came on. Previously when plugged into 120, the power light would come on but no fans or sound. I think I'm on the right track.

No smoke or fire yet! Thanks!

edit.... I'll probably have the electrician swap out the breaker for a 10 or 15 amp next time he's out for the peace of mind.

Last edited by rr14; 12-22-2019 at 08:47 PM.
rr14 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off