Control4 DIY - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By rob black
  • 1 Post By SMHarman
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 05-28-2015, 08:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kraze98nyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Control4 DIY

Anyone a member on the control4 DIY forum? Please PM me, thank you!

Emotiva XMC1 - Emotiva XPA2 - Emotiva XPA5 - 2 x GE Triton Two - GE Supersat 60c - 4 x GE Supersat 3 - 2 x Powersound XS30se - Epson 5030UBe - Dalite High Power
kraze98nyc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 05-29-2015, 01:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SMHarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,328
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Hi
SMHarman is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 05-29-2015, 05:53 PM
Member
 
rob black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
hi
SMHarman likes this.
rob black is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 19 Old 05-30-2015, 06:42 PM
Member
 
Angus.Young's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
What?
Angus.Young is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 05-31-2015, 10:59 AM
Member
 
ELECTRICDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angus.Young View Post
What?
He said "Hi"
ELECTRICDON is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 05-31-2015, 04:33 PM
Member
 
Angus.Young's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Ohh.. I must have spelled what wrong..

I meant to say...


Hi

Angus.Young is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 06-05-2015, 05:57 AM
Member
 
strohj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kraze98nyc View Post
Anyone a member on the control4 DIY forum? Please PM me, thank you!
Where is this forum?
strohj is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 06-05-2015, 12:42 PM
Member
 
pilothaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It is something I want to look into for my home but have not done the research for it. Thought there would be some more in this thread.
pilothaz is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 06-07-2015, 04:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SMHarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,328
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by strohj View Post
Where is this forum?
C4forums
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilothaz View Post
It is something I want to look into for my home but have not done the research for it. Thought there would be some more in this thread.
What do you want to know.
SMHarman is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 06-09-2015, 09:40 AM
Member
 
strohj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just joined the forums over there, and I will be doing most of the implementation myself.

I have been buying equipment on ebay as good deals have come up and while I have a dealer for support and any extra equipment I may need
strohj is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 06-26-2015, 12:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
AI Limited's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'd like to know if you are talking about the .net site and how do I get an invite? I already have a C4 system but would love to be able to fix the things my dealer keeps screwing up!

AI Limited
AI Limited is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 06-26-2015, 09:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
C4forums is a public site. Just register. There is a dealer forum. You need to be a dealer. Do you have Composer HE? if you do, you can do your own programming. You just can't add devices or drivers. There's some good dealers on the forum who could remote in and look/fix your system. I use Nikon. There's also Neil, AK1, and C4Watts. Neil gets good reviews


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Tokead is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 06-27-2015, 10:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
AI Limited's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tokead View Post
C4forums is a public site. Just register. There is a dealer forum. You need to be a dealer. Do you have Composer HE? if you do, you can do your own programming. You just can't add devices or drivers. There's some good dealers on the forum who could remote in and look/fix your system. I use Nikon. There's also Neil, AK1, and C4Watts. Neil gets good reviews


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
There is a C4 DIY forum that is invitation only. Yes I have Composer HE but that doesn't allow me to fix the problems with my system. The Dealer has been out 3 times, called a 2nd dealer that sold me some stuff but things still aren't programmed correctly. Tired of dealing with them. Maybe a remote dealer is the next step. A DIY site that offers me the Composer Pro software would be better. Thanks for the response!

AI Limited
AI Limited is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 06-27-2015, 04:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SMHarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,328
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 137
There is no DIY site handing out Pro.
Hookedonc4 likes this.
SMHarman is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 06-29-2015, 10:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mntneer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Martinsburg, WV
Posts: 2,902
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by AI Limited View Post
There is a C4 DIY forum that is invitation only. Yes I have Composer HE but that doesn't allow me to fix the problems with my system. The Dealer has been out 3 times, called a 2nd dealer that sold me some stuff but things still aren't programmed correctly. Tired of dealing with them. Maybe a remote dealer is the next step. A DIY site that offers me the Composer Pro software would be better. Thanks for the response!
What's the system doing? First thing to check is your network, layout, router, equipment, etc.
Mntneer is online now  
post #16 of 19 Old 09-30-2016, 03:28 PM
Newbie
 
gujacob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kraze98nyc View Post
Anyone a member on the control4 DIY forum? Please PM me, thank you!
Hey,

Sorry to bother you with it. It's been more than a year that you request help for the diy control4.

Did u manage to get access to it?
gujacob is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 09-30-2016, 03:30 PM
Newbie
 
gujacob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by strohj View Post
I just joined the forums over there, and I will be doing most of the implementation myself.

I have been buying equipment on ebay as good deals have come up and while I have a dealer for support and any extra equipment I may need
Do ou have access to it?
gujacob is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 09-30-2016, 04:04 PM
Member
 
strohj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am now a control4 dealer, and I do help people with remote programming and troubleshooting

hit me up if you need help at [email protected]
strohj is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 10-17-2016, 06:04 AM
Senior Member
 
utkinpol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Hi,

I am not sure if it is the best forum for this question. I had 0 to none interest to figure out or use Control4 as Alexa speaks just fine to my light switches and thermostat and it was alll i needed.
But now i got new Onkyo receiver - RZ1100 and it seems to have this Control4 driver.

If anybody here has any of new Onkyo receivers - what exactly does it allow to do and control over this interface? And a second question - are there any solutions that can allow to control this receiver from Alexa without installing fully blown Control4 system? Is there a simple DIY controller of any kind that can 'translate' Alexa into Onkyo via this control4 driver? Any simulators or gateways for Linux/Windows, etc?

PS. this link speaks of 5 open source systems for home automation: https://opensource.com/life/16/3/5-o...tomation-tools
Can any of those listed systems 'speak' to an audio device that has Control4 interface?

PPS. Jesus, it is a whole new would out there. It seems to be a bit of information overload - i need some time to absorb all that. it looks like that may be a way for a solution i look for.
https://community.openhab.org/t/new-...azon-echo/7457

Last edited by utkinpol; 10-17-2016 at 06:28 AM.
utkinpol is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Automation

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off