X10 update - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-19-2020, 02:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Phillie14586's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
X10 update

I have a light on the barn that I have connected to an X10 switch. In the house I have a remote and transceiver module. Then in the panel box I have a signal booster/phase bridge. It appears the booster/phase bridge has died. Those things run about $60. I was wondering if I need to spend that kind of money is there something newer out there. I checked and I do not have wifi in the barn.
Phillie14586 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-19-2020, 05:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,483
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 115
No matter what you do, it will cost $60ish.
I would upgrade to Z-Wave. That will cost more for a Z-Wave controller and one or two switches.
Note that Z-Wave uses RF Mesh networking so each device repeats the signal to the next further device.

X10 though still working, is really dated technology. I still have a dozen devices but slowly replace them when they die.
smoothtlk is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-20-2020, 09:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Phillie14586's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just took a look at Z-wave and I am not sure it will work in my situation. The barn is about 100' from the house. The barn also has metal siding. What is the likelihood of an rf signal making it out of the house into a metal clad building 100' away?
Phillie14586 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 02-20-2020, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 72
For Z-wave? About zero.
FlyingDiver is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-20-2020, 08:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,483
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 115
You could look into UPB from SimplyAutomated. Uses powerline.
smoothtlk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Automation

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off