Looking to be pointed in the right direction - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By mbarland
  • 1 Post By mbarland

post #1 of 11 Old 03-29-2018, 08:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Looking to be pointed in the right direction

Hello!

I am looking for how to start in on making my own simple control system. I am a tech-savvy type with programming experience, but this is a whole new world for me.

I have devices with varying control methods: a projector with RS-232, direcTV and AppleTV with IR, a blu-ray player, a laptop, so on. I would like to be able to do things like push a button that starts the projector, switches to the correct input, starts the DirecTV, and puts on the sound. If I can do the lights too, I will!

I'm expecting to do this all myself, and would like to avoid getting a whole lot of hardware (but I know I will need some). Mainly I just don't even know where to start. Crestron wants to set up a 500 person auditorium or something, and other things seem to be way out of scale like this.

Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 03-30-2018, 07:22 AM

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 35
There's a lot of systems out there. I'm a fan of this one by elan (link).

If I were in your position here's what I would do:

1. Learn about 5-6 different options (you'll get that many recommendations in this thread), and then narrow it down to 3 based on UI, hardware, and raw capabilities.
2. Download the programming software for the 3 that you have narrowed it down to. Examine the back end of it, verify that it'll do what you want it to do.
3. Choose one that is the best balance between UI, Hardware, supported drivers, and back end.