Replacing X10 with hand remote to modern equip - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-17-2019, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Velvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question Replacing X10 with hand remote to modern equip

I currently have an X10 system that controls a porch light and outdoor post light and a living room light.

However the system has been failing and I want to replace it with modern equipment.

Is there any modern system that has or supports a hardware handheld remote similar to the X10 remote? I am aware of using a phone, but would like a solution as close to possible to the existing solution. It is for an elderly woman and using a phone would prove difficult.

I have thought of putting two the caseta remotes together back to back but that would only provide control of two lights but it may be my only option.

I figured I would reach out here and see if there maybe something I am not aware of.
Velvis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 12-26-2019, 06:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
PJL99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Velvis View Post
I currently have an X10 system that controls a porch light and outdoor post light and a living room light.

However the system has been failing and I want to replace it with modern equipment.

Is there any modern system that has or supports a hardware handheld remote similar to the X10 remote? I am aware of using a phone, but would like a solution as close to possible to the existing solution. It is for an elderly woman and using a phone would prove difficult.

I have thought of putting two the caseta remotes together back to back but that would only provide control of two lights but it may be my only option.

I figured I would reach out here and see if there maybe something I am not aware of.
Insteon components would work fine. There is a "palm pad" like controller that could be used to control the switches. No hub is required for this type of direct control.
PJL99 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-26-2019, 09:00 PM
Senior Member
 
e268's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I has X10 for a long time, and eventually the remote stopped working. I replace all my x10 with insteon and has been very reliable.
e268 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 01-07-2020, 11:19 AM
Member
 
westcojack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
X10

Why not just combine the porch and post lights together, its probably a better solution for an elderly person anyway?
westcojack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Automation

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off