Logitech harmony hub and Alexa - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-31-2019, 04:22 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Logitech harmony hub and Alexa

Sometimes the harmony hub does not turn off my projector 4K Sony vpl285es , happened twice and knew only the next day that projector was on, Does the projector goes into sleep mode or does this have a negative impact on projector life.
[email protected] is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 06-04-2019, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Sometimes the harmony hub does not turn off my projector 4K Sony vpl285es , happened twice and knew only the next day that projector was on, Does the projector goes into sleep mode or does this have a negative impact on projector life.
You may want to adjust the delays or the off command. Some projectors require you to hit Off twice in a row. Or they won't turn off between the projector syncs. Etc.

You might have to adjust those delays, or add in delays to make the power off command more reliable.
weboperations is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-23-2019, 01:19 PM
Member
 
g00sey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 2
From my own experience with my harmony hub, if the harmony hub does not have a good wi-fi connection because it is too far from the router then it does not always work correctly. Do you know if this may possibly be an issue for you or do you get good wi-fi signal in the room your harmony hub is in?

Also, I'd advise you set a timeout on your projector of 3 or 4 hours (if you can), I think this will be long enough to be reasonable for the longest of movies and not interrupt your watching.
g00sey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 09-24-2019, 08:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,731
Mentioned: 103 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1692 Post(s)
Liked: 1226
If it has timer events in the Harmony, you may also want to send a standard 'off' command for the projector which occurs at a specific time. Like at 3 AM or something like that. This way, if it is left on by mistake, it gets another chance for a power off command later on.

This, of course, is the power of more advanced control systems which offer 2-way communication via Ethernet or RS-232 control with logic.

Are you on?
Yes I am!
Well you are supposed to be off!
TURN OFF!!!
Okay.
Are you on?
Nope!
All is well.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-26-2019, 09:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by weboperations View Post
You may want to adjust the delays or the off command. Some projectors require you to hit Off twice in a row. Or they won't turn off between the projector syncs. Etc.

You might have to adjust those delays, or add in delays to make the power off command more reliable.



^^ Delays are usually the problem in most of these programming-type automation projects. Control4, URC and more have the same issues.
MileHighAutomation is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-07-2020, 01:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Harmony scene edit when setting up group

Alexa told me to set up a group to “turn on tv”. Harmony is set up and linked. Had been working fine for a year or so. She told me multiple TVs existed. I went to group and then scene and there I saw 2 televisions and 1 Tv. How do I find the correct tv and eliminate the others? Same goes for Directv, DVR, PVR. Doesn’t seem you can edit this function. Am I right?

Last edited by pikemike; 03-07-2020 at 06:10 AM. Reason: Clarity
pikemike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Automation

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off