Need help with wiring SI Ht-15 D4 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Chris Popovich
  • 1 Post By Hddisplay
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 04-05-2020, 04:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Need help with wiring SI Ht-15 D4

I have a SI HT- 15 d4 and a Dayton SPA-500 in a 3.0 cu. ft. cabinet. Right now I have the SPA-500 amp wired to just 1 voice coil. The sub has dual voice coils. Do I need to wire the other coil also to get the most out of the amp. And if so how do I wire both voice coils to the amp. Sorry I am new to this stuff.
Hddisplay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 04-05-2020, 05:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a77cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sturgis, SD
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 972 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hddisplay View Post
I have a SI HT- 15 d4 and a Dayton SPA-500 in a 3.0 cu. ft. cabinet. Right now I have the SPA-500 amp wired to just 1 voice coil. The sub has dual voice coils. Do I need to wire the other coil also to get the most out of the amp. And if so how do I wire both voice coils to the amp. Sorry I am new to this stuff.

Running only coil greatly effects the parameters of your driver in unknown ways, while also cutting the power handling in half.

There is no ideal way to power that driver with that amp, sadly.
I would series the coils to an 8ohm load. Will give you 273w from the amp.

Chris
a77cj7 is online now  
post #3 of 22 Old 04-05-2020, 06:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 3,476
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1734 Post(s)
Liked: 1242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hddisplay View Post
I have a SI HT- 15 d4 and a Dayton SPA-500 in a 3.0 cu. ft. cabinet. Right now I have the SPA-500 amp wired to just 1 voice coil. The sub has dual voice coils. Do I need to wire the other coil also to get the most out of the amp. And if so how do I wire both voice coils to the amp. Sorry I am new to this stuff.
As mentioned, utilize both sets of voice coil


Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) QSC 2180 - (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune - 2 Devastator Minis B&C21ds115 - 4 PA460 in ported cabs 40Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 22 Old 04-05-2020, 07:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chris Popovich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by a77cj7 View Post
Running only coil greatly effects the parameters of your driver in unknown ways, while also cutting the power handling in half.

There is no ideal way to power that driver with that amp, sadly.
I would series the coils to an 8ohm load. Will give you 273w from the amp.

Chris
It's not a huge deal to just run 1 coil, and it's not unknown the effects of it. You can actually do some cool schtuff with just one coil on a dvc which is mostly rendered useless by the DSP available today but is still cool to read about. Good 'ole Dan Wiggins:

http://www.diy-audio.narod.ru/litr/D...oilDrivers.pdf


Chris
Chris Popovich is online now  
post #5 of 22 Old 04-05-2020, 08:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a77cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sturgis, SD
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 972 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Need help with wiring SI Ht-15 D4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Popovich View Post
It's not a huge deal to just run 1 coil, and it's not unknown the effects of it. You can actually do some cool schtuff with just one coil on a dvc which is mostly rendered useless by the DSP available today but is still cool to read about. Good 'ole Dan Wiggins:

http://www.diy-audio.narod.ru/litr/D...oilDrivers.pdf


Chris

You still cut the power handling in half.

Assuming the ht15 is rated similarly to the HT18, you now have a driver rated for 300w. Powered by amp rated for 540w.

Having damaged both of my ht18’s on double rated power, I would caution against driving this setup hard.

EDIT: The other problem with that article is it doesn’t take into account coil cooling due to air movement. Most drivers rely on air movement through the pole vent for cooling. With a driver wired out of phase, you will burn the coil much faster without it being able to move. The same way long-throw drivers have been proven to thermally fail when driven at higher frequencies.

EDIT2: You also cut sensitivity in half with only one coil powered.

Chris

Last edited by a77cj7; 04-05-2020 at 08:46 PM.
a77cj7 is online now  
post #6 of 22 Old 04-05-2020, 08:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chris Popovich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Yep, as long as he's aware of it, should be fine with some prudence on the volume control. It is going to have a higher Q which isn't ideal most of the time....

Or if he beats on his stuff, run 'er wide open often, wire them up in series and have less output but be thermally safe.


To you point about movement, he'll get plenty of movement with 1 coil, even if he shorts the other coil it'll be a handful of watts, but that's a side note to this conversation.
Chris Popovich is online now  
post #7 of 22 Old 04-05-2020, 08:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a77cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sturgis, SD
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 972 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Need help with wiring SI Ht-15 D4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Popovich View Post
Yep, as long as he's aware of it, should be fine with some prudence on the volume control.

Or if he beats on his stuff, run 'er wide open often, wire them up in series and have less output but be thermally safe.

If I’m not mistaken, the halving of sensitivity will cause output to be the same with 270w to both coils as 540w to one coil.

I’ve never tested this, nor have seen it tested.

Same output with twice the thermal capacity and half the input power seems like a win to me.

Chris

Last edited by a77cj7; 04-05-2020 at 09:02 PM.
a77cj7 is online now  
post #8 of 22 Old 04-05-2020, 08:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a77cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sturgis, SD
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 972 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Need help with wiring SI Ht-15 D4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Popovich View Post
To you point about movement, he'll get plenty of movement with 1 coil, even if he shorts the other coil it'll be a handful of watts, but that's a side note to this conversation.
Agreed not applicable in this case.
I just have problems using articles as absolute references when I can pick out large flaws. Between that and not mentioning the reduction in power handling, that one seems to be as much marketing as science.

Chris
a77cj7 is online now  
post #9 of 22 Old 04-05-2020, 09:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chris Popovich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by a77cj7 View Post
Agreed not applicable in this case.
I just have problems using articles as absolute references when I can pick out large flaws. Between that and not mentioning the reduction in power handling, that one seems to be as much marketing as science.

Chris
I have a problem with assuming I'm using that as a reference. It was used as a "hey check out the cool things you can do". Which is exactly what I wrote.

To say Dan is extremely knowledgeable about driver design is to do him a disservice. Marketing aside, that article was written back before DSP was so easily accessible, so it was a cool way to adjust the "tightness" of a sealed sub. If you're not aware, back then there were more than 1 OEM that offered that as an option, dial your Q up for movies, dial it down for the *ahem* (insert snooty english accent) most discerning audiophile needs.

No skin off my back side no matter what you believe or the OP does. It's simply just not the end of the world to use one coil, as long as you like how it sounds and don't push limits. If it were me I'd just wire them in series and eventually buy a bigger amp... and then use the smaller amp for an office system.... or garage...
a77cj7 likes this.
Chris Popovich is online now  
post #10 of 22 Old 04-06-2020, 11:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
What if I wire the negative to one coil and the positive to the other coil. I am thinking it won't make a difference right.
Hddisplay is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 04-06-2020, 11:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a77cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sturgis, SD
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 972 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Need help with wiring SI Ht-15 D4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hddisplay View Post
What if I wire the negative to one coil and the positive to the other coil. I am thinking it won't make a difference right.

Uhh... if you don’t connect the coils together doing that, no sound.

If you wire to positive of coil one, and negative of coil two; then use a jumper wire to connect the negative of coil one to the positive of coil two, that is series connection and will result in an 8ohm load.

The diagram posted earlier shows this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnson636 View Post


I would recommend this method in your case.

Chris
a77cj7 is online now  
post #12 of 22 Old 04-06-2020, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Yeah I wired it that way (8 ohm) and it reduced the output greatly. I wonder if I can wire to do a 2 ohm load but that may damage the amp.
Hddisplay is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 04-06-2020, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a77cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sturgis, SD
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 972 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hddisplay View Post
Yeah I wired it that way (8 ohm) and it reduced the output greatly. I wonder if I can wire to do a 2 ohm load but that may damage the amp.

I have one of those amps, but I’ve never tried it below 4ohm.

Chris
a77cj7 is online now  
post #14 of 22 Old 04-06-2020, 12:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 3,476
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1734 Post(s)
Liked: 1242
If you don't know for certain that your amp will support a 2 ohm load, then I'd recommend you not try it. That's just me.

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) QSC 2180 - (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune - 2 Devastator Minis B&C21ds115 - 4 PA460 in ported cabs 40Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
post #15 of 22 Old 04-06-2020, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
yeah I probably won't try a 2 ohm load don't wanna damage the driver or amp. I think I will just upgrade to a more powerful crown amp in the future. Thank you all for the comments.
Hddisplay is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 04-07-2020, 10:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Ok guys I am thinking about getting the Behringer NX1000D. I want to wire it in Bridge Mode and get the full 1000 watts to my SI HT-15 D4. How do I wire to the amp with both voice coils in bridge mode.
Hddisplay is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 04-07-2020, 11:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a77cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sturgis, SD
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 972 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hddisplay View Post
Ok guys I am thinking about getting the Behringer NX1000D. I want to wire it in Bridge Mode and get the full 1000 watts to my SI HT-15 D4. How do I wire to the amp with both voice coils in bridge mode.


The 3000d usually doesn’t cost much more. It might be worth it to buy that instead, giving you another channel for a future sub.

If you get the 1000d, its not 2ohm stable bridged. So you’ll run 8ohm, just like current.

If you get the 3000d, parallel the sub to 2ohm on a single channel. This is your best option IMO.

Chris
a77cj7 is online now  
post #18 of 22 Old 04-07-2020, 11:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Augerhandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: About 25" away from my computer screen
Posts: 5,734
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1456 Post(s)
Liked: 1424
I've had the same driver (ported in 10 ft³), wired in parallel (2 ohms), on one channel of a NU3000DSP for years with no issue. That amp is a decent match for that driver.

"The wise understand by themselves; fools follow the reports of others"-Tibetan Proverb
_____________________ http://www.scientificamerican.com/article/auger-handle/ ________________________
Augerhandle is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 04-07-2020, 11:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 3,476
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1734 Post(s)
Liked: 1242
I'd get the NX3000D to match with your driver.

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) QSC 2180 - (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune - 2 Devastator Minis B&C21ds115 - 4 PA460 in ported cabs 40Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
post #20 of 22 Old 04-07-2020, 01:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
If I wire in parallel 2 ohm to one channel how many watts would I pump to the driver if I get the Behringer NX3000D . I am also not familiar to with XLR connections. Man I have so much to learn like how to connect the Behringer amp to my Onkyo receiver to sub input, which cable to use. Which cable to use to connect amp to sub XLR input. I already know how to wire in parallel 2 ohm. My head is spinning!!!!!!!!
Hddisplay is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 04-07-2020, 01:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
a77cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sturgis, SD
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 972 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hddisplay View Post
If I wire in parallel 2 ohm to one channel how many watts would I pump to the driver if I get the Behringer NX3000D . I am also not familiar to with XLR connections. Man I have so much to learn like how to connect the Behringer amp to my Onkyo receiver to sub input, which cable to use. Which cable to use to connect amp to sub XLR input. I already know how to wire in parallel 2 ohm. My head is spinning!!!!!!!!

If I remember the bench test results correctly, the nx3000 will put out 800-900wpc at 2ohm.

To connect to the receiver, you need a xlr-rca adapter cable. Many people have had good luck with monoprice units.
https://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-XLR...8-3&th=1&psc=1

To connect amp to sub, you need a speakon connector for your speaker wire:
https://www.amazon.com/Neutrik-NL4FX...291989&sr=8-17

Or you can install a speakon terminal on the sub box as well, and either make your own or buy premade speakon cables:

https://www.amazon.com/uxcell-Speako...6292212&sr=8-9

https://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-12A...6291817&sr=8-3

Chris
a77cj7 is online now  
post #22 of 22 Old 04-07-2020, 01:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Chris you are the man thanks for the help. I am starting to get it now. Thanks to all for the comments.
a77cj7 likes this.
Hddisplay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off