Basic lighting/HVAC/audio needed-confused by options - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 04-06-2018, 10:14 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Basic lighting/HVAC/audio needed-confused by options

Total home automation newbie here. Be gentle...

My future home is mostly gutted to the studs for a major remodel, and I have the following wish list for an automated system:

Sure

-Lighting: all of first floor, master bed and bath, maybe some outside lighting. ~30 switches in all. home is about 4000 sq ft. total, first floor around 2000.
-HVAC: 2 separate units and thermostats.
-Music: Downstairs and master bedroom audio. I'm leaning toward Sonos. As a non-audiophile, they have sounded fine to me at relatives' homes.

Unsure
-TV: we don't watch much TV and are happy with our current LED/soundbar setup. I don't see much need to automate anything here
-Alarm system: we don't have an alarm system at our current home, but want to install one here. Was thinking wireless. I am unsure how important integration of this system into future automation might be for me.
-Garage doors: We have a detached garage about 100 feet from the main house
-Other??? I'm open to suggestions

Now, on to my questions.

Our contractor and my limited research has led me toward control4 and lutron RA2 select systems. I need some help understanding how these systems are related to other HA technologies such as Crestron or Savant.

It seems to me that the RA2 select system is a self-contained, out of the box system that I can set up myself without programming knowledge, and a little help here or from Mr. Google.

What, exactly, are Crestron, Savant and Control4? Are they software layered on top of the lutron RA2 hardware? Different hardware altogether that controls the lutron dimmer switches? What is the advantage of using these instead of just the apps and keypads supplied the RA2 select system?

Thanks!