Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 02-06-2020, 12:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Backyard Setup Advise

Hello Everyone! Newbie here so please go easy on me

My wife and I would like some advise on what you would do in our situation.

Budget - $1,500

Needs - Projector, Screen, Speakers

Uses - We will be using this setup in our backyard 3-4 times a year (Super Bowl Party, Kids Birthdays, Family Movie Night, Other sporting events)

We will probably be using a forward facing projector but would like the screen to have the capability to do rear as well.

My Thoughts - I've looked around at projectors and like the Optoma UHD50. I feel that getting a 4k projector is important b/c this will probably be the one and only projector I buy in my life, or alteast for the next 20 years or so. I'm open to opinions on this, I also saw the ViewSonic PX727 but have read some negative feedback about Viewsonic projectors.

I'm thinking about building my own screen to save money. I'd like to have atleast a 140 in. screen as I've read this is the optimal size for the type of projectors I'm considering.

Questions
Considering my $1,500 budget
-What projector would you recommend?
-What speakers would you recommend?
-What screen would you recommend and size? If you recommend building your own, any plans or videos you recommend watching for a proven great design of screen? Also, any recommended specific screen material if you recommend the DIY route.

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 02-06-2020, 02:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Quoted: 1294 Post(s)
Liked: 833
Quote:
Originally Posted by td0703 View Post
Hello Everyone! Newbie here so please go easy on me

My wife and I would like some advise on what you would do in our situation.

Budget - $1,500

Needs - Projector, Screen, Speakers