WIFI Switches That Work As A Group Set - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By brantmacga
  • 1 Post By ckronengold
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-20-2019, 07:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gaspower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bend Oregon
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WIFI Switches That Work As A Group Set

Hello,
I currently purchased (Kasa Smart Light Switch by TP-Link) and setup was extremely easy and no working issues. The one thing I missed and my fault is that in the App for these switches, you can group as many as you want and control on/off from the App. What I ideally would like to purchase is WiFi switches that can be controlled as a group from the App and also from a individual switch. Has anyone seen a WiFi switch that there is group control from each on the switches in the corresponding group.

Thank you,
JR
gaspower is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-20-2019, 11:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Just about any automation controller that will integrate with the chosen switches can then group them.
The automation controller can also group multiple technology switches into a single group. ie: Zwave, Zigbee, Wifi, Bluetooth, Insteon, UPB, Vantage, RadioRa, etc.
smoothtlk is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-20-2019, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gaspower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bend Oregon
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
Thank you for the reply. This is for a lady who does not have any type of controller processor. It is just the switches mentioned. Was not sure if any company made WiFi switches that can be grouped and controlled at the switch verse using the App to control the group.

Thank you
gaspower is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 05-20-2019, 07:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Why WiFi? Not too common. Do you really mean Wireless (which is not necessarily WiFi)?

Another nomenclature item: When you say "grouped"....do you really mean scenes? So, when you click one switch, multiple lighting devices turn on / off as well? Look at Lutron RadioRa2, RadioRaSelect, Caseta.

Last edited by smoothtlk; 05-20-2019 at 07:31 PM.
smoothtlk is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 05-21-2019, 05:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gaspower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bend Oregon
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you
gaspower is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 05-29-2019, 01:16 PM
Member
 
brantmacga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Legrand RF lighting controls.....

You can pair master switches on each load together to operate as a single group.

https://www.legrand.us/electrical-de...-controls.aspx

They operate in the 900mhz band; you can also pair the plug-in RF devices with a switch. You will need the LC7001 hub to operate via the app over WiFi. You will pair only one master switch to the hub, and then the remains switches would pair to the first master switch.


Legrand just announced HomeKit compatible devices also that offer this pairing feature and do not require a hub; they’re also compatible with Alexa and Google Home. I will make a new topic on those in this forum.

https://go.legrand.us/webmail/84502/...fd75a3ab7cd7e1


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
gaspower likes this.
brantmacga is online now  
post #7 of 8 Old 05-30-2019, 07:10 AM
Senior Member
 
ckronengold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston Strong / Jersey Strong
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 67
The "grouping" is easily handled by using an app that integrates / includes all of your other smart devices as well. Other than initial set up, I never go back to the device's proprietary app. I want it all together in one app.

I use the Google Home app, and it has all of my light switches. Wifi, Z-wave, and Zigbee. You can create groups of any devices you want within the app, regardless of what technology they are or who makes them.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190530-094418.png
Views:	11
Size:	121.3 KB
ID:	2573384   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190530-094405.png
Views:	10
Size:	217.6 KB
ID:	2573386   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190530-094356.png
Views:	11
Size:	176.2 KB
ID:	2573388   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190530-094341.png
Views:	11
Size:	150.0 KB
ID:	2573390   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190530-094332.png
Views:	10
Size:	229.3 KB
ID:	2573392  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190530-094321.png
Views:	10
Size:	123.8 KB
ID:	2573394  
gaspower likes this.

Movies: Epson 5050 / Marantz 7010 / OPPO-103
Streaming: nVidia Shield / Roku Ultra / Chromecast Ultra
Speakers: MartinLogan Motion 40 (LR), Motion 50XT (center), Motion 2 (surrounds)
Server: Ubuntu 18.04, i7-8700 CPU
HTPC: Win10 Pro 64-bit, i5 750 Radeon HD 5850
ckronengold is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 06-21-2019, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gaspower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bend Oregon
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
Thank you very much. I apologize for the late reply. Some reason I did not get notified replies were here in the forum.

Jr
gaspower is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Automation

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off