I moved but my marquee 8500 does not switch on - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By draganm
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 08-21-2019, 01:04 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
enrico1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I moved but my marquee 8500 does not switch on

hello everybody,
I was using my marquee 8500 till few months ago. Everything was perfect. I recently moved, I made sure that the projector was carefully transported.
today I finished the setup but the loved CRT does not switch on. On the back I noticed the light STANDBY is on (Yellow light on).
The second light which says LVPS in light on RED color.
When I push the button "POWER" on the remote, the last light "C" switch on intermittent very fast both on remote and on CRT.
what is going on?
thanks in advance for your help
Enrico
enrico1967 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 08-22-2019, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
draganm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brighton, Colorado
Posts: 4,815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by enrico1967 View Post
The second light which says LVPS in light on RED color.
Enrico
the LVPS = low -voltage power supply.

unplug machine, remove LPVS (2 screws once cover is off), clean Copper traces with cotton swab and isopropyl Alcohol, re-install.

http://www.curtpalme.com/Marquee_Teardown1.shtm



If still red light, LVPS might be bad.



Or,

step-2- something that LVPS is powering is disconnected, poorly connected. Look at red lights on front of LVPS, are any lit-up?

Marquee HD mod's Marquee Upgrade/re-build package
draganm is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 08-22-2019, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
enrico1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by draganm View Post
the LVPS = low -voltage power supply.

unplug machine, remove LPVS (2 screws once cover is off), clean Copper traces with cotton swab and isopropyl Alcohol, re-install.

http://www.curtpalme.com/Marquee_Teardown1.shtm



If still red light, LVPS might be bad.



Or,

step-2- something that LVPS is powering is disconnected, poorly connected. Look at red lights on front of LVPS, are any lit-up?
Thank you very much draganm!
Tomorrow I will try to disconnect, here is already night!

I am not sure I got it right the Step 2. looking at the PRJ from the front, under the lenses there is a red light on. There are 5 little gratings under the lenses, it is positioned on the second grating from left, practically in the middle of the first two lenses from left.


if LVPS is bad, is it possible to replace it?

really appreciated your help, I am not ready to part from my loved CRT and convert to the digital, me and my wife love watching movies on that machine!

Enrico
enrico1967 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 08-22-2019, 05:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
draganm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brighton, Colorado
Posts: 4,815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by enrico1967 View Post
I am not sure I got it right the Step 2. looking at the PRJ from the front, under the lenses there is a red light on. There are 5 little gratings under the lenses, it is positioned on the second grating from left, practically in the middle of the first two lenses from left.
if LVPS is bad, is it possible to replace it?
really appreciated your help, I am not ready to part from my loved CRT and convert to the digital, me and my wife love watching movies on that machine!

Enrico
So you have 2 red lights on?

Red light on back of machine labeled LVPS
Red light in front of machine ,on the LVPS itself, second from left



the 2nd from left light indicates a problem on the -85Volt rail. the only thing on that rail is the video neck-boards which slide onto the back of the tubes. These could have gotten knocked loose



I would start by pulling re-installing the LVPS, then check the Video neck boards (VNB's) . 3 of them under the gold covers, I would just push on them, evenly, and see if they go in further.

http://www.curtpalme.com/Electrohome...e_Layout7.shtm


Or, slide them back, clean pins with alcohol, re-install. Risky though , you have to be very careful, do not force, if you bend the pins tube is ruined.



I've attached a document talking about LVPS
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Marquee_Power_Supply_Troubleshooting.pdf (28.0 KB, 4 views)

Marquee HD mod's Marquee Upgrade/re-build package
draganm is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 08-23-2019, 11:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
enrico1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by draganm View Post
So you have 2 red lights on?

Red light on back of machine labeled LVPS
Red light in front of machine ,on the LVPS itself, second from left



the 2nd from left light indicates a problem on the -85Volt rail. the only thing on that rail is the video neck-boards which slide onto the back of the tubes. These could have gotten knocked loose



I would start by pulling re-installing the LVPS, then check the Video neck boards (VNB's) . 3 of them under the gold covers, I would just push on them, evenly, and see if they go in further.

http://www.curtpalme.com/Electrohome...e_Layout7.shtm


Or, slide them back, clean pins with alcohol, re-install. Risky though , you have to be very careful, do not force, if you bend the pins tube is ruined.



I've attached a document talking about LVPS
hello,
I removed the LVPS and cleaned the contact withs the with cotton swab and isopropyl Alcohol and re-installed.
the problem is not solved. Same lights are switched on.
I realized that I made a mistake regarding the red light on the LVPS (watching from the front): it is the 5th from the left (or the third from the right).
At this point I halted the the work on the the video neck-boards waiting your confirmation to proceed. Should I proceed or do somenting else?
I found out an incredible amount of dirt and dust. On the fan there where like 0.2 inch of black dust which i removed but the inside is clearly very dirty.
Is it advisable to open the LVPS and clean it?
thank you very much
enrico
enrico1967 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 08-23-2019, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
draganm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brighton, Colorado
Posts: 4,815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 29
5th from left is +5 volt rail, almsot every module uses it. Could be anything on the rail or the LVPS itself . The LVPS is 2 halves with 5 connectors in between them, not advisable to take apart .
This is what i would do. Remove top cover, remove the 2 gold covers over the vertical boxes. Lift up the boards an inch or 2, and slide them firmly back into chassis. This is the Horizontal deflection and focus,

if the machine still doesn't power up, replace the LVPS, they are cheap and plentiful used as people part these machines out all the time. You should be able to find one for 50 bucks, any 8500/9500 LVPS will work
If local parts, i would also grab the HVPS , they are the most likely to fail



http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewf...92e3ac51ec76ff
enrico1967 likes this.

Marquee HD mod's Marquee Upgrade/re-build package
draganm is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 08-24-2019, 04:17 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
enrico1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by draganm View Post
5th from left is +5 volt rail, almsot every module uses it. Could be anything on the rail or the LVPS itself . The LVPS is 2 halves with 5 connectors in between them, not advisable to take apart .
This is what i would do. Remove top cover, remove the 2 gold covers over the vertical boxes. Lift up the boards an inch or 2, and slide them firmly back into chassis. This is the Horizontal deflection and focus,

if the machine still doesn't power up, replace the LVPS, they are cheap and plentiful used as people part these machines out all the time. You should be able to find one for 50 bucks, any 8500/9500 LVPS will work
If local parts, i would also grab the HVPS , they are the most likely to fail



http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewf...92e3ac51ec76ff
thank you very much, I tried but it did not work.
I will try to buy a LVPS.
unfortunately I moved to an island in Portugal named Madeira, I will spend more for transportation and importation fee than the LVPS...
really appreciated your help.
enrico1967 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-24-2019, 10:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
draganm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brighton, Colorado
Posts: 4,815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 29
It is likely all the dirt trapped a lot of heat and cooked the power supply .



buy one from Europe, there shouldn't be any import taxes. There are quite a few of these machines in the EU
just post on the FS section at Curt's website " WTB, LPVS for Marquee in Europe"

Marquee HD mod's Marquee Upgrade/re-build package
draganm is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 08-26-2019, 12:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
deronmoped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Posts: 3,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just leave the projector plugged in for a few days, it may fire up. I have a 9500 where the power supply would work, but only if left plugged in for extended periods of time.

CRT Videophile
deronmoped is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 11-04-2019, 05:04 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
enrico1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by deronmoped View Post
Just leave the projector plugged in for a few days, it may fire up. I have a 9500 where the power supply would work, but only if left plugged in for extended periods of time.
I tried but it did not work.
I purchased it, install it and it works great.

Thanks everybody for the help really appreciated!
enrico1967 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply CRT Projectors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off