Official Samsung LNxxA450 (Series 4) Owners Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 1299 Old 03-25-2008, 08:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ront2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middlesex County,CT
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ukitali View Post

Is it worth paying say $150 more for the 450 versus the older 53h model? Are there really that many differences?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crucial9 View Post

Better refresh rate, better contrast. IMHO the newer models just plain look better.

What he said.
ront2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 1299 Old 03-25-2008, 08:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ront2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middlesex County,CT
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sledge37 View Post

My new 32A450 came in last Friday. I hooked it up to DirecTV HD DVR receiver. Set the receiver to 720p and watched some NCAA BB games on it that night. Was not real impressed with the way it pixelated around the players as they ran around. I bought this set because of the 6 ms response time being the lowest out there I could find. Was seeing lots of good reviews about the 8 ms response time on the older models so thought this could only be better. I'm hoping I just haven't tweaked enough to get it better. I keep hearing about this game mode but I haven't found it yet. Just Dynamice, movie and standard.

If I set my receiver to 1080p, will the TV do a better job downsizing it to 720p or will that not work? Any suggestions for getting rid of the pixelation on fast action sports would be appreciated since this is primarily what I bought it for.

Also, to follow up on an earlier post of mine. I was concerned with the hdmi plug getting in the way of the wall mount which is only .77" profile. As expected, this was not an issue. However, the power plug is in the back of the base which is slightly thicker than the rest of the unit. This added about a half inch or so to the published 3.8" profile and the mount sits a lot higher on the unit than I expected. Some how it all worked out though. There was enough tolerance in my mount to absorb the additional distance the plug and wider base added.

Yea,I don't think its the tv.Saw the same thing on my 3yr old Mitsu rptv and the new 450 via Comcast.Last Saturday I kept switching between Nationwide race on ESPN(720p no pixelation)and NCAA's on CBS(1080i,pixelation like what you saw).Maybe thats why ESPN chose 720p to broadcast in?
ront2 is offline  
post #63 of 1299 Old 03-25-2008, 09:27 PM
Senior Member
 
viper98912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
comcast has started cramming more channels and reducing the pq, enough where it actually looks pretty bad. directv has done the same, but not as much. funny you pay for HD but aren't getting what you really pay for. As for what you said, the major sports networks (espn and fox) chose to do 720p for that very reason, because in fast action sports you can cram less information and get better motion in fast sequences than going with 1080. What i wanna try is HD from an OTA antenna, see what kinda quality you get.
viper98912 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 1299 Old 03-26-2008, 07:29 AM
Newbie
 
nickyn99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought mine at BB for $809.00 plus tax. Went to buy the 3253 but they did not have it in stock like they said and sold me the LN32A450 for the same price. I am very new to all of this. Bought it for our bedroom, I think the picture is really good but do not like the audio that much. I have played with the sound part in the menu but does not have enough low end for me when watching music shows. Will probably end up buying some sort of portable audio system for it and turn the speakers off in the tv. Anybody have any recommendations for a small system or maybe some advice on getting better sound out of the stock audio from the tv. Thanks for any advice!!!!!!
nickyn99 is offline  
post #65 of 1299 Old 03-26-2008, 11:29 AM
Newbie
 
Crucial9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickyn99 View Post

... Anybody have any recommendations for a small system or maybe some advice on getting better sound out of the stock audio from the tv. Thanks for any advice!!!!!!

I'd stick with a Samsung surround unit, maybe an all-in-one (if you don't already have a good dvd-player). There's a new model HT-Z310, that is small and inexpensive ($230) that might suite you well. On the other hand if you want just a 2.1 setup I'd look at maybe the Klipsch Promedia 2.1 computer speakers, they sound awesome: nice midrange and deep base; and have a small footprint. The only drawback I see is the volume control (not wireless).
Crucial9 is offline  
post #66 of 1299 Old 03-26-2008, 11:36 AM
Newbie
 
nickyn99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks - I actually own that Klipsch setup for my computer. Will try that tonight.
nickyn99 is offline  
post #67 of 1299 Old 03-26-2008, 12:06 PM
Newbie
 
sledge37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper98912 View Post

comcast has started cramming more channels and reducing the pq, enough where it actually looks pretty bad. directv has done the same, but not as much. funny you pay for HD but aren't getting what you really pay for. As for what you said, the major sports networks (espn and fox) chose to do 720p for that very reason, because in fast action sports you can cram less information and get better motion in fast sequences than going with 1080. What i wanna try is HD from an OTA antenna, see what kinda quality you get.

Interesting that you mention espn using 720p. CBS didn't have sports on last night so I was watching an NBA game on ESPN last night and didn't notice the pixelation. My wife was giving me a hard time saying how I would have to stop watching NCAA basketball and just watch NBA because they must not move as fast.
sledge37 is offline  
post #68 of 1299 Old 03-26-2008, 05:09 PM
Senior Member
 
viper98912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
right. well, aside from 720p vs 1080i, the p provides that "full" image rather than the half image produced by interlacing, which causes the better motion. the best thing would be if they ran 1080p, but it's currently very expensive to try to produce that, and be able to successfully send all that information.
viper98912 is offline  
post #69 of 1299 Old 03-26-2008, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
viper98912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
By the way, this is also one of the reasons why I'm trying to decide with a series 4 vs spending a little more for the series 5. The series 5 does have 5 ms response, 30k contrast, and 1080p, but while 1080p might be "better", the question is with today's current programming, especially with SD and 720p native programming, I fear having bad upscaling issues when going to 1080p from SD or 720p.
viper98912 is offline  
post #70 of 1299 Old 03-26-2008, 06:42 PM
Member
 
Tuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As I noted in the Series 5 thread, I am VERY pleased with the quality of SD on 40A550. There doesn't seem to be any scaling problem.
Tuffy is offline  
post #71 of 1299 Old 03-26-2008, 11:18 PM
Senior Member
 
viper98912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yea, i noticed you posted that, that's why I'm asking around again lol.
viper98912 is offline  
post #72 of 1299 Old 03-27-2008, 06:26 PM
Newbie
 
sledge37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watching NCAA BB again tonight on CBS. The pixelation was there again with 720p set on the DirecTV receiver. I changed the receiver to 1080i and the pixelation is barely noticable now and only at very infrequent times. I have it in standard mode right now. Much happier than day 1.

Side question, are there any 32" or smaller LCD TVs that support anything higher than 720p? I couldn't go with anything bigger than 32" and it seemed like 1080p or 1080i was only available at 40" and above. Just wondering if I overlooked anything.
sledge37 is offline  
post #73 of 1299 Old 03-27-2008, 07:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ront2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middlesex County,CT
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sledge37 View Post

Watching NCAA BB again tonight on CBS. The pixelation was there again with 720p set on the DirecTV receiver. I changed the receiver to 1080i and the pixelation is barely noticable now and only at very infrequent times. I have it in standard mode right now. Much happier than day 1.

Side question, are there any 32" or smaller LCD TVs that support anything higher than 720p? I couldn't go with anything bigger than 32" and it seemed like 1080p or 1080i was only available at 40" and above. Just wondering if I overlooked anything.

Yea,there are a few 32" 1080p LCD tvs.Samsung has a 32" in their Series 5(550)line which is 1080p.Sharp also makes one and I think Sony does too.Don't really know about any smaller than 32" in 1080p.But from what I've read in these forums and elsewhere,1080p in any set smaller than 40-42" is a waste unless you sit on top of it.I guess you don't see anymore picture detail unless your a foot or two from the screen.So they say anyway.
ront2 is offline  
post #74 of 1299 Old 03-27-2008, 09:16 PM
Senior Member
 
viper98912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys I just realized something, Samsung doesn't have the PIP function on this tv, while the old 4053 did.
viper98912 is offline  
post #75 of 1299 Old 03-27-2008, 09:55 PM
Newbie
 
dabigshue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was pretty much decided on the 3253 based on a boat load of good reviews and assumed it was the newest 32" lcd from Samsung. While looking for the best price I found a few people talking about the new A450. After reading this thread, I was wondering if someone could explain the product lineup available right now from Samsung (there website is lacking alot of models).

Which models are which series? Is the 3253 a 3 series?

Is the 32A450 the replacement model for the 3253 or is it a separate product line?

Why the change in numbering? Was there a A350 before?

Thanks for the help.
dabigshue is offline  
post #76 of 1299 Old 03-28-2008, 04:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ront2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middlesex County,CT
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabigshue View Post

I was pretty much decided on the 3253 based on a boat load of good reviews and assumed it was the newest 32" lcd from Samsung. While looking for the best price I found a few people talking about the new A450. After reading this thread, I was wondering if someone could explain the product lineup available right now from Samsung (there website is lacking alot of models).

Which models are which series? Is the 3253 a 3 series?

Is the 32A450 the replacement model for the 3253 or is it a separate product line?

Why the change in numbering? Was there a A350 before?

Thanks for the help.

I could be wrong but I believe Samsungs new lineup starts with the Series 3(LNxxx330),which replaces the outgoing LN-Txx42 models.New model uses the same cabinet as outgoing 42's(speakers on sides of screen)and same basic features.Next up would be the Series 4(LNxxx450)replacing the LN-Txxx53 models but some have said the Series 5(LNxxx550)is the replacement for the 53's.I'm just going by similarities in features, appearance,and pricing though.To me,with their 1080p and bigger price $tag,I would think the 550's are replacing the LN-Txxx61 line.Anyways,the 450 is an improvement over the 53(better contrast,remote,and more fine tune adjustments).I'm liking mine.
ront2 is offline  
post #77 of 1299 Old 03-29-2008, 06:08 PM
Newbie
 
Emurrman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone found the right setting for this tv yet? Or maybe some settings I can tweak? Although it does look pretty good right out of the box, just wondering some suggestions!
Emurrman is offline  
post #78 of 1299 Old 03-29-2008, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
viper98912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2007 Line up and their 2008 Line up equivalents or so.

LN-Txx42, LNxxA330
LN-Txx53, LNxxA450
LN-Txx61/65, LNxxA550
LN-Txx69/71, LNxxA650
LN-Txx81, LNxxA750?
viper98912 is offline  
post #79 of 1299 Old 03-29-2008, 10:07 PM
Senior Member
 
viper98912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm hoping this tv comes down in price some soon (before the end of April). Currently the 40A450 is going for less than 100 less than the 40A550. The price difference might definitely be worth going with the 5 series......decisions decisions.......
viper98912 is offline  
post #80 of 1299 Old 03-30-2008, 08:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ront2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middlesex County,CT
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper98912 View Post

I'm hoping this tv comes down in price some soon (before the end of April). Currently the 40A450 is going for $1270 on amazon w/ free shipping, while the 40A550 is going for $1360. The price difference might definitely be worth going with the 5 series......decisions decisions.......

Yea,if thats all that seperates the 40a450 and the 40a550 its problably a no-brainer.Anyone know if a 32A550 is available and what its going for?
ront2 is offline  
post #81 of 1299 Old 03-31-2008, 05:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rgazzara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 2,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Everyone,

I have a 37A450 on order, and I was wondering how analog channels look on this TV.

Any comments on the PQ of analog channels?

I also noticed a warning on still images and viewing 4:3 programs in the on-line manual. Here is the section from the manual.

Precautions When Displaying a Still Image A still image may cause permanent damage to the TV screen
• Do not display a still image on the LCD panel for more than 2 hours as it can cause screen image retention. This image retention is also
known as "screen burn". To avoid such image retention, reduce the degree of brightness and contrast of the screen when displaying a still
image.
• Watching the LCD TV in 4:3 format for a long period of time may leave traces of borders displayed on the left, right and
center of the screen caused by the difference of light emission on the screen. Playing a DVD or a game console may cause a similar effect to the screen. Damages caused by the above effect are not covered by the Warranty.
• Displaying still images from Video games and PC for longer than a certain period of time may produce partial after-images. To prevent this effect, reduce the ‘brightness’ and ‘contrast’ when displaying still images.

I thought only plasma TVs suffered from "screen burn", and that LCDs did not. Any comments about still images and watching 4:3 programs. Is this something that needs to be avoided on these TVs? What will happen if I watch 4-5 hours of 4:3 programs?

Thanks.

RG
rgazzara is offline  
post #82 of 1299 Old 03-31-2008, 05:59 AM
Member
 
Alen_44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my 32inch A450 few days ago,I tested anything I can get my hands on(Xbox 360, Blue Ray player,...)In Rainbow Six Vegas I definetely noticed this pixilating blurring.It happens when you turn/look around in first person.Can someone please tell me what exactly pixilating blurring is?Also game mode seems to be the same as any other mode in terms of refresh rate,I didn't notice any difference
Alen_44 is offline  
post #83 of 1299 Old 03-31-2008, 07:42 AM
Senior Member
 
viper98912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Burn in - I think it's been said that burn in will not occur on these screens. BUT, surely there will be people who try to claim it, so they put that as a disclaimer to save themselves from potential problems.
viper98912 is offline  
post #84 of 1299 Old 03-31-2008, 09:12 AM
Member
 
Alen_44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone please tell me or post a picture of what exactly pixilating blurring is?I just wanna make sure that's what I got.thank you
Alen_44 is offline  
post #85 of 1299 Old 03-31-2008, 10:15 AM
Newbie
 
tmac3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to decide which of these two models to purchase and could use some input. There is only a $25 difference in price. According to the Samsung site, the LN22A450 has a resolution of 1680 x 1050, and a contrast ratio of 3,000:1 while the LN-T2353H has a lower resolution of 1366x768 but a higher contrast ratio of 4,000:1. Also, according to the Best Buy website, the LN22A450 has a brightness of 300 cd/m^2 while the LN-T2353H has a brightness of 450 cd/m^2.

So does the increased brightness and higher contrast ratio of the LN-T2353H give it better picture quality? Is the difference in resolution more important than these two factors? Thanks for your suggestions.
tmac3s is offline  
post #86 of 1299 Old 04-01-2008, 06:26 AM
Member
 
Laxguy023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the 37' 4 series upsacale to 1080p? I know it's not a 1080p tv but circuit city says the following on their website for the 37 inch 4 series:

Inputs: Using the 3 available HDMI inputs, you can experience high definition audio and video up to 1080p, the highest possible resolution available. The 2 component video inputs can be used for video resolution up to 1080i. Also available are 1 S-video input, 2 composite video inputs, 1 PC input, and 1 RF input.

So if I set my xbox 360 to 1080p will the screen show? Thanks!
Laxguy023 is offline  
post #87 of 1299 Old 04-01-2008, 06:29 AM
Member
 
Alen_44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laxguy023 View Post

Does the 37' 4 series upsacale to 1080p? I know it's not a 1080p tv but circuit city says the following on their website for the 37 inch 4 series:

Inputs: Using the 3 available HDMI inputs, you can experience high definition audio and video up to 1080p, the highest possible resolution available. The 2 component video inputs can be used for video resolution up to 1080i. Also available are 1 S-video input, 2 composite video inputs, 1 PC input, and 1 RF input.

So if I set my xbox 360 to 1080p will the screen show? Thanks!

Yes, but 720p(native) looks better in my opinion
, I also watched some BlueRay movies in 1080p,looks amazing
Alen_44 is offline  
post #88 of 1299 Old 04-01-2008, 06:33 AM
Member
 
Laxguy023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alen_44 View Post

Yes, but 720p(native) looks better in my opinion
, I also watched some BlueRay movies in 1080p,looks amazing

Thanks, 1080p will work on my blu ray plaer for this TV? So when would you do 720p over 1080p? for the xbox?
Laxguy023 is offline  
post #89 of 1299 Old 04-01-2008, 07:16 AM
Member
 
Alen_44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laxguy023 View Post

Thanks, 1080p will work on my blu ray plaer for this TV? So when would you do 720p over 1080p? for the xbox?

Yes, in the display menu of xbox 360 there is a "optimal settings option" , it will go to 720p automatically.I tried 1080p in few games,looks really good, but 720p looks amazing(I tried Kameo, FORZA 2 and few others). For BlueRay I'm using 1080p and it looks amazing, watched Hitman and I am Legend. I'm also using "sports" mode for Xbox 360 which I think looks much better then "game" mode
Alen_44 is offline  
post #90 of 1299 Old 04-01-2008, 01:08 PM
Member
 
Sick Boy 82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: 510-Bay Area
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am going to be picking up wither a 37450 or a 40450 next weekend and I was just wondering if anyone could post up the length & width of the screens so I can see the surface ara difference between the 37 and the 40.

I don't think I want a 37550 because the 1080P in a 37" package doesn't seem worth it. But the difference between the 374450 and the 40450 is only $100, so i want to see if the $100 is worth the extra screen surface area? Thanks!
Sick Boy 82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off