Nest Doorbell Integration - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-16-2019, 08:17 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Nest Doorbell Integration

HI All,

I'm having some trouble getting my Nest doorbell to work with the system I was intending.

I have a 12 channel multi-zone audio matrix with a PA input and 3.5mm input trigger, which is connected to a Niles DBi-2 Doorbell Interface.

When I connected the Nest Hello to the 0-30v Input on the Niles, I don't get any power at all. The Nest won't power up.
How can I get this working in order for the Doorbell to work and then send the trigger to the Niles unit?

Do I need to get a separate power supply for the Nest Hello?

Any help would be appreciated!

F
Falcon2915 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-16-2019, 05:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,637
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1648 Post(s)
Liked: 1197
You aren't connecting the Niles to the Nest directly are you?

The Niles doesn't have any power output on that 0-30v connection. That's a connection point for the existing doorbell transformer. See page 11 of the Niles manual. It shows the connection point. It may even allow for a 0v contact closure. But, it doesn't create usable voltage for a Nest from the Niles. You will need an external transformer to power the Nest.
http://resources.corebrands.com/prod...I-2_manual.pdf

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-16-2019, 05:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
torii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7,289
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3626 Post(s)
Liked: 2061
not a nest problem but I have arlo doorbell and the battery needs replaced every 3 weeks or less. biggest pain in my ass...

Power: Marantz sr7008, NAD C 275Bee x 2, Video: Oppo 103, Samsung 75un6300
Speakers: Focal aria 948, Focal cc900, Klipsch synergy KSF 10.5, Magnepan LRS
Subs: Rythmik FV25HP, Rythmik FV15HP
torii is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 09-17-2019, 02:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,637
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1648 Post(s)
Liked: 1197
Quote:
Originally Posted by torii View Post
not a nest problem but I have arlo doorbell and the battery needs replaced every 3 weeks or less. biggest pain in my ass...
You are running v1.3 of the software right?

https://community.arlo.com/t5/Arlo-A...1643329/page/5

I wouldn't get any doorbell solution that needs a battery replaced to run. Most doorbells are two wire systems and even if I had to replace my chime or do something else with it (like Nest requires), I would do so just to ensure that it works when I needed it to work.

Changing batteries on my remote controls is bad enough.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-18-2019, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV_Integrated View Post
You aren't connecting the Niles to the Nest directly are you?



The Niles doesn't have any power output on that 0-30v connection. That's a connection point for the existing doorbell transformer. See page 11 of the Niles manual. It shows the connection point. It may even allow for a 0v contact closure. But, it doesn't create usable voltage for a Nest from the Niles. You will need an external transformer to power the Nest.

http://resources.corebrands.com/prod...I-2_manual.pdf

Thank you for the response! I have been mulling it over and thought that might be where I was going wrong.
Thanks for confirming.

So if I get a suitable power supply for the nest I should be alright?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Falcon2915 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-18-2019, 08:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,637
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1648 Post(s)
Liked: 1197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Falcon2915 View Post
Thank you for the response! I have been mulling it over and thought that might be where I was going wrong.
Thanks for confirming.

So if I get a suitable power supply for the nest I should be alright?
I would think so, but I bet you can call or email Nest directly to get an exact answer. I would just let them know that you have no pre-existing doorbell, so what should you do for a power supply. That has got to be a question they hear regularly.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Automation

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off