Official Samsung LNxxA630 Calibration/Settings Thread - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 800 Old 08-13-2008, 11:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
trilidar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is about as close as I'm going to get it. I went back, scrapped everything and completely started over. Green and yellow are a little undersaturated, but it's marginal

Calibration: ColorHCFR 2.0.1 with an Eye-One Display LT on a Sony PlayStation3 over both HDMI and component.

Samsung A630 HDMI
Average gamma: 2.21

Mode: Movie
Backlight: 3
Contrast: 92
Brightness: 47
Sharpness: 2
Color: 41
Tint (G/R): G50/R50

Detailed Settings
Black Adjust: Off
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Gamma: 0
Color Space: Custom
Flesh Tone: 0
Edge Enhancement: Off
xvYCC: Off

Color Space
Red: R: 70 / G: 0 / B: 0
Green: R: 20 / G: 75 / B: 0
Blue: R: 13 / G: 0 / B: 70
Yellow: R: 58 / G: 58 / B: 0
Cyan: R: 28 / G: 55 / B: 55
Magenta: R: 66 / G: 0 / B: 75

White Balance
R-Offset: 24 / G-Offset: 25 / B-Offset: 23
R-Gain: 35 / G-Gain: 25 / B-Gain: 29

Picture Options
Color Tone: Warm2
Size: Just Size
Digital NR: Low
DNIe: Off (greyed out)
HDMI Black Level: Low
Film Mode: Off
Blue Only Mode: Off
Auto Motion Plus 120Hz: Low


Samsung A630 Component
Average gamma: 2.2

Mode: Movie
Backlight: 3
Contrast: 91
Brightness: 47
Sharpness: 5
Color: 44
Tint (G/R): G49/R51

Detailed Settings
Black Adjust: Off
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Gamma: 0
Color Space: Custom
Flesh Tone: 0
Edge Enhancement: Off
xvYCC: Off

Color Space
Red: R: 60 / G: 0 / B: 0
Green: R: 20 / G: 62 / B: 0
Blue: R: 13 / G: 0 / B: 65
Yellow: R: 55 / G: 50 / B: 0
Cyan: R: 25 / G: 54 / B: 50
Magenta: R: 55 / G: 0 / B: 62

White Balance
R-Offset: 25 / G-Offset: 25 / B-Offset: 24
R-Gain: 35 / G-Gain: 25 / B-Gain: 30

Picture Options
Color Tone: Warm2
Size: 16:9
Digital NR: Low
DNIe: Off (greyed out)
HDMI Black Level: Low (greyed out)
Film Mode: Off
Blue Only Mode: Off
Auto Motion Plus 120Hz: Low

 

ColorHCFR.zip 9.8212890625k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip ColorHCFR.zip (9.8 KB, 95 views)
trilidar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 800 Old 08-14-2008, 04:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
MastaMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
This set definitely has my attention. Just getting in on the action...and a friendly bump for a fellow Indy native.
MastaMind is offline  
post #3 of 800 Old 08-31-2008, 01:01 PM
Member
 
teamvernia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Thanks for the settings. Gonna try these out now. I'll post mine later as well. Though I used DVE and not a colorimeter. BTW, which size television did you calibrate? I have the 40 inch. And one more question. Any idea which settings would work best with an HD antenna signal?
teamvernia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 800 Old 08-31-2008, 08:32 PM
Member
 
teamvernia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Well I just tried out the settings. Over HDMI, they look very crisp actually but some of the colors do seem pretty desaturated. I wonder if different size TVs in the series calibrate differently. The component settings look awful with my 360, though. That could certainly be the source, though. I actually used DVE to get my settings which I quite like. I wonder if your colorimeter would like my settings at all, or if they are TOTALLY off. It would be interesting to find out. Any, I'm running a PS3 through HDMI and used these settings.

Mode: Movie
Backlight: 3
Contrast: 95
Brightness: 44
Sharpness: 1
Color: 52
Tint (G/R): G50/R50

Detailed Settings
Black Adjust: Off
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Gamma: 0
Color Space: Custom
Flesh Tone: 0
Edge Enhancement: Off
xvYCC: Off

Color Space
Red: R: 36 / G: 0 / B: 0
Green: R: 0 / G: 46 / B: 0
Blue: R: 0 / G: 0 / B: 39
Yellow: R: 48 / G: 52 / B: 0
Cyan: R: 0 / G: 44 / B: 42
Magenta: R: 38 / G: 0 / B: 41

White Balance
R-Offset: 25 / G-Offset: 25 / B-Offset: 25
R-Gain: 25 / G-Gain: 25 / B-Gain: 25

Picture Options
Color Tone: Warm 2
Size: Just Scan
Digital NR: Off
DNIe: Off (greyed out)
HDMI Black Level: Low
Film Mode: Off
Blue Only Mode: Off
Auto Motion Plus 120Hz: Off

I used the DVE color filters to get the color space settings and could be totally off, but I think it looks good. The yellow just looks a tad green, and of course I don't have the equipment to calibrate the grayscale. These settings also hold over nicely for the antenna as well as the Xbox 360 through component, though I do have to turn the sharpness up to 3 over component, otherwise the image is blurry. I hope these settings help everyone. BTW this is for the LN40A630. I love the TV, but I just noticed my TV has a defect. Lines run through the image every once in a while. Anyone else having an issue with this?
teamvernia is offline  
post #5 of 800 Old 09-01-2008, 04:21 PM
Member
 
thestinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teamvernia View Post

Well I just tried out the settings. Over HDMI, they look very crisp actually but some of the colors do seem pretty desaturated. I wonder if different size TVs in the series calibrate differently. The component settings look awful with my 360, though. That could certainly be the source, though. I actually used DVE to get my settings which I quite like. I wonder if your colorimeter would like my settings at all, or if they are TOTALLY off. It would be interesting to find out. Any, I'm running a PS3 through HDMI and used these settings.

Mode: Movie
Backlight: 3
Contrast: 95
Brightness: 44
Sharpness: 1
Color: 50
Tint (G/R): G50/R50

Detailed Settings
Black Adjust: Off
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Gamma: 0
Color Space: Custom
Flesh Tone: 0
Edge Enhancement: Off
xvYCC: Off

Color Space
Red: R: 36 / G: 0 / B: 0
Green: R: 0 / G: 46 / B: 0
Blue: R: 0 / G: 0 / B: 38
Yellow: R: 48 / G: 52 / B: 0
Cyan: R: 0 / G: 44 / B: 42
Magenta: R: 38 / G: 0 / B: 41

White Balance
R-Offset: 25 / G-Offset: 25 / B-Offset: 25
R-Gain: 25 / G-Gain: 25 / B-Gain: 25

Picture Options
Color Tone: Warm 2
Size: Just Scan
Digital NR: Off
DNIe: Off (greyed out)
HDMI Black Level: Low
Film Mode: Off
Blue Only Mode: Off
Auto Motion Plus 120Hz: Off

I used the DVE color filters to get the color space settings and could be totally off, but I think it looks good. The yellow just looks a tad green, and of course I don't have the equipment to calibrate the grayscale. These settings also hold over nicely for the antenna as well as the Xbox 360 through component, though I do have to turn the sharpness up to 3 over component, otherwise the image is blurry. I hope these settings help everyone. BTW this is for the LN40A630. I love the TV, but I just noticed my TV has a defect. Lines run through the image every once in a while. Anyone else having an issue with this?

Thanks for the suggestion of the calibration. I have the 52 inch. I like your settings but feel the colors are a bit off.

I don't know what you mean by lines running through it. Could you post a video somewhere to show it maybe?
thestinger is offline  
post #6 of 800 Old 09-01-2008, 08:33 PM
Member
 
teamvernia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
The tv started doing the line thing again. It's hard to decribe but it was very disconcerting, so I swapped it out for a new tv, same model, though. Anyway, I agree with the setting being slightly off. It's too saturated for network TV, but looks good for my PS3 and Xbox 360. I messed up on the previous post. Color should be 52 instead of 50, and blue in color space should be 39 instead of 38. That may make a bit of difference. I hope another person with experience calibrating can post another batch of settings. I'm mainly concerned about the color space, since I'm happy with my brightness, contrast, sharpness, and gamma settings.
teamvernia is offline  
post #7 of 800 Old 09-02-2008, 12:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mike171979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chino Hills
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I am currently using the Cnet.com settings they get for the 650 panel, which should be basically the same panel as our 630, except ours doesn't have the super shiny clean panel.

--Picture menu

Mode: Movie

Backlight: 3
Contrast: 93
Brightness: 44
Sharpness: 0
Color: 52
Tint: G50/R50

Detailed settings submenu

Black adjust: Off
Dynamic contrast: Off
Gamma: +3
Color space: Auto
Flesh tone: 0
Edge enhancement: Off
xvYCC: Off

White balance submenu

R-Offset: 25
G-Offset: 26
B-Offset: 25
R-Gain: 24
G-Gain: 23
B-Gain: 14

Picture options submenu

Color tone: Warm2
Size: Just Scan
Digital NR: Off
DNIe: [grayed out]
HDMI black level: [grayed out]
Film mode: [grayed out]
Blue only mode: Off
Auto motion plus 120Hz: Off

NOTE: On our 630 sets, HDMI Black Level and Film Mode are NOT GRAYED OUT, I have them set on Black Level: Low and Film Mode: Auto
mike171979 is offline  
post #8 of 800 Old 09-02-2008, 12:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
trilidar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teamvernia View Post

Thanks for the settings. Gonna try these out now. I'll post mine later as well. Though I used DVE and not a colorimeter. BTW, which size television did you calibrate? I have the 40 inch. And one more question. Any idea which settings would work best with an HD antenna signal?

Mine's a 46in.

Please recheck my original post (later today) for ColorHCFR files.

tril
trilidar is offline  
post #9 of 800 Old 09-02-2008, 01:46 PM
Member
 
teamvernia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Sounds good. BTW, is there a reason you are calibrating from standard rather than warm 1 or 2? Is the out of box grayscale closer from that setting? And can you please post which firmware you are using? It could explain why settings are different.
teamvernia is offline  
post #10 of 800 Old 09-02-2008, 02:48 PM
Member
 
teamvernia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Well I think I settled on some settings I like. I tried out Zerog6's settings from the 750 calibration thread and tweaked the brightness/contrast/sharpness/gamma settings to my liking. His grayscale/color/tint/color space settings seem really nice actually, and I like them better than what I was able to achieve with DVE. The yellows look less green and the greens look less lime green. Here is what I'm using now.

(HDMI using PS3)

Mode: Movie
Backlight: 3
Contrast: 92
Brightness: 44
Sharpness: 1 (3 for Xbox 360 over Component)
Color: 50
Tint (G/R): G50/R50

Detailed Settings
Black Adjust: Off
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Gamma: 0
Color Space: Custom
Flesh Tone: 0
Edge Enhancement: Off
xvYCC: Off

Color Space
Red: R: 30 / G: 0 / B: 1
Green: R: 26 / G: 46 / B: 0
Blue: R: 9 / G: 0 / B: 41
Yellow: R: 60 / G: 48 / B: 0
Cyan: R: 30 / G: 47 / B: 56
Magenta: R: 38 / G: 0 / B: 58

White Balance
R-Offset: 28 / G-Offset: 25 / B-Offset: 21
R-Gain: 25 / G-Gain: 25 / B-Gain: 29

Picture Options
Color Tone: Warm 1
Size: Just Scan
Digital NR: Off
DNIe: Off (greyed out)
HDMI Black Level: Low
Film Mode: Off
Blue Only Mode: Off
Auto Motion Plus 120Hz: Off

Give these a try and see what you think.
teamvernia is offline  
post #11 of 800 Old 09-02-2008, 07:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
trilidar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As promised, check my original post for ColorHCFR file.

Overall, I'm really happy with these settings. Grey scale and color are almost perfect, D65 and luminance values are almost spot on across the entire IRE scale and gamma doesn't fluctuate wildly.

The CIE 'triangle' is as good as I can get it (without sacrificing luminance delta E in the colors). If someone knows how to get it any better, I'm all ears.

tril

**Please disregard my original ColorHCFR file (it was before I completely re-did everything)**
trilidar is offline  
post #12 of 800 Old 09-02-2008, 08:39 PM
Newbie
 
EMahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not entirely certain this is the right thread to post this in, but it is a question about settings on a LN52A630. I recently upgraded my TV. I am going through various basic settings, but one has me stumped. On my previous set, there was an aspect ratio setting that would display 4:3 (SD) content and stretch it to fill the whole screen (eliminating side bars), but did it in such a manner as to mostly avoid distorting the image and minimized cropping of the image (it stretched less in the middle and more at the sides where you don't notice it as much).

On the LN52A630, under the Picture > Picture Options > Size menu, the choices are (and what the effect is on 4:3 SD content):

16:9 (Picture is distorted - "fat faces")
Zoom1: (Zooms in and cuts off part of the image)
Zoom2: (Zooms in and cuts off more of the image)
Wide fit: (Option unavailable when viewing SD)
4:3: (Displays the image without distortion or cropping, but there are bars on the sides)
Just Scan: (Option unavailable when viewing SD)

So far I am unable to reproduce a similar aspect ratio setting that I had on my old set. Is there something that will achieve what I am looking for or do I need to settle for bars on the sides?

Thanks for any assistance.

-E
EMahn is offline  
post #13 of 800 Old 09-03-2008, 04:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Apophis906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sumter, SC
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well these are the settings I found to work well enough right now for watching HD and SD tv with my cable box.

(HDMI using SA 8300HD)
Mode: Standard
Backlight: 5
Contrast: 98
Brightness: 46
Sharpness: 3
Color: 52
Tint (G/R): G50/R50

Detailed Settings
Black Adjust: Off
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Gamma: +3
Color Space: Custom
Flesh Tone: 0
Edge Enhancement: Off
xvYCC: Off

Color Space
Red: R: 40 / G: 0 / B: 0
Green: R: 0 / G: 50 / B: 0
Blue: R: 0 / G: 0 / B: 41
Yellow: R: 48 / G: 57 / B: 0
Cyan: R: 0 / G: 46 / B: 48
Magenta: R: 41 / G: 0 / B: 46

White Balance
R-Offset: 26 / G-Offset: 25 / B-Offset: 25
R-Gain: 16 / G-Gain: 25 / B-Gain: 21

Picture Options
Color Tone: Normal
Size: 16:9
Digital NR: Off
DNIe: Off
HDMI Black Level: Low
Film Mode: Off
Blue Only Mode: Off
Auto Motion Plus 120Hz: Low

Mongol General:"What is best in life?"
Conan:"To crush your enemies, to see them driven before you, and to hear the lamentations of their women."
Apophis906 is offline  
post #14 of 800 Old 09-12-2008, 04:29 PM
Member
 
syndicatedragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which settings to use using the TV's internal ATSC tuner??
syndicatedragon is offline  
post #15 of 800 Old 09-17-2008, 06:32 AM
Newbie
 
techsharp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am going to try the settings posted by Trilidar today. One question - how come use the movie mode instead of standard? It looks like movie mode dims the screen more.

Looking forward to trying these out and thanks for posting them.
techsharp is offline  
post #16 of 800 Old 09-17-2008, 09:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 15,225
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4229 Post(s)
Liked: 2988
Quote:
Originally Posted by techsharp View Post

It looks like movie mode dims the screen more.

It doesn't have to. You can adjust it to be just as bright as the other modes. It's probably used because it lets you into warm1 and warm2.
Stereodude is offline  
post #17 of 800 Old 09-17-2008, 09:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 15,225
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4229 Post(s)
Liked: 2988
One nice thing I noticed with the set is that the brightness and contrast controls really just set the black point and white point of the set. I wish more TVs were like that.
Stereodude is offline  
post #18 of 800 Old 09-18-2008, 08:19 AM
Newbie
 
techsharp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post

It doesn't have to. You can adjust it to be just as bright as the other modes. It's probably used because it lets you into warm1 and warm2.

Well if you use the movie mode setting and the settings above, what would you change to make it brighter?

I tried the settings and it was almost like it was dark, I understand you use movie mode to get into the warm1 and warm2 settings, but once it is all set what do you change to make it brighter? If you change the contrast or brightness then you will not be using the settings above - so I am a little confused.

Also I use both HDMI and component - is there a way to save settings for both so you can change back and forth easy?

Thanks
techsharp is offline  
post #19 of 800 Old 09-18-2008, 11:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 15,225
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4229 Post(s)
Liked: 2988
Quote:
Originally Posted by techsharp View Post

Well if you use the movie mode setting and the settings above, what would you change to make it brighter?

You could turn up the backlight and turn dynamic contrast back on.
Quote:


I tried the settings and it was almost like it was dark, I understand you use movie mode to get into the warm1 and warm2 settings, but once it is all set what do you change to make it brighter? If you change the contrast or brightness then you will not be using the settings above - so I am a little confused.

Also I use both HDMI and component - is there a way to save settings for both so you can change back and forth easy?

It seems to save settings based on input and resolution. So for example, you can have different settings for the internal tuner for 480i analog vs. 1080i digital HDTV.
Stereodude is offline  
post #20 of 800 Old 09-18-2008, 01:24 PM
Newbie
 
techsharp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post

You could turn up the backlight and turn dynamic contrast back on.
It seems to save settings based on input and resolution. So for example, you can have different settings for the internal tuner for 480i analog vs. 1080i digital HDTV.

OK great - I will give this a shot tonight - will let you know if I have any more ?'s.

Thanks
techsharp is offline  
post #21 of 800 Old 09-19-2008, 03:59 AM
Newbie
 
techsharp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried both those things, but for some reason it still did not look right. I will have to mess around w/ the settings more I guess.
techsharp is offline  
post #22 of 800 Old 09-24-2008, 01:37 PM
Newbie
 
JMannBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,

I have just bought my first LCD HDTV and its the Samsung 630 46". I am pretty clueless at this point on how everything works. I have gotten my PS3 running through in HDMI and my HD Cable is currently running in component but I am switching my cable box this coming weekend to HDMI compatible. Does this mean I dont have to use any of these HDMI COMPONENT settings that have been posted here? Also, can someone please explain to me what the ColorHCFR.zip is? What do I do with it?

Can I use the same settings for everything if its all running through HDMI? Like the same settings for Playstation games, bluray and TV will all work under the same settings?

One last question for you guys, I read in some forums that you shouldnt mess with the settings for at least a week until a break-in period has passed otherwise it could shorten the TVs lifespam, is that true?

Thanks a lot in advance to whoever can answer this questions for me!
JMannBR is offline  
post #23 of 800 Old 09-24-2008, 02:31 PM
Senior Member
 
jwc13ac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMannBR View Post

Hey guys,


One last question for you guys, I read in some forums that you shouldnt mess with the settings for at least a week until a break-in period has passed otherwise it could shorten the TVs lifespam, is that true?

I wouldn't worry about a break in period, especially with an LCD.

As for the other questions, I'm not sure, but try all the settings and see what looks best.

_______
~ Joe
jwc13ac is offline  
post #24 of 800 Old 09-26-2008, 09:06 AM
Newbie
 
jmad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can't seem to open the zip file from the original post. Is this needed to complete the calibration?
Thanks!!
jmad is offline  
post #25 of 800 Old 09-30-2008, 06:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
trilidar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post

It doesn't have to. You can adjust it to be just as bright as the other modes. It's probably used because it lets you into warm1 and warm2.

Bingo.

Generally, Warm1/2 gets you closer to D65 out-of-the-box. However, you don't have to start there. If the color controls are good enough (and the A630's are), you could start at Normal and still get very accurate results.

tril
trilidar is offline  
post #26 of 800 Old 09-30-2008, 06:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
trilidar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmad View Post

Can't seem to open the zip file from the original post. Is this needed to complete the calibration?
Thanks!!

No it is not.

The file is only useful if you'd like to load it up in ColorHCFR and 'check' my results. Otherwise: not necessary.

tril
trilidar is offline  
post #27 of 800 Old 10-02-2008, 12:00 PM
Member
 
teamvernia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Well I tried these settings again after resetting my TV and voila!!! they look great now. Apparently there is some type of bug that changes the default white space settings. Thanks a lot for these awesome settings.
teamvernia is offline  
post #28 of 800 Old 10-02-2008, 08:36 PM
Member
 
teamvernia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
One things though. My color filter shows that green and yellow are over saturated. I wonder if the AVE color filter is wrong. It also shows that a Sharp LCD is pusing green as well.
teamvernia is offline  
post #29 of 800 Old 10-03-2008, 12:22 PM
Newbie
 
jmad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by trilidar View Post

No it is not.

The file is only useful if you'd like to load it up in ColorHCFR and 'check' my results. Otherwise: not necessary.

tril

Thanks for the reply. Think you hit it on the head with these settings- look great!
jmad is offline  
post #30 of 800 Old 10-05-2008, 06:58 AM
Member
 
applenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any recommendations for OTA?
applenut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off