At wits end ... My Devastator story and needed help! - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 35Likes

post #1 of 146 Old 05-25-2020, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 40
At wits end ... My Devastator story and needed help!

Well... I was so excited to start a Devastator build (my first ever) and think I did a pretty decent job with it. Now that its complete, I am at wits end considering the equipment I am using and the output that's produced. The problem is that I am a noob when it comes to audio and all the technical jargon is very confusing, atleast for me.

Details:

Sub Cabinet: Devastator Version 6
Driver: Eminence NSW6021-6
AV Receiver: Yamaha RX A2000
Amp for Sub: Crown XLS2502 in bridge mode

I have an RCA cable going from my Yamaha (Sub Pre Out - Front) to xls 2502 Channel 1 input.
I have a Speakon connector going to sub. Speakon wiring is 1+, 2+ at amp end and 1+, 1- at sub end.

Issues:

1) My 10 inch Mirage sub sounds more cleaner and powerful than the devastator. With the xls 2502 channel 1 knob at full throttle, output is way underwhelming. Amp level lights are only up to one light.
2) There is a humming noise from the sub. If I disconnect RCA from Yamaha, hum goes away. Hum remains if I connect the RCA to Yamaha and xls even if the Yamaha is unplugged from the wall.

Considering the cost vs return, I am now doubting this whole DIY scene. I am sure with my non existent knowledge related to audio, I am making some mistakes and would appreciate if someone with far better understanding of settings and all can help me out. Its just driving me nuts....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 146 Old 05-25-2020, 12:29 PM
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvdfantastic View Post