• 1 Post By b curry
  • 2 Post By b curry

post #1 of 29 Old 02-09-2019, 09:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Outdoor Theater

Hi all. I'm looking to set up an outdoor theater, to watch movies with my family. My backyard is 22 ft wide by 39 ft deep. I want my screen to be as big as possible and I would like a pretty nice projector. My budget for the projector is $1200 and under. I've been looking at a 200 inch screen on Amazon and the 5000 1080p lumen projectors. I'm new to this, so I have no idea where to start. Please offer as much advice as possible. Thank you in advance. Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 Old 02-09-2019, 11:42 PM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Have you considered making your own screen? I have a 9'x16' outdoor screen made from billboard vinyl.
If you really want the biggest screen possible, you could go for a 9'x21' and get constant image height regardless of the aspect ratio of the movie you are viewing.

As for the projector, could you post a name specs and link to its Amazon page
post #3 of 29 Old 02-10-2019, 07:47 AM - Thread Starter

May I see pics of your screen?

I'm unable to post links on here and I'm not sure why. Would you be able to give me some information on what I should be looking for in a projector?? Lumens? Brand? Price? Specks? The projector will be used mostly outside and to play movies and video games. All I know is that I want the picture quality to be great and to be able to play the movies when the sun goes down.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 29 Old 02-10-2019, 09:44 AM

Hey FamilyFun

Here is a projector with 1080p and 3100 lumens, the Epson 1060
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...projector.html

attached is a shot of my screen and setup. I got the vinyl from billboardtarps.com, the joints/fittings to build the frame from carlofet.com, and the EMT pipe from my local big box home improvement store.