Official Samsung LNxxA450 (Series 4) Owners Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1299 Old 03-18-2008, 07:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ront2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middlesex County,CT
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Akuma,congrats! I have a Sony upconv.dvd player in the living room plus a copy of DVE,but I haven't had time lately to bring it upstairs and hook it to the 450.So I'm doing the same as you,playing with the 3253 settings and adj. from there.BTW A-Akuma,did you notice in the picture options sub menu there is a "blue only mode" you can turn on to make the screen all blue to eliminate the need of a blue filter then calibrating.Cool feature I thought. Anyways,heres the setting ranges I've been playing with:
mode=standard
backlight= 3 or 4
contrast=80 to 95
brightness=40 to 50
sharpness=30-35
color=50
tint=g50-r50
black adjust=off
dynamic contrast=off or low
gamma=0
color space=auto
white balance=all 25
flesh tone=0
edge enhancement= on
color tone= normal
dnr=auto
Damn,could it be possible to many settings?...........Naaa!!!
ront2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1299 Old 03-19-2008, 01:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Amiable-Akuma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, ront2. Yeah, this set is definitely cool. I can confirm I have no buzzing/whistling noise at this point (a problem with certain 3253s/etc) - so that makes me happy.

Saw the "blue" setting feature/thing - yep, that's very nice, such a "thoughtful" feature - you usually don't see the implementation of that kind of thing by the common CE manufacturer.

Well, I will definitely try those standard settings you posted in a minute.

I sat for about an hour and a half a little while ago trying to calibrate using a BD player and several different discs. God, once you get in to those white push/color intensity settings - you can confuse your eyes real fast.

I calibrated the three main modes as best I can but I think the only one I am sort of satisified with is, funnily enough, the "Dynamic" one that I just fine-tuned. Samsung seems to have made a lot of different but clear improvements to how each PQ setting works. Or maybe just the video processor as a whole is better. But, for example, I find that the DNIe feature is actually effective on these latest sets in conjunction with that Dynamic setting and other tweaks.

There are too many options (sort of). I tried out the extra three "entertainment" modes too. They are okay additions but not great. Sports and game mode seem to oversharpen but then again maybe thats fine for certain things like CGI movies, as well as, um, games and sports.

Funny how much the source matters per given mode you've finally calibrated to taste. It'll drive you crazy, when you put in a different movie and another setting immediately seems better.
Amiable-Akuma is offline  
post #33 of 1299 Old 03-19-2008, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
viper98912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lol. yay
viper98912 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 1299 Old 03-19-2008, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
viper98912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I really need to go buy this tv already.
viper98912 is offline  
post #35 of 1299 Old 03-19-2008, 07:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ront2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middlesex County,CT
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Funny how much the source matters per given mode you've finally calibrated to taste. It'll drive you crazy, when you put in a different movie and another setting immediately seems better."
__________________
LOL, I know what you mean.Even different tv shows and channels will drive me nuts.I'll adjust the picture so Law&Order looks good(very dark shows IMO),just to flip to another channel like Fox( Amer. Idol) and burn my retinas.Probably just the norm.Right now just have comcast cable hooked direct to tv,no box.Still,I get 5 or 6 HD channels.Want to hook up an antenna to see what OTA HD looks like.One feature that didn't make the jump from the xx42-xx53's to the 450's is the dual coax inputs.Not a big deal though,picture continues to amaze.
ront2 is offline  
post #36 of 1299 Old 03-19-2008, 08:13 PM
Member
 
Frank_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
For anyone who has the 37" model, could you please take an exact measurement of the width of the panel?

I have exactly 36 1/8" to work with in a cabinet, and the Samsung was the only 37" LCD that would fit. However, I was only able to measure the LN-T375H, which I can't find anymore.
The new 37A450 model hasn't shown up yet in any local stores, so I can't measure it myself.

Thanks!!
Frank_K is offline  
post #37 of 1299 Old 03-20-2008, 05:33 AM
Senior Member
 
viper98912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The manual (pdf version I have) says exactly 36.1". So, looks like it would be VERY tight in your case
viper98912 is offline  
post #38 of 1299 Old 03-20-2008, 11:12 AM
Newbie
 
Hamstring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just hooked my new 32 up. So far I love it. Decent price, no issues whatsoever. The sound is exceptional, better than what I thought it would be.
Hamstring is offline  
post #39 of 1299 Old 03-20-2008, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ront2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middlesex County,CT
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hamstring View Post

I just hooked my new 32 up. So far I love it. Decent price, no issues whatsoever. The sound is exceptional, better than what I thought it would be.

Congrats! I 2nd that on the sound quality.Real good for a 32".
ront2 is offline  
post #40 of 1299 Old 03-20-2008, 04:05 PM
Senior Member
 
viper98912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
coolio....
viper98912 is offline  
post #41 of 1299 Old 03-20-2008, 06:27 PM
Member
 
samven582's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how much is the 32" going for??
samven582 is offline  
post #42 of 1299 Old 03-20-2008, 06:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ront2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middlesex County,CT
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by samven582 View Post

how much is the 32" going for??

Bought mine at BB $899.99 -12% coupon.
ront2 is offline  
post #43 of 1299 Old 03-21-2008, 06:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Amiable-Akuma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^^Bought mine at CC online for the same price plus tax. Few other places seem to have it in stock right now.
Amiable-Akuma is offline  
post #44 of 1299 Old 03-21-2008, 06:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Amiable-Akuma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ront2 View Post

Congrats! I 2nd that on the sound quality.Real good for a 32".

Yeah, I agree - I think Samsung has made improvements or something to their SRS simulated surround sound setting over the last few years too - because it seems pretty effective, to me. I prefer it on.

Anyway, ront2, don't shun me - but I'm thinking about upgrading to the 32A550. Sound quality should probably be the same for it, right? I've heard people mention that the in-set sound for the 40A6650 isn't very good. I will be using the sets speakers for a very good while.
Amiable-Akuma is offline  
post #45 of 1299 Old 03-21-2008, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ront2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middlesex County,CT
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amiable-Akuma View Post

Yeah, I agree - I think Samsung has made improvements or something to their SRS simulated surround sound setting over the last few years too - because it seems pretty effective, to me. I prefer it on.

Anyway, ront2, don't shun me - but I'm thinking about upgrading to the 32A550. Sound quality should probably be the same for it, right? I've heard people mention that the in-set sound for the 40A6650 isn't very good. I will be using the sets speakers for a very good while.

Na,its all good.Buy what suits you.For me,I set a price limit for my bedroom tv.Still went way the heck over it though!! But I tried to go the cheap route( 32" Insignia,32" Westy both from BB,both with problems)and got burnt.Returned both in less than a week.So I went out and spent a little more for quality but went smaller(sammy ln-t2642).Nice set but to small,so it went back 1 day under the BB 30day return policy.Looked for a 3253 on clearance,but none around.Waited a week for the 450 come in to BB,and now(I think)I'm happy.And really,I spend about the same as I would have on a 3253 on clearance and not much more than the ln-t2642.
So...... anyways A-A,how much more for the 550.Just kidding....,maybe
ront2 is offline  
post #46 of 1299 Old 03-22-2008, 07:33 AM
Member
 
samven582's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ront2 View Post

Bought mine at BB $899.99 -12% coupon.

where did you get the 12% coupon?? Also has anybody experience any tearing??
samven582 is offline  
post #47 of 1299 Old 03-22-2008, 01:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ront2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middlesex County,CT
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by samven582 View Post

where did you get the 12% coupon?? Also has anybody experience any tearing??

Got it in the mail,2-3 weeks after I signed up for their rewards zone card.No tearing here,but sometimes a little pixilating blurring? depending on channel,CBS mostly.Maybe because CBS is 1080i and set is native 720p? Was hooked up Comcast straight from wall,but I picked up a box this morn (SA Explorer 4250HDC with HDMI cable),so I'll have to play around with the box/tv settings.
ront2 is offline  
post #48 of 1299 Old 03-22-2008, 10:17 PM
Senior Member
 
viper98912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
come on guys!!! we need more reviews!!!!! speak up new owners!
viper98912 is offline  
post #49 of 1299 Old 03-23-2008, 05:13 AM
Newbie
 
latinlinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i bought this tv on friday i love it no problems ps3 and 360 look great on it
latinlinx is offline  
post #50 of 1299 Old 03-23-2008, 08:39 AM
Member
 
lostsocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys! Well, I bought this TV a few days ago, and I am noticing ghosting issues with it. Ghosting gets bad during dark scenes in a movie. I was watching Harry Potter on blu-ray last night and began to notice it a lot during the end of the movie. I don't remember my Aquos ghosting like this samsung does. Has anyone noticed it? Know if its the TV.....? Movie?
lostsocks is offline  
post #51 of 1299 Old 03-23-2008, 10:39 AM
Newbie
 
Hamstring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have not been able to test HD sources yet, I will this week and post what I found.
Hamstring is offline  
post #52 of 1299 Old 03-23-2008, 08:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ront2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middlesex County,CT
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lostsocks View Post

Hi guys! Well, I bought this TV a few days ago, and I am noticing ghosting issues with it. Ghosting gets bad during dark scenes in a movie. I was watching Harry Potter on blu-ray last night and began to notice it a lot during the end of the movie. I don't remember my Aquos ghosting like this samsung does. Has anyone noticed it? Know if its the TV.....? Movie?

Haven't seen any ghosting yet on any source.Still messing with the settings.Need someone who is good at calibrating to pick one of these sets up then post some settings
Seems to be more interest in the 5 and 6 series sammys right now though.But I'm lovin this 450.
ront2 is offline  
post #53 of 1299 Old 03-23-2008, 09:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ront2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middlesex County,CT
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper98912 View Post

come on guys!!! we need more reviews!!!!! speak up new owners!

It would seem,at least for the Samsungs,the 5 and 6 series are getting all the glory.Maybe as the 4 series become more readily avaliable we'll see some more posts.Or everyone is enjoying their 450's and not having any issues. Thats ok too!!
ront2 is offline  
post #54 of 1299 Old 03-24-2008, 11:28 AM
Newbie
 
Crucial9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ront2 View Post

...everyone is enjoying their 450's and not having any issues. Thats ok too!!

I know I'm enjoying. :-)
Crucial9 is offline  
post #55 of 1299 Old 03-24-2008, 01:17 PM
Member
 
lostsocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ront2 View Post

Haven't seen any ghosting yet on any source.Still messing with the settings.Need someone who is good at calibrating to pick one of these sets up then post some settings
Seems to be more interest in the 5 and 6 series sammys right now though.But I'm lovin this 450.

Weird.... It's so obvious on my TV. I just ordered a new 1080P Regza off Amazon. I'm going to compare the two sets. I am using the PS3 as my blu-ray source, though I doubt that has anything to do with the ghosting. *sigh*
lostsocks is offline  
post #56 of 1299 Old 03-24-2008, 03:26 PM
Senior Member
 
viper98912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
looks like the 40A550 has already come down in price some, now the gap is only $400 instead of $500. Hopefully it'll reach a point where I can buy my 40A450 for $1k flat
viper98912 is offline  
post #57 of 1299 Old 03-24-2008, 10:11 PM
Newbie
 
sledge37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My new 32A450 came in last Friday. I hooked it up to DirecTV HD DVR receiver. Set the receiver to 720p and watched some NCAA BB games on it that night. Was not real impressed with the way it pixelated around the players as they ran around. I bought this set because of the 6 ms response time being the lowest out there I could find. Was seeing lots of good reviews about the 8 ms response time on the older models so thought this could only be better. I'm hoping I just haven't tweaked enough to get it better. I keep hearing about this game mode but I haven't found it yet. Just Dynamice, movie and standard.

If I set my receiver to 1080p, will the TV do a better job downsizing it to 720p or will that not work? Any suggestions for getting rid of the pixelation on fast action sports would be appreciated since this is primarily what I bought it for.

Also, to follow up on an earlier post of mine. I was concerned with the hdmi plug getting in the way of the wall mount which is only .77" profile. As expected, this was not an issue. However, the power plug is in the back of the base which is slightly thicker than the rest of the unit. This added about a half inch or so to the published 3.8" profile and the mount sits a lot higher on the unit than I expected. Some how it all worked out though. There was enough tolerance in my mount to absorb the additional distance the plug and wider base added.
sledge37 is offline  
post #58 of 1299 Old 03-24-2008, 11:59 PM
Senior Member
 
viper98912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sledge37 View Post

My new 32A450 came in last Friday. I hooked it up to DirecTV HD DVR receiver. Set the receiver to 720p and watched some NCAA BB games on it that night. Was not real impressed with the way it pixelated around the players as they ran around. I bought this set because of the 6 ms response time being the lowest out there I could find. Was seeing lots of good reviews about the 8 ms response time on the older models so thought this could only be better. I'm hoping I just haven't tweaked enough to get it better. I keep hearing about this game mode but I haven't found it yet. Just Dynamice, movie and standard.

If I set my receiver to 1080p, will the TV do a better job downsizing it to 720p or will that not work? Any suggestions for getting rid of the pixelation on fast action sports would be appreciated since this is primarily what I bought it for.

Also, to follow up on an earlier post of mine. I was concerned with the hdmi plug getting in the way of the wall mount which is only .77" profile. As expected, this was not an issue. However, the power plug is in the back of the base which is slightly thicker than the rest of the unit. This added about a half inch or so to the published 3.8" profile and the mount sits a lot higher on the unit than I expected. Some how it all worked out though. There was enough tolerance in my mount to absorb the additional distance the plug and wider base added.

Some say that the pixelation is not the tv's fault, it's the compression from Directv of the feed.
viper98912 is offline  
post #59 of 1299 Old 03-25-2008, 08:44 AM
Member
 
ukitali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it worth paying say $150 more for the 450 versus the older 53h model? Are there really that many differences?
ukitali is offline  
post #60 of 1299 Old 03-25-2008, 08:58 AM
Newbie
 
Crucial9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ukitali View Post

Is it worth paying say $150 more for the 450 versus the older 53h model? Are there really that many differences?

Better refresh rate, better contrast. IMHO the newer models just plain look better.
Crucial9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off